We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service, not coming back !!! I would strongly not recommend this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad service, not coming back !!! I would strongly not recommend this resort!”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Bad service, not coming back !!
I would strongly not recommend this resort!
I dont even know if Ill ever go back to Mexico.
no internet,
Not even a 3 star resort

Room Tip: Bad service, not coming back !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank zach g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are sorry about our reply being delayed as we really appreciate that you have taken some time to write your comments about your experience in our hotel and this comments have been noted and shared with the leaders of every department.
We have been working hard to improve all our opportunity areas in order to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome back soon.

Regards,

Them Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,664
    1,414
    559
    190
    163
See reviews for
3,284
1,413
35
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The grounds and rooms are very nice, however the customer service is absolutely horrible at the Barcelo Maya Palace. I will never stay at this hotel again solely based on how we were treated!

We got to the hotel around 11am and were not allowed to check in until 3pm. Our luggage was taken somewhere to be in waiting so we were not able to change to at least go to the pool. Upon check-in, we were told nothing about the hotel or restaurants. We were handed a map and told, "Here you go". When I asked questions about the sit-down restaurants, no one knew. The front desk staff could not tell me where phones or the internet cafe (which was right around the corner) was to contact the US. There are three sit-down restaurants that you can make reservations for to eat at during your stay. Good luck with that. We stayed a week, and immediately after checking in, went to book a dinner or two and were told they were ALL BOOKED for the ENTIRE time we were there. Finally after some pushing and persisting that they couldn't be entirely book, somehow three bookings miraculously opened! Also on our last morning, we had placed a wake up call for 4:45am because we had an early flight out, and never got it. We almost missed our pick-up time to go back to the airport because the front desk never called with the wake up call.

If you need to use the internet, go to one of the other hotels and look in there gift shops for free internet. Here you have to pay for it, even though people just walk in and out of the internet area. I suggest paying for the cheapest amount of time because even if you go over, no one checks the amount of time you are in there. The food at the buffets is decent. From the two restaurants that we ate at, I would almost say the buffet food was better, so maybe booking at the sit-downs isn't all that it's cracked up to be. They have pretty settings, but they are a good distance from any of the rooms.

The hotel itself is fairly large. Depending on where your room is, you could have a 10-20 min walk to the pool and eating areas. If you plan to go to other hotels (you have access to all and their restaurants as well but good luck booking because "they're all full") there is a shuttle that comes about every 30mins. We never took it, because we could get to the next hotel faster by walking. Only about a 7 min walk to the next hotel (we walked often because we were there for a wedding at another hotel).

The beach is very pretty but pretty rocky. Others have suggested water shoes, and although I did not use them, I don't think they would be a bad idea to have. The next hotel over has beach volleyball courts where people join daily, pretty fun. The Palace's pool is very nice, the swim up bar has good service, but there is no food unless you want to buy from the snack bar (which is kind of stupid since all of your food is included) or you can walk to the buffets, but again pretty fair from the pool.

If you book any excursions, make sure to double check your time. We were given the wrong pick up time and although we were there 10 mins early, the pick up time was actually 8am and we were told 8:25 so we missed our pick up and had to go through a huge ordeal to meet up with our excursion. Our whole day was rushed because we were being pushed with this group and that group so that we could see the things we paid for. We booked with Delta vacations and I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THEM! Their representatives were the ones who gave us the wrong time.

Lastly, be prepared to ask all the questions you can think of when you check in because the staff does not tell you anything about locations, how to get to your rooms, buffet times, how to book sit-down restaurants.......anything! Other than the pool bar staff, most staff are rude, not helpful and tell you to go ask someone else, who then asks you to go ask someone else, who tells you their don't know and to wait in line at the front desk (which can be up to an hour) who then tells you they don't know as well. As I said in the beginning, the grounds are very nice, but be prepared for horrible service and a good walk almost anywhere you go.

Room Tip: Good luck trying to change rooms if you are rather far away, we tried for two days and were constant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a wonderful week in Mexico and the hotel was in a wonderful location however the service was definitely poor. We were told before booking that reservations for dinner could be made at all the resort restaurants, only to find upon arrival that the "policy had changed". We had to wait in line at several restaurants or rush down to be there as soon as they opened. Once inside the restaurants were only half full. Our friends who we went with had a room that smelled like sewerage they were finally moved but only after several complaints. They were promised they would not be charged for that night but they were and the management was less than helpful. You are given towel tokens and have to trade in towels to get tokens back each day. With the prices they charge you should be able to get fresh towels more easily. Also there are no poolside eating places, very inconvienent. Grounds are beautiful, weather great but I would stay elsewhere... wish we had gone to Iberostar.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

When the summer heat becomes unbearable, what better place to go than the beach in Mexico? If you're considering staying in or around the Cancun area, you should seriously consider Barcelo for your all-inclusive option. Though very expensive, this elegant resort located on the Caribbean sea with a coral reef nearby is definitely worth the money. The rooms are clean and have great views, (most of them, at least) and are interconnected throughout the resort within a series of hotels.(All of them belong to the same Barcelo resort.) There are about a dozen different restaurants with different types of food, some seafood, local, American, French, an so on. Although you can make a reservation for dinner, all lunch and breakfast options are located in the same main dining room, which offers an extremely large buffet-style selection. All-inclusive is awesome because you can order drinks from many of the indoor and outdoor bars, all of them completely free. The swimming experience is unreal. There is a white sand beach with turquoise crystal-clear water. There are hundreds of palm trees and thousands of beach chairs. The water is a warm 75 or 80 degrees on average, and there is vast amounts of open space where you can swim around. If you venture deeper, however, and you bring goggles, you will large schools of fish swimming around in every direction. You can swim to a special spot where there is brain coral housing hundreds of rare tropical fish that look as if they light up! While swimming there, I saw sea turtles, manta rays, hundreds of different kinds of fish, an eel, a sand shark, and a barracuda, all without scuba gear. And if you prefer the pool, there is a massive one with deep ends, small water slides, and a swim up bar. There really is nothing you can't do here! Just don't forget to get your souvenir!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winwawro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Negative

Worst front desk ever - our family spent 4 hours to get a room, front desk personnel (Olinka the worst, Carlos and Elizabeth second) were extremely slow, impolite and not open to any special request, they almost enjoyed telling you all the bad news. Lorena, the manager, hided from us for three hours not offering any solution to our problem with one of the rooms. I noticed she gave us a bad face gesture while we were leaving front desk. Also not easy to get double beds.

They charge $12 USD internet service per computer per day, no exceptions and they seem proud of having this policy and of shouting it in your face if needed. Also they charge $80 MXP (around $7 USD) per item per each room service asked - be very careful! You can avoid these charges if you pay $20 USD more per day per adult for a premium wrist band but prepare to remain at front desk for one more hour if you ask for it.

No special requests for seniors, prepare for long walks to your room, beach and restaurants. Bartenders are very unfriendly and rude and no drinks service on the beach or pool whatsoever.

Theme restaurant hosts have no service skills, they ask for your reservation in a rude manner. Little kids count as adults so be careful to include them in it even if they are not going to eat. Have to wear pants and closed shoes if want to go in except in the oriental restaurant. If you go and change your clothes and arrive after 10pm they won't let you in, even with a reservation. However, they do make you wait for a table many times when you arrive on time for your reservation.

Waiters in restaurants are always dressing tables instead of helping customers, they seem mad all the time.

Room phone never worked. Very few spots available without sunshades. No palapas in the beach.

I had the opportunity to speak with the hotel sub director, she apologized nicely but didn't offered anything in return, just her business card for next visit (it's not going to be me).

We changed hotel for the second part of our holiday to the Moon Palace and the service was really outstanding, we enjoyed it much better and plan to be back in October.

Positive

One of the most beautiful beaches in Riviera Maya, great for seniors. Kid's pool is the best I have been to and the adult's pools is also impressive with lots of hydro therapy showers and jets.

Rooms are nice and comfortable but only two very small pillows per adult.

Conclusion

Worst front desk ever - really bad service - good food - good rooms and pools

Luis Chapa
nuvitam@gmail.com

Room Tip: Ask the hotel beforehand to guarantee you in writing any special request before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are sorry about our reply being delayed as we really appreciate that you have taken some time to write your comments about your experience in our hotel and this comments have been noted and shared with the leaders of every department.
We have been working hard to improve all our opportunity areas in order to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome back soon.

Regards,

Them Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay at the Barcelo Maya Palace. The resort was beautiful and relaxing. We enjoyed the formal restaurants, pool and beach areas, as well as the shows in the evening. We don't have kids, but there was a great pool area for the kids and activities during the day. There was also an adult pool if you like for it to be a little more calm. I preferred lounging in a chair on the beach while listening to the water. We had a great time and I would recommend this resort to others!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1champton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monterrey, mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We took an early vacation trying to avoid the crowds. I found a discount rate at "mi barcelo" and took it. However, next time I should avoid doing that, or go at a very low season. Last year we went in september and had a good location. This year, despite begging for a better room because we had a baby and a senior in our group, and me going three times the first day and the next. we didn't have a good response. I suppose that General Mills employees with perfect health and no babies had priority. We had to walk all the way to the last building every time we needed something from the room. Two more things that can be improved: the fridge in the room never gets the drinks cold, and there's no snack close to the pools. Palace Resorts have a great snack service around the pool, very convenient with kids. leaving that aside, everything is outstanding; the room, the food, cleanliness. A small reef makes the day for the kids, you can feed the fish! We even saw turtles! Of course, reef means rocks. But a short walk will give you a great beach in the Maya Caribe. The tour to the cenote inside the property is good too. They need to improve the playground of Barcy Club, is too small and dated.

Room Tip: The lower the number, the closer to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexicanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality and improving in our areas of opportunity.
We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
19.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,762 reviews
1.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,371 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing