We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Trip to Barcelo Maya Tropical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic Trip to Barcelo Maya Tropical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

We recently returned from our vacation at Barcelo Maya Tropical – and we had a fabulous time!!! We were there from December 7, 2008 to December 21, 2008.

The resort is absolutely incredible. The layout is really nice and spacious. You never feel cramped. The landscaping is awesome, and there are always lots of things to do in the evening. The beach is awesome; great for swimming and snorkeling, right off the shore. Here are some more details about the place:

The Room
We arrived around dinner time on a Sunday night. We were taken to our rooms by the bellman. There were four of us, and we requested two rooms with two double beds in each. Unfortunately they gave us rooms with only one king bed each, however, the bellman quickly got on the phone and straightened it out and we were given new room keys just a few doors down from where we were. We were located in building “I”, which is the Veracruz building. I recommend this building as it’s very quiet (not to close to the Theatre) and only a short walk from the beach. It’s a little further from the restaurants and lobby, but we didn’t mind the exercise. We had a nice view of the gardens. The rooms are a very generous size, with a good size bathroom with a tub/shower, blowdryer, etc. The room had a fully stocked mini bar (variety of soda pop, beer, orange juice, water bottles, nuts and chocolate). There is also a small coffee pot with mugs, coffee and another bottle of water. The patio deck is large with two chairs and a small table, and overlooked the gardens and palm trees.

Restaurants
Buffets - There are two buffets together, the Colonial and Tropical buffets. They are mirror images of each other and offer a wide variety of food. For breakfast, there is a smoothie station where they will make your fruit smoothies with whatever fruit you choose. There are omelet/egg stations, fruit, pastries, etc. Lots to choose from. The lunch and dinner buffets also have good variety; lots of nice chicken, beef and fish. The white fish (grouper) is really good (and I’m not a seafood eater). The crepe station makes delicious made to order fruit crepes for dessert. There is lots of variety. We were there for 2 weeks and were getting a little tired of the buffet after that long, but there is still lots of variety and something for everyone.

A la carte - The specialty restaurants are really something special. We went to most of them, and loved all of them. The Capri (Italian) has amazing lamb chops (so tender) veal and pizza. The Japanese is a lot of fun, as the chef makes the food in front of you. The thai is really good, however, doesn’t have a lot of variety. The pad thai was great. The Mexican was also fun, with a mariachi band. The chicken fajitas were great. The Santa Fe steak house was another hit – you have to try the filet mignon. The best I’ve had.

Lunch buffet – we ate at Palmeras, the beach grill, for lunch each day. There was lots variety and a wonderful view of the ocean!

Beach and Pool
The beach is fantastic; the water is light turquoise and warm. The sand soft and white, however, watch out as there are the odd little rocks. It’s a good idea to bring water shoes, as it can sometimes get a little rocky when entering the water. There are some rocks/coral off the beach which allow for great snorkeling. In between the hotel & beach are tons of palm trees, where many people like to sit in partial shade. There is never a shortage of lounge chairs on the beach to sit on, even if you don’t get there until the afternoon.

I’m not a big pool person, but I spent quite a few afternoons around this pool. The nicest pool I’ve seen. The pools are huge and beautiful. There is a great swim-up bar, and beautiful fountains.

Entertainment
There is a lot to do in the evenings. In addition to the shows, you can take the Barcelo train over to the other hotels for shopping and touring. There is a show each night, however, we didn’t find it to be very good. .

Drinks
Unless you purchase the upgrade to Club Premium, the drinks they serve are domestic brands and not top shelf at all. They are still enjoyable, so we didn’t mind. The bars have self-serve beer on tap, Corona dark and light, so you can help yourself to a beer whenever you like without having to wait for a bartender. Very convenient.
One thing we liked was that we never had to worry about not having enough purified water. In the morning, the buffets and bars would put out bottles of cold water that you could take with you. You could always get more at the bars any time you needed, and there were always 3 good sized bottles in your room each day.

Excursions
There were four of us, so we took advantage of cabs instead of overpriced excursion packages. We spent half a day at Playa del Carmen ($25 US each way for a cab) a couple of times. We arranged with the bellman for a man with a nice van to take us to Tulum and back. We toured Tulum on our own (you only need a couple of hours) and really enjoyed the amazing views, the ruins. It’s very hot there though, so bring some water. For the cab, be careful to get a quote in the $ you are paying in (US or Mexican Pesos) as sometimes they will charge you 1:10 exchange rate, and other times much higher. If you are paying in pesos, get the quote in pesos or the difference will be a surprise.

Spa
We didn’t go to the spa, but a spa staff member came by us on the beach and we purchased 40 minute massages in a very private outdoor gazebo near the adult pool at the Palace. This was very relaxing and enjoyable. We paid $60 US for 40 minutes. They do a great job, and we were happy to have the help getting us relaxed.

Staff
Some of the wait staff were great, however, generally the staff friendliness could be improved. We often felt they were only just doing the bare minimum, and we had to ask for everything, such as refills of our drinks, cutlery, etc. This seemed to improve the second week; I’m not sure why there was such a difference. We put all of this information on the comment cards they put out, so hopefully management can work to improve this.

All in all this was a fantastic trip, and we thoroughly recommend this hotel. Like all resorts, there are the odd things that can be improved, however, if you are looking for a great resort with a nice layout, great food, beautiful beaches and a fantastic pool, this is the place.

  • Liked — The beach, pool and overall facilities. Very clean and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Not much, just the quality of alcohol.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Lovingthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear Lovingthesun,

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends,
Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities; we thank you very much for the kind explanation of the Resort.
We cannot thank you enough for your kind comments,

Respectfully,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,596
    1,007
    325
    158
    94
See reviews for
1,935
1,198
40
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

Stayed at the Barcelo Maya Tropical Beach for a week in the beginning of December. I am a young professional from NYC and went there with my girlfriend to relax a little and escape the winter and job stress.

Basically Barcelo has 5 hotels all next to each other, with only one being more expensive (the palace). I think the experience in any of the 4 is similar.

The Very Good:
1) Grounds - the property is just gorgeous. I have been to several other Caribbean hotels and have to say that the Barcelo Maya resort has just fantastic grounds. Firstly it has a lot of space, the grounds are extremely well kept with manicured gardens and patios. The design of the hotel is also great with interior pools and walkways.
2) Amenities - this resort has 9 tennis courts in mint condition with evening spotlights, a nice golf course, great gym, and a spa (overpriced ...but nice). Also there are 7 or 8 outside pools which are huge compared to what i have seen at other properties (cancun hotels for example)

The Good:
1) Room was good. Everything was good quality, mint condition, a very good hotel room.
2) Beach was wide and had palmtress on it which is great when you want to relax in the shade on the beach. On the flipside though the sand is not very soft and generally the beach for this property is quite rocky.

The very so-so:
1) The staff: although they did their job appropriately, compared to other properties the staff here was less accommodative, did really not take any extra steps to make one comfortable (although we would tip for good service) and spoke very little english (i speak some spanish and good french so was able to get around). This is not huge but nevertheless our feeling was that they really did not care much about accommodating guests and were there just to go from A to B.
2) The water: the water/beach is very rocky so one needs to be very careful to not get hurt. The Palace, Tropical Beach, Caribe waterfronts are very rocky and one needs to go to the Maya beach to be able to enjoy a good run in the waves.
3) The Food: boiled in one phrase - the food was college campus dinning hall food. It only seemed to improve once more people arrived in the hotel. Same with drinks - have been to riu hotels that make terrific drinks, but we found the Barcelo lacking in this area.

All in all this resort is great to go to with friends interested in sports (tennis, soccer, golf, snorkeling) or with kids but it is definitely not a 4 star. It has all the infrastructure to be a 4 star but needs to upgrade its staff and food.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NYC_yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear NYC_yuppie,

We really appreciate your loyalty to Barceló Maya Tropical. Thank you very much for sharing your experience, your scores and recommendations.

The main goal of Barceló Maya Tropical is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want you to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.
We look forward to host your family again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.

Kind Regards,


La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

My husband and I (both over 65) just returned from a marvelous week at the Barcelo Maya Colonial. The resort has so much to offer that we didn't have time to enjoy all of the activities that interested us. It was helpful getting to see all of the properties and the various activities offered by first riding the train that stops at various locations. Once we realized where everything was, we took long walks on the beach and the various paths throughout. The lobby and walkways within the Colonial are an amazing design with the mix of tropical vegetation, reflecting pools and fountains.

The beach is a delight, and we especially enjoyed swimming in the section of the ocean beyond where the waves break. We never had a problem finding beach chairs where I could sit in the shade under a palm tree reading and my husband could sit beside me to soak up the sun.

The pools and swim-up bars were another treat. At times the music and on-going activities got a little noisy in spots, but we were usually able to find quiet areas. We enjoyed watching the joy on the faces of some of the children playing on the equipment in the children's play areas.

The rooms and grounds are spotless, the food varied and plentiful, the staff very responsive to all our needs. The restaurants were enjoyable, especially the Italian where we were especially impressed by the delicious seafood lasagna. The lobster tail at the seafood restaurant was another happy surprise. We've been to a few other all-inclusive resorts, but this one is by far the best we've been to. We cannot wait to return.

The only negative was the long ride back to the airport. The bus that picked us up as part of the Air Transat package already had many people on it when we got on. The traffic and construction slowed things down, but that could not be helped. The pick-up of 5 other passengers at a resort closer to Cancun resulted in a long delay while the driver had to search the grounds for the people scheduled for pick-up. Surely with the use of cell phones the driver could call ahead to ensure that someone at the hotel gets the people rounded up and ready for the bus when it arrives.

  • Liked — Beach and pools, cleanliness, beauty, availability and variety of food and drink
  • Disliked — Unimaginative stage shows
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ladysnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear ladysnowbird,

We really appreciate your loyalty to Barceló Maya Tropical. Thank you very much for sharing your experience, your scores and recommendations.

The main goal of Barceló Maya Tropical is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want you to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

This was my first stay at an all inclusive hotel--and it was great. Barcelo had 4 hotels here in a row, Great beach, good barrier reef for snorkeling, food was very good --always available, minibar was always stocked, room was fine , grounds were outstanding, maintenance outstanding, shows were all right in the evening, pools were large --with bars--and very nice. It was better than a cruise ship--why--because we were able to stay there and see all of the Mayan ruins in the area, as well as different beaches to snorkle at. Cruise ship--only allows short day stays--if at all--and you cannot see anything. Spend more time getting off and back on the ships. If you want to have a great time--away from the Cancun rush this is the place.

  • Liked — location, location,location
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear TedAnnapolis

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends,

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Respectfully,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joliet,illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

Me and my family just returned from the Barcelo Colonial, we stayed there from Dec 5 thru Dec 11, with 2 kids ages 11 and 6.

.

Location: The hotel is approximately 20 minutes from Playa Del Carmen. The trip from the airport took approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes. A couple of stops by Best Day travel at other hotels.

Grounds: The grounds are lovely, well maintained and surrounded by water pools. The hotel has it's own shopping center and the deals are comparable with the deals in Playa Del Carmen. The lobby is beautiful and various statues on the grounds make for great pictures. The hotel has an 18 hole mini golf, bring plenty of bug repellant. You will get eaten alive without it, also during the night.

Room: The hotel is divided into the Caribe which is the lower budget hotel, Colonial/Tropical - Medium budget, and the Palace which is the higher budget. Most rooms do not have a ocean view even for the suites. The rooms were well maintained, kind of small for (4) people. The bathrooms are very nice, except they could use a better vent system. The beds were comfortable. If you get the double beds, they are full beds, so they are small. My son slept on the sofa in the room and was very comfortable. The rooms were acceptable from that standpoint. The mini fridges are stocked daily with water, pop and Modelo. Snacks sometimes.

Weather: It did not rain on our trip. The weather averaged 82 C.

Pools: The swimming pools are huge. Plenty of seating and cabanas, very pretty. However, the pools were very very cold so not that many people were in the pools on most days. However, the kids Barcy Park pool was awesome and kids normally played there.

Beach: The beach is also very huge and surrounded by palm trees. No problem finding sitting. Beware of the some nudity, but not that bad. BEWARE - BRING WATER SHOES - The entrance into the water is very rocky with loose coral. Watch your step throughout because of the loose rocks. Water shoes will work just fine. There is a pier where you can snorkel and feed the fish, very nice.

Services : Services were not that special and I was disappointed. For the pool area, you go and get your own drinks and because of the size of the pools it can be a good walk for a drink. Servers in the restaurants were friendly, but not very attentive and Yes we tipped, but it didn't seem to make a difference. The staff throughout the grounds however always spoke and had a smile on their faces.

Food: The buffets were very disappointing. The food quality was okay, however, it was hit or miss each day. The food was either cold or over cooked, or something from one of the specialty diners. If you can eat at the specialty places do so. The steak house was average, the Japense place was above average, it took awhile because of the presentation, but it was worth it. We enjoyed the Italian place the best. Didn't go to the Mexican or Fish places because they normally were on the lunch and dinner buffet menus. Two different buffet places near the beach and pools, but again the food was cold unless you ordered at the grill and they made it in front of you.

Entertainment: Nightly entertainment at 9:30 was average. I've seen better shows, but it was entertainment. I did not go to the disco. The hotel provides supplement entertainment in the shopping plaza on Mondays, Wednesday and Fridays at 6:30 p.m. which encouraged audience participation and was very fun.

Excursions: Tips - You are close to Xacret and Xel-Ha, taxis may save you a few books. Best Day Travel quoted a Tulum express package at $79 per person for a 4 hour excursion. I booked it thru the hotel for $38 per person, so shop around.

Overall Assessment: My family and I have traveled several times to the Riviera Maya. The hotel of similar quality was the the Catalonia in Puerto Adventuras. If the Catalonia had better rooms and better beds it would be a 5 - Star Hotel. I would agree with the assement of this Hotel as 3.5 star rating. It was not great, but it was not bad. It was average. I was hoping for more, but we had a good time. However, for a vacation you want a great time.

  • Liked — read review
  • Disliked — read review
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank madmantt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear madmantt,

We appreciate your kind comments and the time you took to share them on Trip Advisor, it is very important for us to thank our guests’ confidence.
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. One of our goals is to provide service and facilities of great quality.
We cannot thank you enough for your kind comments,

Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

We stayed at the Barcelo' Maya Tropical Beach from 11/14/08 - 11/24/08. We understood that the Barcello' Maya Resort was made up of five different accommodation complexes, (From the South, Barcelo' Maya Beach, Barcelo' Maya Caribe Beach, Barcelo' Maya Colonial Beach, Barcelo' Maya Tropical Beach, Barcelo' Maya Palace, North). Three different levels of amenities were offered for the complex areas.

We booked our vacation three months earlier and on the recommendations of another couple who had been here before, we had chosen the Barcelo Maya Beach complex, because it had what they felt was a better beach but offered less access to the A/C a la cart restaurants, which we didn't feel warranted spending the extra $$. When the airport shuttle driver dropped us off, we quickly learned that the Barcelo Maya Beach was closed for renovations, and we were upgraded to the Barcelo Maya Tropical Beach. We got the fruit basket, bottle of Liquor, and the robes and slippers which we weren't expecting.

In 2007 we traveled to the Dominican Republic and thought the beach at Punta Cana was fantastic! This was our first visit to Mexico, and we were disappointed with the beach at the resort. There were small (and large) rocks and coral on the beach and in the water that you had navigate, which we weren't expecting. So bring water shoes and be careful as you wade into the surf.

We thought the food was great. The beach buffets (Mariachi Grill & Palmeras Grill) always served skirt and rib steaks, which were always flavorful and tender, and my husband ate them almost everyday, which is saying a lot, because he had given up beef due to trouble swallowing. We felt the variety wasn't bad either. We did not like the Italian Restaurant, but the Santa Fe Steak Restaurant and the Oriental Restaurant were wonderful! The chef at the Oriental Restaurant cooks the food on the grill right in front of you and puts on a great show. We really enjoyed it.

The resort grounds are beautiful and kept very well groomed. We thought the resort was immaculate, and we often saw the workers scrubbing, cleaning and dusting. The pools and fountains were sparkling. The nightly shows at the Theatre in the center of our Resort complex were very good as well. The bar tenders at the Theatre bar are great, especially Emilio and Martin.

Most days we were there, we hit the beach early in the morning before just about anyone else, but there were always plenty of chairs on the beach even in the afternoons. Several afternoons we went to play miniature golf. The course was in need of an overhaul, but we had a good time none the less. I might go back to this resort again sometime, but not in the very near future.

  • Liked — The central location to everything on the resort, beach, theatre, restaurants, lobby, etc.
  • Disliked — The rocks and coral at the beach and the packed down sand... lack of white, fluffy sand
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mylea64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear Mylea64,

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends.
Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

We look forward to host you.

Warmest Regards,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton,AB
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Tropical from Nov 25/08 to
Dec 2/08. 2 Adults and 2.5 year kid
When we came to the hotel we were expecting welcome drink upon arrival but we didn't receive it....
Our room was ok. It was clean which is most important. Bathroom was nice..... Rooms need renovations....
Main Buffet was good, but it's not 5*
Beach Buffet was horrible. Walk to the main buffet you will get better service and food.
Restaurants....
Mexican don't bother
Steak house was ok
Italian was amazing
Japaneze was amazing
Book early for La-Carte dinners
Beach is amazing...Lots of chairs. Clean and safe... Water is nice and warm. Bring water shoes.
Pools are very clean, but very cold. Lots of chair to sit around enjoy the beatiful views. Make sure you get a towel early in the morning, because they run out very fast...
Staff is friendly if they can understand you.....
Nice daycare and nice playground
Water park for the kids is nice. it's not for kids younger than 4. My son still had an awesome time at the water park and pool.
If you haven't been anywhere else and this is your first vacation I would recoment this hotel. My husband and I have been to better 5* Resorts that's why I think we were not very happy..

  • Liked — POOLS AND BEACH
  • Disliked — FOOD
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank savetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear savetotravel,

We really appreciate your loyalty to Barceló Maya Tropical. Thank you very much for sharing your experience, your scores and recommendations.
A hotel is defined by the quality of service it provides to its guests. Since our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you know that your comments and suggestions are taken seriously.
We would be honor to host you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,731 reviews
19.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,152 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#75 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Property: Barcelo Maya Tropical
Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Barcelo, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing