We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
US$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
US$459
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$425
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$478/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/05
US$501
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,382)
Filter reviews
5,382 results
Traveller rating
3,314
1,284
428
213
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,314
1,284
428
213
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyucatan buildingseafoodspecialty restaurantsother resortsgreat resortmini golfbeach grillsclub premiumplaya del carmenkids water parka la cartesjapanese restaurantpalm treesbarcelo mayasteaktequila barbeach resort
Filter
Updating list...
2,575 - 2,580 of 5,382 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We spent 7-nights here the last week of Jan. 2012 and had a very nice stay. The resort is very large and requires a lot of walking which we found okay. The place is very well kept, and our only complaint was the bed and pillows could be softer. We didn't try any of the specialty restaurants so we cant review them. The Buffets we okay with a large verity of items to choose(you wont go hungry). I you like snorkeling make sure to bring you own equipment, as this place has a lot of sea life, we saw Turtles,small and large Stingrays, and all types of fish.
We would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The nightly performances at the outdoor theaters can get pretty loud, request a room away from them, if you don't, you might have a hard time sleeping.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dirod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear dirod,

We really appreciate your loyalty to Barceló Maya Tropical. Thank you very much for sharing your experience, your scores and recommendations.
Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.
Once again thank you very much; we look forward to see you!
Respectfully,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Perfect spot, friendly staff and for us travelling with a kid with food allergies they were really accomodating. They prepared special plates for the kid, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Keep away from the theater unless sleeping with loud disco music is your thing
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MFV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Dear: MFV2011

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends,

Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities; we thank you very much for the kind explanation of the Resort.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have only good reviews of this resort outside of the food. It wasn't terrible, but it could have been better. We went as a family of ranging from Mom, Dad and 3 daughters ages 23-16 from Jan 3/12-Jan12/12. We all agree that we would go back in a heartbeat. The service was fabulous!!! We were upgraded immediately upon our arrival from the Mayan Beach to the Tropical. The rooms, grounds and all the public areas are spotless. My sheets were changed everyday and the room was impeccable!! For me no bugs and clean is everything. The employees worked so hard, I cannot relate to the complaints, We are already planning our return!!! WE LOVE THE BARCELO!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank icandoallthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear icandoallthings,

We really appreciate your loyalty to Barceló Maya Tropical. Thank you very much for sharing your experience, your scores and recommendations.
The main goal of Barceló Maya Tropical is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want you to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.
We would be honor to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had our company event in this Resort, more than 3000 people were spread over the 5 hotels. Service was very good, friendly, kind. They even took the time for small talk. We were staying in the Tropical. Room was clean also the bathroom was clean. Food, buffet was nice in the Tropical, but in the Palace Deluxe hotel the food was even better, the buffet was more beautifully presented, more special. As we were wearing a special tag, we could go every where at the resort, also dinner in the Palace Deluxe. Cocktails, the coffee break with all the cookies, cakes, pastries and sweets were superb. Sehr lecker. The surrounding, gardens beautiful, awsome, te gek, klasse super. Beach, sunbeds, swimming pool, the Palmeras Grill, pool bar all very nice. Sport activities well organized, if you wanted to join in you just did. Shops and Plaza Mexicana shopping center nice too. Fish Restaurant was good too, Italian Restaurant we heard was good too. The steakhouse Santa FE was bad, first thing when you came in,their was a strange smell I thought it was like an indoor swimmingpool, others said no it is meat smell. The portions were far too big as a starter, quantity is not quality, steak was not grilled as requested it looked like burned icehockey puck. T-bone steak was average. the T-bone steak in the buffet at lunch time was better. the T-bone steak at the Palace Deluxe was superb grilled in front of you. Generally their was a great choice of food and drinks available at breakfast, lunch, dinner: 4-star average. Due to the Steakhouse experience 4-star only.
Departure well organized. For service, kindness, cleaness, gardens well kept and
activities 5-star.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Softietours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Softietours,

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
Once again thank you very much, we would be grateful to have another opportunity to host you and your friends o family in the future.

Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were anticipating a relaxing vacation free of stress. This is NOT what you will experience at the Tropical. We have vacationed w/our family at numerous other resorts and have felt totally comfortable. Some of these other resorts are more upscale than the Tropical and yet do not implement the same rigidity.

The staff was unaccommodating and inflexible. When we arrived, after booking 7 months in advance, one of our three rooms was facing the "theater" which could not possibly have been more noisy when attempting to rest/sleep. We begged each day to PAY for an upgrade on this room and each day we were advised "we are at 75% capacity and tomorrow we will be able to fulfill your request." You guessed it - after making the same request for 5 days and speaking with the manager each time, the room change never came to fruition!

Returning from the beach on New Year's Eve at 5:30PM needing to quickly shower for dinner, we found our room in disarray. Someone had obviously been in the room, being that the spread was tossed 1/2 on the floor and 1/2 on the couch, a pillow was tossed into my husband's suitcase, two pillows tossed onto the floor and two on the couch. The dirty towels were on the floor in the bedroom. We attempted to call for assistance and of course..OUR PHONE DID NOT FUNCTION - FOR 4 DAYS - . In the hallway we found someone to notify and they finally sent someone. We were told "the maid's key was unable to work to open the door to your room!"

Throughout our stay we NEVER received a face cloth or hand towel - only bath towels.

One evening we made reservations at the Seafood Restaurant, arrived ahead of schedule and immediately upon seating were asked to order our entrees. We asked if we were permitted to order a cocktail prior to dinner and the waiter gave us a dirty look. We addressed the situation with the maitre d' and he announced, "each patron is permitted exactly 1.5 hours of dining and 9 individuals do not have time for a cocktail" One person in our party went to the bar for us and the maitre d' scolded him saying he would "get into trouble". We could not believe our ears.

We visited the Italian Restaurant and the food was inedible. We are not fussy eaters and it was the worse we have ever eaten. The ambiance was terrific as would be expected -the property receives all the attention.

The list goes on and on. The property is gorgeous and meticulously maintained at the expense of the guests stress free enjoyment. If this is the style you prefer be our guest. When we vacation we prefer to relax within a relaxing environment.

Room Tip: There are NO OCEAN VIEW rooms at this resort. The restaurants and pools are closest to the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Margaretl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Margaretl123,
We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.
Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews