We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best ever”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Stayed may 31st to june 6th. Beach was pretty good(Beaches in Punta cana were better) But snorkelling was better at the resort than any excursion I've ever taken! Food was amazing and better than any 5 star I've stayed at in the Dominican. I love the self serve tequila and self serve corona also the top shelf liquor. Staff there were amazing Facilities impeccable. Took scuba lessons there and the excursion was right in front of the resort and it was better than I would have imagined. The pools are incredible. If you run, the resort is so big that you can run and be safe being on the resort.

Room Tip: michoacan building ground level facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daggerderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,792
    1,473
    579
    204
    168
See reviews for
3,439
1,456
37
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

this is our second year in a row that we chose the barcelo palace because after many years of travel staying at the riu palace and the paladeum hotels we discovered this our own little slice of heaven, our trip this year is 12 days going home and returning for 2 weeks and then returning for 12 more days. the barcelo has chosen the best of the best from manangement to housekeeping and you will feel this in everything you see and do at this resort. the pools are gigantic and clean and oh so warm, the beach is the best in the carribean the varity and quality of food the preperation , presentation , and the service is unbelievable. from check in to checkout you will be pampered and amazed, after just a short time they know you by name and what drinks you like and where you like to sit in the resturants, if you are lucky enough to come to this resort you will never forget the fine people who work so hard to make your stay a wonderful memory.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joecabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We debated about where to spend our 30th anniversary. We vacilated back and forth between Punta Cana and Mexico. Our travel agent was highly encouraging us to go to Punta Cana even though we had been to the Maya Beach Barcelo 7 years ago. We stated then, that it was the best vacation we had ever had and that we would be back. Against the advice of our travel agent we decided to upgrade and return to Barcelo but this time the Maya Palace. We chose a 10 day vacation package through Apple vacations and we could not be more pleased. This vacation was booked in March of 2011. On May 22, 2011 I fell off of a ladder and tore my ACL and was advised I needed surgery to repair the damage, and was advised against going on the trip. My husband and I decided that I really, really needed the vacation and therefore we decided to postpone the surgery and go on the trip even though I would need to wear a brace and perhaps be in a wheelchair.
Upon our arrival to Barcelo we briefly spoke with the bell hop who quicklly arranged for a wheelchair. We also briefly met with Edwardo Cervantes but had no idea who he was at the time. We were escourted to our room and were very impressed with the beauty and quality of the room, however we were somewhat disappointed with what we perceived as a musty smell in the room. Two days later we happened to meet Edwardo again and he asked about our experience and we mentioned about the musty smell in our room. He advised that although he was the manager of the French resturant, personal service was the goal of the Barcelo Maya Palace and the he would make sure our concerns were rectified.
Later that evening Edwardo met us at dinner and told us he looked into our concern and had personally been to our room. He had made arrangements to have our room changed. My husband was somewhat apprehensive stating that he really would like to see the room first, however Edwardo once again assured us we would be pleased with the room change. After dinner he had the materde escourt us to the club premium where we turned in our keys and picked up the keys to our new room.
He took into account my immobility due to my brace and wheelchair and made sure that the new accomodations would meet my needs, as he upgraded us to room 8015. We packed our belongings with the help of a bellhop and moved to our new room. My husband unlocked the door and just stood there in awe, not only with the beauty of the room but with the conveinient location. With my lack of mobilty the new room made my physical limitations more accessible for all activities that this resort has to offer. Just when we thought we could not thank Edwardo and the Barcelo Palace enough there was yet more to come. Edwardo had been informed that this was our 30th wedding anniversay and wanted to make it as special as he possibly could. He learned that we could not get reservations at the Santa Fe restaurant and therefore at our next reservation at the French restaurant he arranged for a special menu just for us. We were treated like a King and a Queen. The service and the food was more than exceptional it was over the top ! and more than we could ever have dreamed of.

We will be leaving the resort on Friday morning July 1, 2011, and wish to say that all of the staff at this resort including but not limited to the bellhops, maids, waiters, hostesses, bartenders, the cleaning crew, the ground keepers etc...........everyone is exceptional and shows a true interest in making sure that customers are satisfired. Eveyone does there job with a true smile on there face from early morning to late at night. The management at this resort really knows how to pick their personnel and they also know how to read people to make sure that they are satisfied with every fine detail of service. This resort deserves more than the 5 stars that it has been given. THANK YOU! Dave and Diane Coolidge

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sleepyhollow9205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality and improving in our areas of opportunity.
We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This was our 10th visit to the Barcelo Maya complex since June 2002 (4 visits to the Barcelo Maya Beach, 2 visits to the Barcelo Maya Tropical and now 4 visits to the Barcelo Maya Palace). This resort is fantastic for couples or for families with children (our son was 7 the first year we visited). The beach is amazing and you can snorkel with sea turtles, spotted eagle rays, etc... within yards of the beach. The pools are amazing as well. Plenty of variety and (good quality) in restaurant choices. The main reason we come back year after year, though? The staff. We are made to feel welcomed and appreciated.

Nearby activities are great as well. In particular, we love visiting Akumal.

The only reason I can think of NOT to come to the Barcelo Maya is if walking is a problem. The resort is very large and spread out (which we love because it never feels crowded).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris_and_Mary_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Just returned from a 7 day stay at the Palace. It was spectacular. We had an awesome trip and cannot wait to go back. The Hotel/Property is gorgeous and well maintained. Service was "Muy Bien" and I am not sure what those poor reviews are about. Everyone was so friendly and very helpful. We loved snorkeling off the Palace Beach- the reef is amazing once you get out there. Yes you do have to do quite a bit of walking since it is so big but no big deal-it helps work off the food and drinks. We loved the French Restaurant the Best. The Brazilian was very good too. I thought the buffets were good- I got Grilled shrimp one night and it was delicious. There was enough variety to please everyone. We really loved our stay.

Room Tip: Email your room requests before you leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie4859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Our family of 5 (children 17, 21, 26) went to the Palace May 21-27. It took about an hour to get there from the airport. The Barcelo Palace is one of the best all inclusives I have been to.
We ate at the ala carte restaurants for dinner nightly . I made the reservations on arrival to the resort. Even 6 days out and the resort being fairly empty we couldn't get reservations to the Japanese restaurant at the Colonial. We enjoyed the french restaurant the best. The food was good. Of course the filet was not midwest quality but it was good. The buffets were typical with a good variety. They always had something that was cooked to order(steaks or pasta, omelets). For lunch we sometimes went to the Colonial to eat at the beach restaurants in our swimsuits.
We enjoyed the swim up bar and it stayed open til 7:00pm which was nice. It served some premium liquor such as Captain Morgan and Absolute vodka.. The bartenders were nice but were sometimes under staffed. We did tip throughout our stay. But even if not tipped the staff was friendly and attentive. The pool area was beautiful and clean. The kids pool had slides and looked like fun for small children.
The lobby bar was the place to be in the evening after the shows. The kids enjoyed the disco at night and it was open til 2 am.
The rooms were nice and cool. The beds could have been a little softer. They did have a pad on the bed to make them more comfortable.
The beach was beautiful with white sand. There were areas that had some rocks but most of the beach was fine, white sand. It was fun to be able to snorkel off the beach. We saw and fed fish and even saw turtles swimming. There was plenty of chairs around the pool and beach. The beach could have used some palapas for shade. There were many palm trees.
Overall, we enjoyed the resort and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaofKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My wife and I just got back from the a four night stay at the Barcelo Palace. Overall the experience was great, but there were a few negatives.

For comparison, a few years ago, we stayed at the El Dorado Suites, a much smaller couples only all-inclusive resort in Riviera Maya area.

First impression: At the El Dorado, each incoming guest was personally greeted by a personal concierge and a cocktail. At the Palace, we weren't greeted at all. Instead, we stood in one of two very unorganized lines to wait for the very slow front desk. Checking-in took over 30 minutes.

Room: Our junior suite looked exactly like the photos on the website. Maid service was timely and we never had any security issues. However the air conditioning was never cold enough. The big negative for me was the bed. It was very uncomfortable and lumpy - like an old mattress with bad springs.

Service: It is great at times, and bad at other times. We gave extra gratuity to the food servers that provided great service. Keep in mind that not all servers will understand your order if you go beyond their English abilities.

Food: Mostly great, but not five star either. The breakfast and lunch buffet at the Palace is awesome. Fresh fruits, meats, seafood, bakery, deserts and smoothies. The food at the other Barcelo Beach buffets were not as impressive.

Here's an important tip: If you intend on eating at any of the menu restaurants, you need to make your reservations right away at the lobby concierge. We made the mistake of waiting a few hours after checking in to do so and we almost missed out on the restaurants we wanted. The fill up fast.

Pool: There are multiple pools at the resort. The main pool is crazy big and has a swim up bar. The activity pool is fun for water sports. The adult pool is lame and boring - don't go.

Beach: We spent most of our time at the beach playing volleyball with other fanatics. The sand is nice but really rough in some parts. It seems that the beach is built over coral rocks and can be very rough on your feet. The water was warm and blue/green.

Entertainment: There's always something going on, if you care to participate. From water polo to beach volleyball. At night, we went to a few shows, but they were not overly impressive. One night, we went to the Jaguar disco, a huge dance club equipped with goo dancers.

Overall: We did have a great time during our short stay. After overcoming the initial negative experience with the check-in process, we were able to enjoy the great food, drinks and entertainment. Keep in mind that this place is HUGE. It's not an intimate couples resort. It's a loud and fun family resort with kids running around everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RosieBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality and improving in our areas of opportunity.
We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,423 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,034 reviews
1.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,570 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing