We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I had a room that was far from the pool and they switched it to something closer to the pool the next day and it was great from there on out. They have free kayaking and non motorized stuff you can use as a guest. The jet ski and sailing stuff is right next to the facility too. Great staff and some of the best service I've received. I was there for 5 days on an all inclusive package and I felt like I was ripping them off. All their alcohol was top shelf at the bars, not just local booze. The food was great too. Variety of specialty restaurants to choose from but you need a reservation for those or you can do the buffet which is even better. Oh, and you can go to any of the bars or restaurants at 5 hotels within the Barcelo complex. The nightclub Jaguar was great too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phelinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,065)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Maya Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,456 - 3,462 of 7,065 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

not a great first impression - first time (and last) at this resort. Was hoping for a decent trip considering what we paid for it but we were sadly disappointed. beach is far away from rooms, I mean F A R. restaurants / entertainment distance from hotel room - even further away unless you 'upgrade' for $500 extra. not 5 star at all - hotel beds uncomfortable. sheets cheap and scratchy on skin. bugs bug bugs. rocky beach with no buffers. I had high hopes thinking' you get what u pay for but we unfortunately didn't get good value for what we paid for'. won't be spending our hard earned money here again or wasting precious vacation days.

Room Tip: not 5 star - more like 2 or 3 star
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Clear blue beautiful beach. We stayed here with family and had a great time. Good food something for everyone, wish there was more food choices around the pool and ocean. Like little stands. Drinks were amazing especially the mojitos. I don't have small children so I did love the fact that there was an adult pool set back in a nice secluded spot. It was so relaxing and quiet. It had cabanas you could rent for ten dollars a day. A massage area set up so book yourself a massage. And there is also a bar just for that pool. Nice touch. Really a beautiful place. (a lot of walking, it's big).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel was awesome, as was the service, and the food. We had our entire family with us a total of 10 people and everything was perfect, it is a very beautiful spot. The beach was beautiful and the ground were well kept. The service was amazing, and we really enjoyed the specialty dinners they were outstanding. We all had a great time and it`s hard to beat this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineP0A1E0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Recepción at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Lorraine P0A1E0,

We are grateful for the excellent comment, shared in this important website. From your holiday at Hotel Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. We look forward to host you soon.

Best Regards,

Front Desk Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Barcelo palace property was gorgeous. The staff friendly. A wonderful time had by all!
The advantage of staying at the palace was the more choices of restaurants. When staying at palace you have access to all other hotels on property which is wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was my second time at this resort. It truly is beautiful. Is located on a fantastic stretch of beach. Has 3 great pools. The water temp was perfect every time we swam. The staff were all friendly. Check-in was fairly quick. They did not have rooms for my group the 1st night so put us in family suites. There were 6 of us in 3 rooms. The next day they gave us our correct rooms and then upgraded us to premium club members for the inconvenience. This gave us free Internet and free room service. This resort is extremely clean and well kept. Loved our stay and will definitely return!! Almost forgot....the food is very good. They have specialty restaurants for dinner. You have to make your reservations early. The buffet was always good and had a huge selection of food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsf1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our entire family love this resort. We stayed at the Barceló Maya Palace four years ago and typically for our annual Mexico vacation we try to stay someplace new. However, after vacationing at seven other resorts, we could not find a suitable resort that met all our family needs. We did highly enjoy the Iberostar Lindo and/or Maya, however, the beach at the Barceló Maya Palace is far superior. We booked the club premium second time around, solely for the room location. It is more expensive but when you don't see the ocean that often, room location is vital for me, plus having no wait upon arrival with early check in/check out gives you that extra precious time. We also chose private transfers vs. shared transfers. We booked through USA transfers for $140.00 round trip USD plus tip. Well worth it. Gets you from CUN airport to the Palace in just under one hour. Shared transfers can take up to 2+ hours to get to the resort.

The resort layout is big but very functional. Both the lobby area and restaurants all have the spectacular ocean views. The rooms are fantastic for a family. We choose the king bed that has two day beds for the kids. No arguing on who gets the bed if you request a double bedded room. Size is just big enough for a family of four. Time your showering if you have a teenager. No doors between vanity and shower.

The resort photos are true to the resort. Beach is fantastic with resident sea turtles swimming right up to you. Bring your own snorkel gear. The resort will lend them out but the water sport center is quite a walk from the palace and for limited time use.

Enjoy your trip. Don't hesitate to book the Barceló Maya Palace.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wine151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,428 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,721 reviews
16.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,908 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £168 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Barcelo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing