We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort, looking forward to next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Everything is Amazing at this resort. We have no complaints what-so-ever, hence why we have been three times! Our favourite part of this resort however, is the beach and snorkelling! Can't beat seeing sting rays, turtles, barracudas, needle fish, small squid, large sun fish and we think a nurse shark, right off the hotel beach... Amazing!

Rooms are nice/basic, but how much time do you spend in your room? Its a large resort, so expect walking (bring comfortable shoes). Nightly entertainment in the outdoor theatre is great! Food and beverages are great as well. We had a ton of fun playing mini-golf and it looked like there's a lot to do for kids of all ages, including a huge pool with water slides (we are planning to bring our kids next time).

Can't wait to visit this amazing resort and welcoming staff again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Dear Mlferris,

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your last stay at Barceló Maya Tropical.

Our goal is complete guest satisfaction. We look forward to host you with your family or friends again. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.

Warmest Regards to Castlegar BC!.
*
La Gerencia
Barceló Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,798 - 1,804 of 4,789 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a truly excellent hotel for families, perfect for kids. There is even a great little waterpark for them and the Barcy kids club runs from 9am til 4.45pm. My little boy didn't want to leave!
The rooms are spacious and immaculate with the added bonus of a free mini bar restocked daily with coke, fanta, coronas etc. The pool areas are beautiful with amazing swim-up bars. The beaches are to die for and the sea warm and turquoise. The buffet restaurants and snack restaurants are excellent with a great choice of food, some of it freshly cooked in front of you.
The a la carte restaurants are excellent also apart from Capri (the Italian one). The best is the Japanese, but make sure you book a show table, the chef is just unreal! In all honesty the colonial side is slightly nicer especially the 24hr bar La Puebla which has aircon and a real chilled vibe. The staff in all areas of the hotel are incredible they really treat you like royalty! We done two excursions, the trip to Coba (amazing highly recommended) and the royal dolphin swim at puerto aventuras which was incredible apart from being ripped off with the photos. Be warned, we stupidly agreed to pay around two hundred British pounds for ours! Other than that I can honestly say that it was the best holiday of our lives. If you book the Barcelo beach resort you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get the colonial as the lobby area is nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_conelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Dear Chris_conelly,

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Maya Tropical.

We cannot thank you enough for your kind comments. We would be honor to host you again, please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back!!!

Warmest Regards to Gateshead!.
*
La Gerencia
Barceló Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We may be partial as this was our first all-inclusive, but this was the most amazing vacation we have had. Friends of ours that had done all inclusive resorts before said this was one of the best.
We went for our friend's wedding, and the resort did an fantastic job for them. The bride was a little nervous, not knowing all of the fine details of the event until it happened, and she was so pleased with everything. The ceremony on the beach was decorated with her chosen color, the officiant was hilarious, and the cocktail hour was delicious and they surprised the bride with signature cocktails. The reception hall was well staffed and the food was incredible. We went to jaguars after for a dance party until 2 am. The couple couldn't have been happier and all of us guests had a blast.
The 6 other days which weren't occupied with wedding events were equally beautiful. Pool bar parties were super fun the first few nights, though the same playlist played every day and it got a little annoying. The first positive we noticed was the staff at the resort. From the minute they picked us up at the airport everyone was so polite and helpful. We received a few courtesy calls to our room just to ensure we were satisfied. It was clear the staff was genuinely concerned with our happiness and that we were having a good time.
The food was always delicious. We went to the main buffet for every breakfast, and the selection was great. We always found more than enough to eat and it was easy to eat healthy if you wanted. Lunch was usually at the buffet by the pool. Less selection but was always tasty and good for a quick bite between activities, or beverages.
Only con: With the upgrade package we purchased we were entitled to an a la carte dinner every night but we found the dinner and excursion booking process time consuming and understaffed. The one we did go to though was Capri, Italian. It was fantastic for sure.
Our room was large and comfortable. We didn't get the king size we had requested but it didn't really matter in the end because the room was so nice. They came and cleaned it often and we always had plenty of coronas and bottled water in our fridge.
Free room service was also included in our upgrade, which we took full advantage of. Every time we ordered something it came quickly and was delicious.
The beach was well kept, as was the pool. Snorkeling every day was my personal favorite activity, followed by beach volleyball with our group and other travelers.
We would definitely visit a Barcelo resort again, and are now in love with Mexico and it's people :)

Room Tip: Get the upgrade and and ocean view room with a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindsaylita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Dear Lindsay L.,

We would like to thank you for sharing your impressions on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Barceló Maya Tropical. We appreciate the fact to be a Wedding Destination due to coordinate, serve and work in such a special event and we are glad you have choosen this Resort as your destination for the first time in this lovely country.

We look forward to hosting you again!!!.

Warmest Regards to Calgary, Canadá!.
*
La Gerencia
Barceló Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We visited this resort in 2011 and because we had such an amazing time we decided to come again. At the the time our children were 13 and 9 and subsequently this years trip they were 15 and 11. The food was as good as we remembered it . The property is going through major renovations and some restaurants, pools, game room and otherwise other common areas you are entitled to use were not available. There is really nothing for teenagers to do aside from a couple of games by the pool during the day. We booked a 10 night stay and by the 5th day a was ready for something else. If the kids would have had more to be entertained by We would of enjoyed ourselves more. It also it didn't help the fact that it rained buckets almost every day except 3 day while we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank just4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Dear just4kids,
We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical.
Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities; which is why we have had some improvements on the facilities and now we have more options for the teenagers to have fun. There is a teen disco, the acuatic park and there is a Sports bar where we have some games and bowling as well.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

50 of our family and friends congregated at this resort for a wedding (the wedding itself was rather special).

I prefer smaller resorts, but had no choice as this was a family/wedding event. This property has 12 buildings alongside one another (all Barcelo Mayas). If you don't like to walk, I would not suggest going here.

BEACH:

The beach was long and very nice, it had good snorkelling spots very nearby the shore. The beach can be rocky in places due to dead corals nearby. Once you get familiar though, you can often stick to a section that's mostly sand.

ROOMS:

Our room was at the veracruz, it was a bit of a walk to the buffet, beach and tennis courts. Otherwise the rooms was very nice, and we got a huge self enclosed balcony. The mini bar was stocked daily, and the cleaning ladies are super nice and efficient. There are times where there was no hot water, though it would last a maximum of 3 hours.

BEDS:

They are horrible, a lot of the older folks were compalining of back pain. Substandard for a resort claiming to be more than 4 stars.

AMENITIES:

We really like the kids waterpark! Watch out though, adults and babies are not allowed to play on the slide.

The tennis courts were perfect and seemed newly resurfaced, never had problems getting one.

The convention center and nightclub were also convenient especially for the actual wedding day.

FOOD:

I can't say it was bad, but I can't say it was great either. I found it a bit bland, though the selection was very good. I liked the Japanese over the seafood and steakhouse ala carte restaurants.

SERVICE:

Service at the restaurants and buffet was impecable! I have been to all inclusives resorts more than 15 times, and this is the best buffet, bar and restaurants staff I've ever encountered anywhere! I would say that the service was excellent except for one incident.

We had issues with one front counter person (her last name was Gonzalez, didn't get the first name since her hair was blocking it on name tag), who made a pregnant lady with child wait for her room for an hour and refused to give a second card key. I thought it was funny how she argued with me about the second card, while in that time period another front counter person made the second card in two seconds, and handed it to me. Ms. Gonzalez seems to know nothing about customer services and should summarily be fired. Everyone else was great.

I would have rated this resort service a 5 star (first time in 14 tries), had it not been for Ms. Gonzalez.

Really Ms. Gonzales I've never been denied a second card in all the times I've been to a resort.

SUMMARY:

We enjoyed our stay here, but prefer smaller resorts. I'd come back, if the price was right, but would check for smaller resort first.

This resort gets a thumb up for any parent! Good for kids and families.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erristattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Dear erristattle,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical last year, we want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously since they tell us what we are doing right, what we are doing wrong and how we can improve.
We are pleased to know you have encountered many positives at the Resort’s facilities and services.

We deeply appreciate you recommendation to family and friends.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.

Best Regards
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Okso where to begin , how about the front desk , Cleo checked us in , Timely efficent and with full of enthusiam , Cleo is an absolutely Marvelous front desk attenendant , helpfull beyond anyone I have had the experience dealing with at any resort !
We stayed in Premium suite 7109 , ground floor , could not have picked a better room for our location if I had done it personally .
The Restaurants and main dinning room are well managed and Maintained ,
We always saught out the same server a young fellow named Hosea . Hope that s correct . He's on top of the list as far as we are concerened .
The resort staff are all helpfull , friendly and extremely proffesional .
We had a wonderfull saty and only wish it could have been longer .
The enternainment at the Pavillion is excellent ,
Snokelling either side of the beach at the outer bouy's and a nice strip off to the left .
many fish and gurfriend saw a sea turtle , I saw Stingray
Please GO !!

Went to Tulum , Exha , and Playa Del Carmen , ( 5th Avenue , Take the bus , it stops out side the resort , wright out front $3 eac ) Also went snokelling for the day at the ecosanctuary .

All are well worth the cost .

So Glag we went to this resort .

Room Tip: 7109 ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Dear randy B,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your past stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical, for you to know comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously since they tell us what we are doing right, what we are doing wrong and how we can improve.
We are glad to know you have encountered many good things at the Resort, especially that you think our staff is fantastic. We deeply appreciate you recommendation to family and friends.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.

Best Regards
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 7 - 21 October, and I have to say it was the best holiday I have ever had, not only because of all the wonderful excursions, but because of this hotel. Please do NOT take any notice of the bad reviews, they are either from a long time ago or from overly fussy people who look for things to complain about as a hobby.

The hotel and grounds surrounding were very clean, the garden was being tended to daily and all paths constantly swept. The beach was beautiful, pure paradise. The pool area was never too busy so you could always find a good sun bed, pools always clean.

The food here was exquisite, everything from the restaurants, the buffet (had different country themed food every night), the snack bars, all of it was freshly prepared and very tasty, it even has a great selection for kids and the variety of different foods was great!

The staff were what held the place together though, the way they work is out of this world. Everybody from the waiters, the hosts, bar staff, reception, shop keepers, housekeeping, gardeners etc. were so friendly, they always make a huge effort with you and make you smile, they work so hard to give you the best service and make sure everything is done as quick as possible. Please do not complain if one day they forget something or something takes longer than you expect, just remember how busy they are, they really do work so hard and they are the happiest, friendliest people I have ever met! They make the service back in England laughable.

All in all this hotel is beautiful, I will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kristen9188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Dear Kristen9188,

Barceló Maya Tropical is lucky to have you as a guest, we cannot thank you enough for your kind comments.

We look forward to host you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.

Warmest Regards to England, United Kingdom!.
*
La Gerencia
Barceló Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,565 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#69 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,478 reviews
16.6 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £138 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing