We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,112)
Filter reviews
6,112 results
Traveller rating
3,713
1,432
505
266
196
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,713
1,432
505
266
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yucatan building seafood santa fe specialty restaurants other resorts mini golf great resort spring breakers barcelo maya club premium palm trees playa del carmen family vacation a la cartes tequila bar japanese restaurant steak
Filter
Updating list...
3,038 - 3,043 of 6,112 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed from Nov. 19 to 26, 2011. We have stayed before in the Beach part of the resort, we thought we would upgrade and see what it was like. So here's the difference..... Not much!! The only difference between the two resorts is the air conditioning in the buffet areas, and a couple of more ala carte restaurants, that's it!!! The rooms might have a different bedspread, but the beds are all still hard and the pillows are lumpy. The Maya Beach in the cheaper section has a better beach and the staff and people that stay there seem to be friendlier .... When we checked in at the Tropical Resort, we got no welcome whatsoever, you go straight to the desk and give them your name and if you try to put in a request, say for a view room or king size bed, which you have already, I'm sure, requested through your travel agent, they just say, " yep you have all of that and it's a beautiful room, blah, blah, blah " and then you go to your no view room with two double beds..... Either way though, the view will be lovely because the grounds are immaculate, if anyone in that entire resort deserves a tip it's the groundskeepers!!! The ala cartes were fine, it's a nice change from the gluttony of the buffet, you actually come out of there feeling like you've had just enough.... Only went to one nightly show, ON DA RADIO, songs from the radio, it was good..... Lots of people were there, being it was American Thanksgiving and also The Mexican Revolution Day, you get the usual mix of people, from really great to really obnoxious, the buffet flow went well though, they have it down to a routine.... Maybe instead of waiting in the "egg/omelette" lineup, go over to the diet section, it's basically the same thing with less of a line up. When you want to snorkel for free, you will need to give them a credit card, also all gift shops don't take cash, you either have to give a credit card number or your room number for billing, yep even for a pack of gum!!
I hope I don't sound like a downer, I really did enjoy the resort, it's beautiful and it is what you make of it... I heard if you complain about the pillows, they will give you a memory foam pillow.... $20/$22 for taxi to Playa Del Carmen each way, there is a Walmart down there that you can go to, it will cost you $5 USA from 5th Ave. Sometimes the items in the mall at the Barcelo are comparable to the prices in Playa Del Carmen. Buy all of your booze at the Cancun airport, it is the cheapest at the Duty Free there!!!!! Seriously, I'm not kidding, I shopped around for the cheapest prices for Kahlua and Vodka and Cream Tequila and it was the cheapest at the airport... Hopefully I have given you a few tips that will help, if you have any other questions, feel free to email me!! Have a wonderful time, it is a lovely resort!!

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tina8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Tina8,


We would like to thank you for choosing Barcelo Maya Tropical to expend this holiday
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.
Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed there with several other familes over Easter break of this year. We loved it. The beaches are beautiful and well maintained. The pools were fantastic. The food was very good with plenty of variety. Concerning the drinks, I never went thirsty. : )

Our 3 children, ages 12, 10, and 7 had a blast. They loved the activities, beach, pools, water sports, etc.

I got a kick out of the shows that I saw and I wished I would have went to more of them.

For the most part, the employees were friendly, but there were a few exceptions. Housekeeping was ok, but not exceptional.

Overall, we loved it and look forward to going back!

Room tip: The closer to the pools/beach the better.
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max_webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear max_webster,
Barcelo Maya Tropical is lucky to have you as a guest, we deeply thank your loyalty to Barcelo Hotels & Resorts, your finest words regarding our beach, food, drinks and activities is always much appreciated.
We really appreciate your loyalty to Barceló Maya Tropical. Thank you very much for sharing your experience, your scores and recommendations.
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
Once again thank you very much, we would be grateful to have another opportunity to host you and your friends o family in the future.

Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here from Oct. 22 to Oct. 29, when Rina made her appearance. The grounds, pools, beach and hotel are incredibly clean. Service was very good, but the pool bar was busy and service here slow, which is typical for most pool bars. Service in the restaurants was very good. We did ask for a wake-up call on the day we left...we are still waiting for it.

We only took in one of the shows, which was the circus show and it was very good.

Regarding a la carts we only tried four; the steak house and Japanesse restaurant were excellent, the Italian good and the seafood average. At the buffet there was always plenty of food and a pretty good variety.

The beds and pillows are terrible, extremely hard and uncomfortable.

There were quite a few younger children at this resort as it is attached to the Colonial, which has the water slides etc. We were two families traveling with teenagers.

Traveling in between the resorts was easy enough, as you could go by bus, but the distance is not that great so you can easily walk it.

In regards to the threatened hurricane, a lot of anxiety was caused by the hotel in regards to this. We did receive notices saying that there was a hurricane watch, then a notification that we were to stay in our rooms from 1 o'clock onward and then another notification that we were to stay in our rooms from 8 p.m. onward. Speaking to different staff members did not alleviate any of the anxiety, as each one would give us different information. The day/night Rina hit the resort, there was limited access to the buffet and no alcohol was served, as "security precautions". The Sunwing representative did not update any information, as the travel info on the information board was dated Oct. 26, even when we left on Oct. 29th. We have been told by the hotel manager at the Barcelo to speak to our vacation representative here about getting a partial refund due to limited services.

There is a shopping center located at the Colonial, which is a good place to pick up any trinkets to bring home without having to go off the resort.

The distance from the airport is probably about an hour and 30 minutes, more or less depending upon how many drop offs you have on your route. This is one of the biggest downfalls of the Maya Riviera, but we have been here many times at different resorts in the area, so know what to expect.

The entertainment staff were okay, Steven was excellent, always smiling and engaging.

The beach is really, really awesome....no water shoes needed, powdery sand. Many people were snorkeling.

All in all the days we had great weather were excellent.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ceo67red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear ceo67red,

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends
Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.
Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just spent a week at this hotel and was generally OK. Service was patchy and very much depends where on the resort you were.
Roofs leaked in rain at restaurants......
Service in the pool bars was terrible and staff did not seem to give a damn about anything. Entertainment was excellent one night and awful for the other nights. Shows were cancelled without any notice and were replaced by truly awful guest involved quizes and competitions such as "Mr and Mrs" and "battle fo the sexes" which were not really appropriate for our kids. On the positive side, it was great for the kids in terms of adventure playgrounds and pool with slides.
Drinks were very cheap and cocktails contained very little alcohol and everything seemd to be done on the cheap. You have to pay for branded drinks.
Barcelo seem to have built a beautiful hotel and grounds but put in a budget hotel service offering. Alacarte restaurants OK but nothing special
Hotel manager did not care about customer satisfaction at all.
Went to grand palladium colonial 3 years ago which was fantastic and how mexico should be done for very similar price......

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear M L,

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We look forward to host you,
Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Staying at this resort was alot of Fun!!

We travelled with a group and had an overall wonderful time. The Buffett was busy at times but lots of variety. We all of the restaurants and had good service and yummy food. The shows in the evening well....some better than others...the usual Mexico entertainment.

The Beach was excellent and probably one of our favorites. A very large beach area shared by all the Barcelo resorts which we found great. Snorkelling by the pier and and relaxing on the beach was excellent. The drinks around the pool and overall were good and we found the service quick and the staff very pleasant.

There are plenty of tours you can pay to go on if you like or just enjoy the beach and relaxation. The rooms were fine, fridges stocked daily, room clean just a bit noisy at night as you could hear people closing the doors to their rooms.

Had a wonderful vacation and would recommend this resort if you are not wanting to be close to Playa del Carmen(within walking distance).

Room tip: Email the hotel if you have a special request...they were very good at replying. =)
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear TLTravel,

We appreciate your kind comments and the time you took to share them on Trip Advisor, it is very important for us to thank our guests’ confidence.
Our goal is complete guest satisfaction.
Once again thank you for having chose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your recent stay and really hope to have your preference for your next holidays
Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews