We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
US$330
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
US$467
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$393
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$445
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$425
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$501
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,843)
Filter reviews
6,843 results
Traveller rating
4,342
1,617
527
217
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,342
1,617
527
217
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjalisco buildingseafooda la carte restaurantsmini golfair transatother resortsjapanese restaurantplaya del carmengreat resorttropical poolbowling alleykids water parkpalm treesbarcelo mayafamily vacationwater sportskids club
Filter
Updating list...
2,353 - 2,358 of 6,843 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is truly a beauty....looks like post card. The colonial is the best one to stay at if you have younger children since they have the children's water park located on the colonial side.
The beach is beautiful; some pay money to go on special snorkeling trips, but the hotel's beach has great snorkeling and beautiful fish to look at. I saw multiple types of fish, sting rays, coral all for free. Be careful though, as with all sea adventures, you might get stung by beautiful sea creatures while out in nature (I got stung by a jelly fish). Good thing is that the hotel has their own 24 hr. on call doctor which came to my rescue. She was so professional and was in our room in minutes to treat my jelly fish sting. GREAT JOB WITH THAT ONE BARCELO!
My seven year old daughter had a great time in the pools and water park. There are plenty of activities to do on the hotel premises, though there is so much more to do and see outside of the hotel. The hotel has their own "swimming with the dolphins," which is very convenient and daily shows at the outdoor theater.
The service is okay...the food is okay...the best was the Japanese restaurant Kyoto, which has a show table much like the restaurant "Benihanas." They definitely can turn it up on the food because even something simple like a burger and hot dog, is not very good.
Although I didn't see anyone really tipping, tipping is a good idea. The staff work hard all day and although it is all inclusive, tipping doesn't hurt and will get you better service your entire stay.
If the staff was more attentive and kind, my service rating would have been higher. There are good staff members there, but unfortunately, there are some staff that seemed to not really care about customer service....a smile goes a long way.
There was a man with an outside store (located outside the night club), he sells all types of products, including U.S. products and he had amazing customer service skills!!! He was incredible at making us feel welcomed, and made us WANT to spend money with him (which we did...he got most of our business). Advice for the hotel...HIRE THAT GUY A.S.A.P. so he can train your staff on customer service that travelers are looking for.
All in all, the hotel is beautiful and well maintained....very clean grounds. The beach could use some service because it would have been nice to get a drink served while sitting and enjoying the view.

Room Tip: GuanaJuato Building is great for families. The rooms have a mildew smell due to the humidity, so take a lysol spray. Take Bug Spray....lots of mesquitos
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guest,
It is a pleasure for Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel to review your kindly comments with the staff involved in your entire satisfaction. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited this hotel for the second time this past March. The quality of the food and cleanliness of the property are good features that keep this place popular. It is a good choice for families.
While it is unlikely that I would return again to this property it is only because I would like to see other hotels rather than anything wrong with this hotel..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RumGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial - Tropical staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After two consecutive years going to Bavaro Beach in Dominican Republic I decided to keep using Barceló as a vacation destination, but this time my family choose Riviera Maya. We tried Palace Deluxe but it was booked for the time we could go and they offered Maya Colonial. We purchased a Club Premium upgrade and we were treated excellently. The check in was earlier than usual because the room was ready. The food was good in buffets and excellent in restaurants. The beach had some rocks but the water was pristine and full of life. Hotels were booked and the beach was not crowdy. Pools are huge and pools for kids are amazing.We spot two big turtles swimming among the people, and a few sting rays very peacefully resting on the bottom, They had a deck for boats full of big fish named ocean surgeon and you could swim among them and feed them. There is also a lot of place with corals and fish near the beach to snorkel. We enjoyed an excellent tour with Mayan Adventures to three xenotes. The hotel staff was very courteous and professional, the room was cleaned more than once a day. I was never treated so well in any other resort before. This is a resort for families, but we meet many young couples and a lot of young parties. The dolphinarium inside the hotel was great and we enjoyed the free shows almost every day. Night shows were good but it was very hot in the theater. Only Palace Deluxe has a theater with AC. They are rebuilding one of the 5 hotels and the new hotel will include a surfing pool and a discotheque for teenagers that was a real need for my 16 year old son. We went once to Jaguar discotheque and enjoyed some drinks and danced. We did not have any problem at all and I definitely will come back, but this time with the entire family and friends. (16 people are already on the list).

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are excellent and they include upgrades in food, drinks and other services.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignacio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial & Tropical staff involved in your entire satisfaction. We are sure you will enjoy the new surprising services that Barceló Hotels is preparing for you!
We are sure the next time you visit us, all your family will have a new adventure to tell!!
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Barcelo is a great place to stay. The BEST BEACH 2nd only to Tulum. The pool was clean and my girls loved the hammocks. I recommend the premium upgrade as the rooms are MUCH nicer and you have more options to eat. Make your reservations as soon as you can for the resturants as they fill up fast. The food and drink service is not great I recommend tipping as soon as you order the 1st drink! We had a great server at the pool Irene she would even bring us drinks at the beach and she kept them comming! It made all the diffrence. Also Guillermo at the Rancho Grande buffet went out of his way to get my cappucino and even brought my daughter TAJIN for her fruit. We were so greatful and gave him a nice tip had great service when seated at his section.

Room Tip: Family suites are available the PREMIUM upgrade is worth it .
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvia92563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,

Barceló Maya Colonial really appreciate your kindly comments. Irene and Guillermo will be very happy to know you wrote your experience during your stay at this network.
We will be happy to host you the next time!
Once again thank you!
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was my second stay at the Colonial, and I was again so impressed by the great location and beauty of the grounds. Landscaping and care of the outside areas of the hotel are truly first-rate. The pools and beach setting can't be beat. I found all of the staff to be really hard-working and pleasant. As previous reviews show, the booking department is not up to the same standards as the rest of the hotel. We arrived, and were told we had been transferred to the Tropical, but when we we went to their front desk were told that we should be at the Colonial - and we were given a king bed room for my family of four! After some frustration and work from the front desk, we did get the right room in the right hotel and were happy - but this was not a great check-in experience. The range of choice at the buffet was tremendous, although the food quality varied - but I could always find something I liked. I recommend staying here, just expecting the food to be not always matching the quality of the surroundings.

Room Tip: They are doing major repairs on the Caribe section, so if you are in the Jalisco building be sure to ask for rooms facing away from that part of the resort
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhallier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,
Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews