We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at this resort 7 days in June 2011.
Pros: Beautiful Resort,very clean, good food,you can get a la carte reservations at any of the Barcelo resorts as many time as you like,drink selection is excellent,shuttle bus to get to the other resorts,beautiful water (beach),big pools,smaller adult pool with beds,room was always clean and modern look.Lots of chairs by the beach and pool. About 20 min from Playa del Carmen, we went to the Coba ruins tour with altournative(visit a Mayan village,cenote,ziplining,canoeing) it was very fun.We also went to Coco Bongo with Hector on a friday he was very nice, we went with a group,express line up about 10 min wait..very good compared to the 1h wait for regular line up.It was 65$/pers on friday.We also had a photo session by the beach the photographer was very nice (Gabriel) and took very professional (beautiful) pictures.Lobby bar has snacks and is open 24/7.

Cons: If your bracelet is not a "certain" color they will not give you cards for towels wich means you have to walk around with your towels, this annoyed me because for 2 days they gave us cards and after they "suddenly" had this rule. Clients that pay more for there rooms get Better service and this is very noticable specially at the restaurants. I dont think this a fair customer service. The waiters,bar tenders were nice but no as friendly as we have seen at other resorts. The only restaurant where we got excellent service was the Brasserie, French restaurant, and we had a really good bartender at the main lobby bar.
The beach is beautiful but there is a lot of rocks in the sand.
You also have to pay for room service and internet 3 US $/15 min. 12$ a day for wi-fi only in the main lobby.We also had to make a local phone call and the receptionnist did not offer for us to use their phone.(our friends at a Riu in playa del carmen paid lot less for their resort and had free wi-fi and local phone calls from the lobby)
The resort is beautiful with many small flaws that if improved could make this the perfect resort.

Room Tip: Regular Jr Suite are 6 min walk to main loby/beacb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality about the things you liked and improving in our areas of opportunity as the ones you´ve mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,148
    1,567
    635
    219
    180
See reviews for
3,853
1,513
41
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

If your looking for a place like hell, come to this resort. Bad service, bad food(always the same), bad chicks. The people who work there are so bad that twise, we almost got into a physical and verbal fight. which is totally off balance for a worker you loose all respect. So just dont go I swear you will regret it.
tio Jorge

Room Tip: no free room service, no all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Icomewithguillermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are sorry about our reply being delayed as we really appreciate that you have taken some time to write your comments about your experience in our hotel and this comments have been noted and shared with the leaders of every department.
We have been working hard to improve all our opportunity areas in order to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome back soon.

Regards,

Them Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I was there for my daughters wedding with family and friends and I'm not a traveler , but I would think of going again, the staff went out of their way for everyone, the wedding was beautiful.The resort was beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank troublez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Milford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My girlfriend and I ( 24 and 27) spent a week at the Barcelo Maya Palace in April. We have been to a few different resorts in the Riviera Maya and The Barcelo Palace was incredible. From the moment we pulled up to the massive lobby, everything was perfect. We were lucky enough to be there on what seemed to be a slow week. Check-In was a breeze and dispite what other reviews say, we were very happy with the front desk staff. As expected, our room was not ready because we checked in early. There is plenty to see while you wait. We enjoyed lunch as the ocean front snack bar/buffet and got a drink in our hand. ( you really can't complain at this point...you are in paradise so relax and dont sweat the small stuff). Our room was ready around 3PM. Here is the breakdown.

Rooms: We had a standard Junior Suite in the Michoacan Building. Our room was on the 2nd floor with an amazing, quiet garden view. If you want quiet, then the Premium upgrade may not be worth it because most of the rooms overlook the pool area. Our room was very close to everything. Bed was not a cloud like our bed at home, but still comfortable. Everything was absolutely spotless. No musty smell, no bugs..I expect a few bugs in Mexico, but nothing at the Palace. As some reviews have mentioned, some of the rooms can be a little far from the Restaurants and pool, but it is worth it. We walked the entire property( all 5 resorts) and it is all beautiful and very relaxing. If you have young children or walking problems this may be a problem for you.

Food: There really is something for everyone. The Snack grills were very convenient for getting quick food while on the beach. The grills at the 5 different resorts are located along an ocean front pathway that goes the whole length of the resort complex. As a Palace guest you can use all of the facilities( snack bars, restaurants, bars, etc) of the other 4 resorts. We only ate at restaurants twice as we like the ease of walking in and out of Buffets, but the food was always good. If you want to eat at the restaurants, make sure you visit the concierge at check-in because the reservation policy has changed a couple of times lately. If you cannot get a reservation for what you want, dont sweat it...the buffets were very good. They have made to order grills for fresh omelets( breakfast) and steaks, chicken, stir fry, pasta, fish, tacos( lunch and dinner).

Service: Overall the service was very good. However, last year we stayed at a smaller, adults only resort and the staff bent over backwards with a smile for your every need. That is not exactly the case here because the resort is so big, they just cant possibly do that. We had no complaints...everyone was very nice. Best service was at the Adults Only Pool Bar. Bartender was very friendly and reccomended drinks fr everyone. There were no lines here so it was more personal.

Pools & Beach: The main pool was HUUUUGE. It was sectioned off into a few areas with something for everyone. This is where the swimup bar is located. This was the longest wait for a drink. Plenty of water loungers in the pool. This was a great way to unwind after a hot day on the beach. Adult pool was quiet and relaxing. THE BEACH IS AMAZING!!!! The entire resort has almost 2 miles of beachfront..and again..something for Everyone. A lot of reviews talk about the rocky beach in front of the Palace. Yes, there is a small rocky section, but there is also a large section of perfect beach right at the palace. The rocky areas are perfect for snorkeling( we saw Sea Turtles everyday, stingrays, and countless different fish). The beach further down by the Caribe and Beach resorts is a more wide open smoothe beach but we liked the Palace beach. We snorkled everyday. There is also a large pier in the middle of the beach for great snorkeling. This is also where the watersports area is. You can use kayaks, water bikes, hobbie kats, and rent wave runners.

Just Book It and Go.

Room Tip: Premium Rooms are close but not secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tyesse983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I have stayed in around 14 resorts in Cancun and the Riviera Maya area in the last 8 years, we went with a group of 15, someone in the group recommended this resort, and
we had the worst experience in service that you can have. We couldn't get reservations for 2 days , (our stay was of 5 days), when you talk to the reservations center for help in this issue or customer service, they had the worst attitude , they forget that you were on a vacation and that you paid for been treated well. I know this is not a 5 star hotel, its a 4, or 3.5 resort in the installations and grounds, but its less then 1 star in service. All of our group had issues, we even had strong discussions with the personal, we try to speak with the manager and no one never appear, when you call guest service they just left you in the other line with no answer. Go to many other nice resorts in this area instead of this hell of service resort. I have 1 hour that I arrived to my office from this trip and couldn't wait to write about this.
Guillermo

Room Tip: just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank gge10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are sorry about our reply being delayed as we really appreciate that you have taken some time to write your comments about your experience in our hotel and this comments have been noted and shared with the leaders of every department.
We have been working hard to improve all our opportunity areas in order to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome back soon.

Regards,

Them Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is a beautiful resort. Rooms are clean and spacious and the resort has a nice layout. Great ocean views from the lobby and all the restaurants.Beautiful paintings and sculptures everywhere.
Food: Buffet was fine and they would make you almost anything you wanted. We also tried French, Italian, and Caribbean and all were good but my favorite was the French restaurant, food was great and the view was breathtaking. However, overall making restaurant reservation was difficult!
Entertainment: The only problem with this place is lack of entertainment. We had stayed at Iberostar for several years and decided to try a new place and Barcelo really needs to take lessons from Iberostar. We will go back to Iberostar on our next trip just for their starfriends and how they entertain the guests all day long.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley41353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality and improving in our areas of opportunity.
We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed June 4-11. First room had a king bed, and we needed 2 doubles. Went back to check-in and received very good service, informed us of promotion, and upgraded to a Club Premium room in the Oaxaca building for $350.00, totally worth it! Got a very nice room close to the beach and pools and a short walk to the restaurants and lobby! Never had a problem with anyone or anything. Had one meal at the Brasserie restaurant which was the least good of all the places we ate at while there. The buffet is very good, had the steak arrachera - great!
Do not pay much heed to any negative reviews about this place - unless you are extremely spoiled or very picky you will have a great time here. Good beach - especially at the Beach and Caribe side of the resort! Great snorkeling on the Palace side. We saw turtles and big angelfish - nice coral formations too. This is a great place to bring kids!! Trust me - book early in the year to get a good deal - go, and have a really good time. Most of the photos you see of this place do not do it justice. The staff is fine, not rude at all. Some of my fellow American citizens were very rude to the staff, which really makes me angry. Too bad we can't keep the jerks away!

Room Tip: Get Club Premium in the Oaxaca building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ultramayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,591 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
7,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#80 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,996 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,646 reviews
19.4 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing