We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Resort in Service, avoid at all cost going here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I have stayed in around 14 resorts in Cancun and the Riviera Maya area in the last 8 years, we went with a group of 15, someone in the group recommended this resort, and
we had the worst experience in service that you can have. We couldn't get reservations for 2 days , (our stay was of 5 days), when you talk to the reservations center for help in this issue or customer service, they had the worst attitude , they forget that you were on a vacation and that you paid for been treated well. I know this is not a 5 star hotel, its a 4, or 3.5 resort in the installations and grounds, but its less then 1 star in service. All of our group had issues, we even had strong discussions with the personal, we try to speak with the manager and no one never appear, when you call guest service they just left you in the other line with no answer. Go to many other nice resorts in this area instead of this hell of service resort. I have 1 hour that I arrived to my office from this trip and couldn't wait to write about this.
Guillermo

Room Tip: just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank gge10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017


Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are sorry about our reply being delayed as we really appreciate that you have taken some time to write your comments about your experience in our hotel and this comments have been noted and shared with the leaders of every department.
We have been working hard to improve all our opportunity areas in order to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome back soon.

Regards,

Them Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,611 - 4,617 of 7,229 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is a beautiful resort. Rooms are clean and spacious and the resort has a nice layout. Great ocean views from the lobby and all the restaurants.Beautiful paintings and sculptures everywhere.
Food: Buffet was fine and they would make you almost anything you wanted. We also tried French, Italian, and Caribbean and all were good but my favorite was the French restaurant, food was great and the view was breathtaking. However, overall making restaurant reservation was difficult!
Entertainment: The only problem with this place is lack of entertainment. We had stayed at Iberostar for several years and decided to try a new place and Barcelo really needs to take lessons from Iberostar. We will go back to Iberostar on our next trip just for their starfriends and how they entertain the guests all day long.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ashley41353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality and improving in our areas of opportunity.
We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed June 4-11. First room had a king bed, and we needed 2 doubles. Went back to check-in and received very good service, informed us of promotion, and upgraded to a Club Premium room in the Oaxaca building for $350.00, totally worth it! Got a very nice room close to the beach and pools and a short walk to the restaurants and lobby! Never had a problem with anyone or anything. Had one meal at the Brasserie restaurant which was the least good of all the places we ate at while there. The buffet is very good, had the steak arrachera - great!
Do not pay much heed to any negative reviews about this place - unless you are extremely spoiled or very picky you will have a great time here. Good beach - especially at the Beach and Caribe side of the resort! Great snorkeling on the Palace side. We saw turtles and big angelfish - nice coral formations too. This is a great place to bring kids!! Trust me - book early in the year to get a good deal - go, and have a really good time. Most of the photos you see of this place do not do it justice. The staff is fine, not rude at all. Some of my fellow American citizens were very rude to the staff, which really makes me angry. Too bad we can't keep the jerks away!

Room Tip: Get Club Premium in the Oaxaca building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ultramayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017


Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Great Hotel.. No problema.. You will enjoy.. rude canadians and europeans should go elsewhere. Good Food, Good service, Room good. Shows good. Not crazy about the "langosta out of season" B.S. Hotel just trying to save money by not serving lobster in ala carte restraunts. Total B.S. If you are on a budget I would stay at the Colonial/Tropical. Palace may be worth the extra $100 per nite if you want to splurge or can afford it.

Room Tip: Funjet best deal from Atlanta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gadude007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality and improving in our areas of opportunity.
We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We decided on this resort because the grandkids were going along on this trip and it looked like it had the best kids pool, beach and activities in the area. We have been to several of the adult only resorts in the Riviera Maya over the years so were familiar with the area.
Let me tell you, we were nervous after reading several of the reviews, so I was looking for all of the fault that they implied.
Much to our delight we did not find most of the negative to be true. The resort is large, but you do not have to go to all the other properties. There is plenty to do and see right on the Palace property itself. We did walk along the beach to the end and beyond one day, and it is not as far as everyone says. A little beach stroll is relaxing and refreshing.
The beach in front of the Palace offered a lot of diversity. There was the rocky portions where you were able to see the colorful fish and turtles. Walk a few steps and you had the soft white sand to wander out into the ocean on. Since the rocky areas were close the turtle and fish would swim with you. Very awesome. Never a need for swim shoes. We loved it! walked to the North of the property one afternoon and found a real cool ruin sitting back in a beautiful ravine. Was a hard rocky walk to it so would not suggest taking kids with, but clear clean blue water to swim in once there. Have to climb down the rocks to get to the water, tho.
The restaurants were good also. We made reservations the day after we arrived and had no problem getting into every one we wanted. First night we just ate at the buffet since our plane was delayed and we arrived late. I must say my favorite was the French. Never thought it would be but loved the Filet Minyon(sp) and the Creme Brulet. Everyone says the Steak House at the Tropical was best, but I found it to be near the bottom of my list. The Brazilian was interesting and very good also. Liked the Japanese and Caribbean also. Did not have enough evenings to try the Mexican. Kids went to the Barcy Club and then to the buffet with us after we ate. They were allowed in the restaurants if you wanted to take them, but not really food kids enjoy. The Burger joints along the beach paths were excellent for afternoon snacks and meals.
The rooms were very large and comfortable with lots of space to unpack and put things away. The beds may have been a bit hard, but I like a hard bed so am not a good one to review that. Everything was clean and kept that way. We had a room about in the middle of the end building facing toward the adult pool on the top floor. Could not see much of the ocean (just a glimpse above the trees) but had a good view of the garden area around the resort. The outside rooms had a good ocean view. My only complaint on the room was that I would have preferred further back due to the noise during the night. Anything taking place around the pool area echoed back to the rooms. One night I guess there was a party tour into Cancun and Playa and it returned around 4am. Everyone was hooting and hollering and kept us awake. Not much sound barrier in the rooms. Other reviews have stated it was quite a walk to the rooms and I did not find this so. In the other resorts we have visited in the area we always had ocean front rooms, so I thought I would hate strolling back to the room. Just the opposite. The walkways back to the rooms were beautiful and it really was not that far. I can't figure out where others found this to be so bad. One evening walking back the room a deer even ran in front of us.
The swimming pool is what my husband loved the most. It is huge and even though there were a lot of people at the resort it never felt like it. We were always able to get the chairs and water cabanas we wanted. We never got up early to reserve. Did not swim in the adult only pool but walked back to it a couple times. It was beautiful, but all the chairs were taken there. It did not matter to us as we wanted to swim with the grandkids anyway.
We only left the resort 2 times. Once to go to Playa and once to go to Tulum. Both times they had a cab waiting for us within 10 minutes of requesting it.
Overall, I found the week to be wonderful and would return again.
I have tons of photos, but could not download them on here as they say the format is too large. Contact me and I will send them to you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank swaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I went there with my family - husband, 12yo and 10yo. The property was very nice, clean and well kept. Rooms were great. Additional twin beds (also could be used as couches) for kids were comfortable. Housekeeping did a good job. Pool was huge - lots of seating and plenty of room for everyone. Water aerobics were fun. Basketball, pingpong, shuffleboard - lots of activities. Swim up bar was fine but a little slow. Good mojitos and kids loved the virgin mudslides.

Some of the not so good. A large variety of restaurants, but I was not really impressed by the food. I am not a picky eater, but just not a lot that was appealing. Would love to have seen more mexican and traditional foods. Rooms were we were located were the farthest from the restaurant area. A good 10 min walk from room to food. There was no food by the pool - would really like to see a snack bar of some sort there. It was a pain to have to go to the restaurants when the kids would have been happy with just a snack. Beach was fine. A little rocky but good snorkling.

We weren't there long but did do one of the adventure parks - zip lines/atv/underwater rivers. Kids loved it. 10 min from hotel - sorry can't remember the name. Make sure you check the opening times. We got there 1/2 hr early and had to wait on the side of the road. You can get a taxi from the hotel.

We went with Cheap Caribbean - with 4 people it was cheaper to have a private shuttle from the airport rather than pay per person. Definitely make sure you ask about that so you don't have to stop at other hotels.

Overall, this was a nice property, but I would probably go somewhere else that had pool/beachside food and maybe something not so big where it is not so inconvenient to go back to your room from pool or restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get near the restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elise07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed at Barcelo Maya Palace from June 6th to the 13th, and our wedding was on June 11/2011. We had been in communication with our wedding coordinator for a year before we arrived and took care of all the details via email before we even arrived. Immediately upon arriving at Barcelo, we were taken to the Club Premium lounge which gave us special access to people who are able to help us, answer any questions, and check us in. We used that lounge quite a bit to access the internet and have our questions answered and taken care of immediately.
Our room was amazing- we couldn't ask for anything better.
As soon as we got there, the wedding coordinator scheduled all of our appointments with her, including the time to meet to finalize all the wedding details, our blood tests for the wedding, our spa appointments, and the bride's hair and makeup on the wedding day.
The meeting was quick and easy and she took all of the stuff we brought to use at the location for the wedding and incoporated it perfeclty with our vision.
We had 26 people staying at our wedding and they were spread out throughout the entire resort. This was sometimes difficult to organize things such as meals becuase of how spread out they were, but not everyon wanted to pay that much to stay at the Palace. The only complaint I have about that is that there were a few times that the Palace staff were rude to my wedding guests when they tried to come over and pay extra to eat in the buffet (aftter we had already sorted it out with the front desk).
We felt like the wedding was very organized and we had total faith that everyhting would be taken care of.
The blood test was totally worth the legal ceremony at this resort. We had an appointment, showed up in a nice clean medical centre and had the doctor expertly take our blood with no problems. It was quick and easy and definitely worth it for us.
The wedding day was amazing. Our wedding coordinator had everything planned out very well and organized. We weren't bothered by any details, until we found out that there was an issue with the musician- apprently he had an accident on the highway and wasn't coming. We hope he is ok--but they quickly found another musician to do the ceremony and began only about 30 minutes late.
The food at the reception was absolutley amazing. We had been used to amazing food staying at the Palace, but this food was amazing. We had surf and turf and evn though Lobster wasn't in season, they made sure to include it in our wedding because that was what was promised.
We got all the locations we wanted and hired a mariachi band to play at the reception which was wonderful.
The wedding couldn't have been more perfect.
The stay at Barcelo Maya Palace was also incredible in general. Again it was quite difficult getting together with guests from all over the resort because of its size, but it really has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kstrongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality and improving in our areas of opportunity.
We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,474 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,755 reviews
16.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,064 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £173 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Barcelo, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing