We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Just returned from five night stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical, in Puerto Aventuras, Mexico (November 21 thru November 26). My wife and I stayed in a Junior Suite with an ocean view on the 2nd floor of Veracruz Section. Remarkable view of pool and ocean. Staff was good with the exception being the pool bartenders. (Slow) Rooms, pool and grounds were clean and staff was continously working to keep them that way. Great place for couples and families.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank detmike2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear detmike2000,

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical
Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

We would be honor to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,435 - 2,441 of 5,129 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed from Nov. 19 to 26, 2011. We have stayed before in the Beach part of the resort, we thought we would upgrade and see what it was like. So here's the difference..... Not much!! The only difference between the two resorts is the air conditioning in the buffet areas, and a couple of more ala carte restaurants, that's it!!! The rooms might have a different bedspread, but the beds are all still hard and the pillows are lumpy. The Maya Beach in the cheaper section has a better beach and the staff and people that stay there seem to be friendlier .... When we checked in at the Tropical Resort, we got no welcome whatsoever, you go straight to the desk and give them your name and if you try to put in a request, say for a view room or king size bed, which you have already, I'm sure, requested through your travel agent, they just say, " yep you have all of that and it's a beautiful room, blah, blah, blah " and then you go to your no view room with two double beds..... Either way though, the view will be lovely because the grounds are immaculate, if anyone in that entire resort deserves a tip it's the groundskeepers!!! The ala cartes were fine, it's a nice change from the gluttony of the buffet, you actually come out of there feeling like you've had just enough.... Only went to one nightly show, ON DA RADIO, songs from the radio, it was good..... Lots of people were there, being it was American Thanksgiving and also The Mexican Revolution Day, you get the usual mix of people, from really great to really obnoxious, the buffet flow went well though, they have it down to a routine.... Maybe instead of waiting in the "egg/omelette" lineup, go over to the diet section, it's basically the same thing with less of a line up. When you want to snorkel for free, you will need to give them a credit card, also all gift shops don't take cash, you either have to give a credit card number or your room number for billing, yep even for a pack of gum!!
I hope I don't sound like a downer, I really did enjoy the resort, it's beautiful and it is what you make of it... I heard if you complain about the pillows, they will give you a memory foam pillow.... $20/$22 for taxi to Playa Del Carmen each way, there is a Walmart down there that you can go to, it will cost you $5 USA from 5th Ave. Sometimes the items in the mall at the Barcelo are comparable to the prices in Playa Del Carmen. Buy all of your booze at the Cancun airport, it is the cheapest at the Duty Free there!!!!! Seriously, I'm not kidding, I shopped around for the cheapest prices for Kahlua and Vodka and Cream Tequila and it was the cheapest at the airport... Hopefully I have given you a few tips that will help, if you have any other questions, feel free to email me!! Have a wonderful time, it is a lovely resort!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tina8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Tina8,


We would like to thank you for choosing Barcelo Maya Tropical to expend this holiday
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.
Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed there with several other familes over Easter break of this year. We loved it. The beaches are beautiful and well maintained. The pools were fantastic. The food was very good with plenty of variety. Concerning the drinks, I never went thirsty. : )

Our 3 children, ages 12, 10, and 7 had a blast. They loved the activities, beach, pools, water sports, etc.

I got a kick out of the shows that I saw and I wished I would have went to more of them.

For the most part, the employees were friendly, but there were a few exceptions. Housekeeping was ok, but not exceptional.

Overall, we loved it and look forward to going back!

Room Tip: The closer to the pools/beach the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max_webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear max_webster,
Barcelo Maya Tropical is lucky to have you as a guest, we deeply thank your loyalty to Barcelo Hotels & Resorts, your finest words regarding our beach, food, drinks and activities is always much appreciated.
We really appreciate your loyalty to Barceló Maya Tropical. Thank you very much for sharing your experience, your scores and recommendations.
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
Once again thank you very much, we would be grateful to have another opportunity to host you and your friends o family in the future.

Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here from Oct. 22 to Oct. 29, when Rina made her appearance. The grounds, pools, beach and hotel are incredibly clean. Service was very good, but the pool bar was busy and service here slow, which is typical for most pool bars. Service in the restaurants was very good. We did ask for a wake-up call on the day we left...we are still waiting for it.

We only took in one of the shows, which was the circus show and it was very good.

Regarding a la carts we only tried four; the steak house and Japanesse restaurant were excellent, the Italian good and the seafood average. At the buffet there was always plenty of food and a pretty good variety.

The beds and pillows are terrible, extremely hard and uncomfortable.

There were quite a few younger children at this resort as it is attached to the Colonial, which has the water slides etc. We were two families traveling with teenagers.

Traveling in between the resorts was easy enough, as you could go by bus, but the distance is not that great so you can easily walk it.

In regards to the threatened hurricane, a lot of anxiety was caused by the hotel in regards to this. We did receive notices saying that there was a hurricane watch, then a notification that we were to stay in our rooms from 1 o'clock onward and then another notification that we were to stay in our rooms from 8 p.m. onward. Speaking to different staff members did not alleviate any of the anxiety, as each one would give us different information. The day/night Rina hit the resort, there was limited access to the buffet and no alcohol was served, as "security precautions". The Sunwing representative did not update any information, as the travel info on the information board was dated Oct. 26, even when we left on Oct. 29th. We have been told by the hotel manager at the Barcelo to speak to our vacation representative here about getting a partial refund due to limited services.

There is a shopping center located at the Colonial, which is a good place to pick up any trinkets to bring home without having to go off the resort.

The distance from the airport is probably about an hour and 30 minutes, more or less depending upon how many drop offs you have on your route. This is one of the biggest downfalls of the Maya Riviera, but we have been here many times at different resorts in the area, so know what to expect.

The entertainment staff were okay, Steven was excellent, always smiling and engaging.

The beach is really, really awesome....no water shoes needed, powdery sand. Many people were snorkeling.

All in all the days we had great weather were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ceo67red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear ceo67red,

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends
Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.
Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just spent a week at this hotel and was generally OK. Service was patchy and very much depends where on the resort you were.
Roofs leaked in rain at restaurants......
Service in the pool bars was terrible and staff did not seem to give a damn about anything. Entertainment was excellent one night and awful for the other nights. Shows were cancelled without any notice and were replaced by truly awful guest involved quizes and competitions such as "Mr and Mrs" and "battle fo the sexes" which were not really appropriate for our kids. On the positive side, it was great for the kids in terms of adventure playgrounds and pool with slides.
Drinks were very cheap and cocktails contained very little alcohol and everything seemd to be done on the cheap. You have to pay for branded drinks.
Barcelo seem to have built a beautiful hotel and grounds but put in a budget hotel service offering. Alacarte restaurants OK but nothing special
Hotel manager did not care about customer satisfaction at all.
Went to grand palladium colonial 3 years ago which was fantastic and how mexico should be done for very similar price......

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear M L,

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We look forward to host you,
Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Staying at this resort was alot of Fun!!

We travelled with a group and had an overall wonderful time. The Buffett was busy at times but lots of variety. We all of the restaurants and had good service and yummy food. The shows in the evening well....some better than others...the usual Mexico entertainment.

The Beach was excellent and probably one of our favorites. A very large beach area shared by all the Barcelo resorts which we found great. Snorkelling by the pier and and relaxing on the beach was excellent. The drinks around the pool and overall were good and we found the service quick and the staff very pleasant.

There are plenty of tours you can pay to go on if you like or just enjoy the beach and relaxation. The rooms were fine, fridges stocked daily, room clean just a bit noisy at night as you could hear people closing the doors to their rooms.

Had a wonderful vacation and would recommend this resort if you are not wanting to be close to Playa del Carmen(within walking distance).

Room Tip: Email the hotel if you have a special request...they were very good at replying. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear TLTravel,

We appreciate your kind comments and the time you took to share them on Trip Advisor, it is very important for us to thank our guests’ confidence.
Our goal is complete guest satisfaction.
Once again thank you for having chose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your recent stay and really hope to have your preference for your next holidays
Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Barcelo Tropical is absolutely amazing in so many ways. I already really miss being there. We went with some friends and all of us had a wonderful time. Let me give you the great to the not as great breakdown in my opinion from our trip last week:

Best stuff about resort:
-Beach is amazing and the amount of space you can stroll and still be on property is fantastic. Nice snorkeling right on property
-Pools were perfect in every way and even better in person than in photos.
-Loved the fountains all over the place and the decor was so well done.
-So much stuff to do for all types of people. We didn't even come close to doing everything we wanted in 6 days.
-Location is wonderful if you want to be away from the Cancun crowds and relax more or do more adventure stuff (I ABSOLUTELY compel you to go to Xel-Ha while you are down here...coolest place on the planet).
-Breakfasts were fantastic every day. The fresh made smoothies was my favorite...so many fruits to choose from and you can drink super healthy stuff each morning. The breakfast buffets were amazing each day.
-The A la Carte restaurants were pretty good and a couple were awesome. We liked all 3 for different reasons. We tried Japanese, Steakhouse and Seafood.
-The best buffet night was Monday night. WOW they pulled out the stops and had all types of excellent fish and meats and side items. Other buffet times were good to pretty good, but this was amazing by anyone's standards. The views at each place to eat are wonderful and you leave feeling so full.
-Hotel staff was pretty friendly for the most part, but there were a few who really went out of their way to give you extra special service. The captain of the bellman was very helpful and always professional. The grounds crew did an amazing job keeping the place spotless and the plants looking great.
-Go out to the pier and see the multitude of fish they have to view (or like us to swim with)
-The place is so restful. Might I suggest one of the many hammocks to rest in

Not Perfect about resort:
-Beds were pretty hard and I am not used to hard bed and pillows. My wife slept fine most nights and it didn't bother her.
-Rooms could have been bigger for such a beautiful place (although the bath tub was nice and big and I'm 6'2 so that's important to me)
-Snorkel gear is limited to a few people and only for a few hours a day (just buy some for $35 and you can then use yours whenever and wherever you want).
-Some nights the shows were pretty loud, but that wasn't a big deal.

Some tips:
Alot of things are cheaper in pesos so change out about half your spending money pretty early to save some money.
Go to the cenotes across the street from the hotel. Most are $10 or under to get in and they all provide you with cheap fun for snorkeling and swimming. A few even offer much larger adventures for a bit more (like kayaking underground through caves) or scuba diving in very deep holes underground. Cenotes are abundant right across the highway and you don't need to spend extra money booking a tour to go in.
Chat with Damian at Olympus Tours (guys in the orange shirts) to book your tours. Professional tours are excellent bc you know you are taken care of and that they watch out for you. We rode on nice buses with reclining chairs to Xel-Ha and they offered many other tours as well.
If you love diving or snorkeling go to Akumal Beach, try a short cab ride (or for the adventurous one trying to save dough take public transportation for $3 a person).
We don't drink alcohol so we didn't experience what some people did about the drinks being watered down. To me it was cool to have unlimited pop or juice or water all day long (in the US that would run you a ton of money).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bigjayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Bigjayhawkfan,

The main goal of Barceló Maya Tropical is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want you to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.
Once again thank you very much; we look forward to see you

Warmest Regards,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,740 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,664 reviews
10.5 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £163 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing