We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Went there in Feb. of 2014. Staff was great. Got there before check in. We were given our bracelets and told we could go eat or do anything we wanted. Everyone there was so friendly. Went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Had a garden room. Very peaceful. Iguanas right outside our door.Will go back again.

Room Tip: We were very happy with a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akita11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial - Tropical staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,958 - 1,964 of 6,175 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from a 8 night stay at the colonial with friends and family. There were 9 of us in 4 different rooms, 3 teenagers, along with my parents who are in their 70's. This was our 6th time here so we obviously love it. They got all of our rooms close together and as always service was great. The only exception is for some reason they have a bias with washcloths as you have to call and ask for them. Food was excellent, pools are fantastic, and the beach is the best of anywhere we have been. Part is white sand beach with easy access and other is the best for snorkeling. We routinely saw sea turtles, stingrays, tons of fish, and twice a nice size barracuda. This resort is for all ages and i can't imagine anyone not thoroughly enjoying it. Lord willing, we will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickeymouse4050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial & Tropical staff involved in your entire satisfaction. We are sure you will enjoy the new surprises that Barceló Hotels is preparing for you!
We are sure the next time you visit us, all your family will have a new adventure to tell!!
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The staff was amazing! The hotel is right on the beach and has so much to do. Food was very good, and it was very clean.the massages are the best I have ever gotten. If you don't mind the extra drive to be away from Cancun's craziness so you can relax this is the place. We will be seeing them again for our next vacation.The pictures are the real deal. The place is exactly would it sales it's self to be.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilakay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest,
It is a pleasure for Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel to review your kindly comments with the staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I have gone to this resort for the past 3 years, and I had no complains until this last visit. In their restaurants and bars they turn off the AC, they told us on the first day of our visit that it was an AC issue but we saw nothing changed for our visit, which was for the entire week.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank ofthestork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear guest,
Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
We appreciate very much your loyalty so please write us for your next visit to gteoperaciones.colonial@barcelomaya.com
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were very satisfied with our choice of the hotel. Here are the details:

1. Trip from the airport was not as long as we were prepared for after reading many reviews. There were tourists only from our hotel in the bus with us, so the transfer was directly to the hotel without any stops and took about an hour. The location is very good considering sights around. It is not far from Playa del Carmen and Tulum. Close to many cenotes. The lagoons for snorkelling are also very close too.

2. Registration at the reception was not super fast, but ok. We have got nice room in the building Guanajuato, 2nd floor. Great location - between lobby and beach. Very quiet. Nice view to the garden.

3. Room was ok, nothing extraordinary but nothing to complain about. Air-condition worked fine. Room was cleaned every day in a normal standard. We left some tips couple of times to see the difference (or to get the birds from the towels) but nothing happened.

4. Food. We have went directly to the lunch after the registration, we still made it in time. The lunch buffet made a good impression from beginning. Big choice of food for many tastes. There was always a corner with Mexican food.
We decided to stick with cooked vegetables and no salad leaves after reading the advices regarding the food, so we have never had any problem during our stay.
The next days we had lunch mostly at the grill restaurants close to the beach. They were opened air restaurants without air-conditioner but with super pleasant breeze from the sea and nice view to the sea as well. The choice there is much smaller than in big lunch buffet restaurant, but we liked some cold appetizers, ceviche and other. WE were not even so hungry between breakfast and dinner so it was great place in the end.
Dinner: we had 4 reservations in à la carte restaurants. We have chosen Marenostrum (sea food restaurant) twice, Capri (Italian) and Kyoto (Japanese). Capri was less good out of these three but it was still ok, the service was really good. The service in Marenostrum on our first dinner was not really good but we were more lucky with a waiter the second time. Kyoto is really nice because of the chef show in front of you, the food was really good too but my fish was overcooked a bit, the waiter was not good, I guess were were just unlucky.
Dinner in the big buffet restaurant was really good, a lot of choice, the food was changed and not always the same. We enjoyed the most the thematic evening of Mexican fiesta. There was also even a lobster on one of 3 dinners there.
The choice of the desserts was only slight disappointment, there was nothing remarkable :)

5. Drinks. As we are not heavy drinkers, for us the drinks were ok. Sometimes barmen were pouring quite a good amount of alcohol even without tips. After some trying around we have found our preferred barmen and suck with them and tipped them for some nice original cocktails :)
We were only disappointed that barmen didn't know how to do some interesting coffee cocktails (like we experienced in one of the hotels in Cuba).

6. Every evening there was some show. We didn't see all of them, but we stayed at three that we liked: Mexican fiesta thematic show, Circus show, and the last of three - medley of some famous songs. There was also pleasant live music at the lobby bar every evening.

7. The territory is very beautiful and clean, we enjoyed a lot passing through. There are lot of fountains which I found quite relaxing. It is not as big as we expected after some reviews.
The beach is ok. When you enter the beach the part close to the path is very hard, something like a sand on a stone, but the closer to the water, the better and softer. It is nice for walks along the water. The beach at the area of Beach and Caribe is even better, but on Colonial-Tropical side there were more rocks and reefs which was better for snorkelling. We have seen many fish, and one time even a turtle and a stingray.
There are no palapas on this beach but many palm trees which makes the beach really beautiful. You need just to move your chair around more often to get the shadow but we enjoyed palm trees instead of palapas a lot :) There are many chairs and palm trees so we didn't have problem to get a spot at all. And we have never woken up super early to occupy the spot with the towel.

8. Among the services we tried sailing, kayaking, playing pool (at the side of Beach and Caribe), mini-golf and archery were not available at the time we were there. We went to a disco as well, it was ok, nothing special. There is a dolphinarium on the territory, we have just watched free mini show, we didn't buy any interaction package.

9. The staff was helpful and friendly. One time we have lost our beach towels, they just disappeared when we got back to our chairs and we just got the card to replace the towels without any problem.

That's mostly it. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. I don't know if we ever come back, as we prefer to discover the new places but if we go just to relax on the beach again it is possible that we will choose Barcelo again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the building Guanajuato, 2nd floor. Great location - between lobby and beach. Very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tat0shka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial - Tropical staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We read so many reviews in preparing for this trip and we are very happy that we decided to visit Barcelo Maya Colonial. We loved our trip and can't wait to go back.

We were greeted at the airport and taken to the hotel via the hotel transportation service that was included in our package. It was so easy. Check-in was a breeze - something that I read others had problems with. It didn't take long at all and we were given a cocktail while we completed our paperwork. We made all of the dinner reservations we wanted at that time as well.

One bad note for us - our nine year old son fell on the stairs and had a laceration on his forehead that required stitches. This happened before we even made it to our room after checking in. We were immediately shown to the medical offices and the doctor helped us as soon as we walked in. He referred us to Hospiten in Playa Del Carmen where our son received three stitches and an antibiotic. Although this was a stressful event for us, the hotel staff was very helpful in making sure we knew where to go and what to expect when we got there. (Our son was fine by the way - swimming the next day and didn't miss a beat).

We ate at the buffet every morning and there was something that we all enjoyed. We also ate there twice for dinner (once on Spanish night and once on Seafood night) and it was good - with a great selection for the whole family. We had lunch each day at the poolside grill and it was fine. My thirteen year old loved the fact that it was right there in the middle of the activities and he could go as many times as he wanted to throughout the day. Kyoto - the Japanese hibachi restaurant - was the best meal we had during our stay. We also had dinner at MareNostrum and the Santa Fe Steakhouse. The meals were okay, but we actually think we would have rather been at the buffet those nights as well.

We took one excursion, the Tulum Jungle Maya Adventure by Alltournative and it was great. The hotel staff helped us book the tour and it was a very easy process. The remaining four days we hung out at the beach & pool all day, and we also played quite a few games of paddleball (my kids loved it). We also hung out in the Puebla Bar a few times during the trip - it was fun to watch World Cup games there and the service was great. They made us everything from cappuccino to cocktails to virgin drinks for the kids. On the beach, we never had to search for beach chairs as there were always plenty available. The palm trees on the beach provided plenty of shade for those who wanted it. Every morning I noticed people working on maintaining the grounds and it definitely showed - the flowers/trees/grassy areas were gorgeous and meticulous.

The room was beautiful. We were in the Jalisco building with a Premium Club ocean front room. It was a second floor room and overlooked the kid's center and pool. We could definitely see the ocean and hear the waves when everything else was quiet. We knew there were no beachfront rooms before we arrived so this was no surprise. It was a nice view and easy to get from the room to the pool and beach. Housekeeping was thorough. The mini-fridge had drinks replenished every day. There were snacks provided in the room, but they were pretty sparse. Just peanuts and chips while we were there. Our family loved the rainfall shower and the hammock on the balcony. There were a few things about the room that could have been better. The ceiling fan was very wobbly and squeaky. We needed the air circulation but it was kind of hard to sleep due to the noise. The mattresses and pillows were hard and pretty uncomfortable.

Overall - I'd definitely recommend this hotel and I hope to go back soon. It was everything we were looking for and the price was great. It was a fantastic five days for every member of our family!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear guest,
We appreciate the time you took for letting us your experience at Barcelo Maya Colonial.
Also let us comment that we are very happy to know that your son is fine and had fun at the Resort!
Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It was our 2nd time at Barcelo Maya Colonial and we would only go to a Barcelo resort.

They keep adding more and more attraction. Now have a swim with the dolphin on the resort!

Food is always good, fruits are fresh and a lots of variety. The "a la carte" restaurant are good especially the Japanese one. A must try!

Room is always clean and close to all amenities.

There is 3 kids pool that are so fun!

Service and staff are so nice, friendly and fast!

Can't wait for our next vacation there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M_Soan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial - Tropical staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
19.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,270 reviews
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,563 reviews
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,548 reviews
10.5 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez | Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £157 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Barcelo, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing