We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I'm in the middle of my 2nd wonderful stay at the Palace and still amazed by this resort.
The intent of this review is to discredit the whiny few who can only see the negative in what otherwise would be a beautiful time.
I am not employed by this resort nor did I know of its existence more than a year ago.
If you come to the Palace to enjoy yourself and relax you will be amazed as I have. If you come to the Palace to be miserable and disappointed, you will find that too, just as you find it everywhere you go and every day of your sad life.
Bottom line...this is a top notch resort with a lot to offer for your money. The staff here try very hard to make sure you are happy. Sad people can be happy here too, if they try. Anything you try to find bad here you will find at any other resort, if that's what you're looking for.
Compare the number of positive reviews to the negatives. That many happy people can't be lying.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jimnsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,717 - 3,723 of 7,589 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Barceló for 8 nights in July. My parents and children were skeptical, since they are used to cruising and this was their first time staying at an all inclusive. We were not disappointed! The hotel is beautiful with very spacious, clean rooms. The grounds are kept very clean and the pools and beach are spectacular. I could not get my kids 11 and 8 off the beach and/or out of the pool at the end of the day. Food was fair, but I think that was to be expected at an all inclusive resort. We ate at all the restaurants at the Palace and tried a few others at the other Barceló hotels. The French restaurant was our favorite. We celebrated both my husband and my daughters birthdays at this restaurant and the staff made them feel very special. Alli in all, it was a great family trip and we would go back.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the concierge level and got all the dinner reservations when we wanted as well as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcicler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were invited to a wedding at the Barcelo Maya Palace and it was an amazing opportunity to visit the Riviera Maya for the first time. This hotel is huge. The beach is expansive and it's easy to snorkel right off the beach. We saw fish in about 3 feet of water. The rooms are all suites and very large and well appointed. The property is extremely clean and has multiple restaurants, shops and entertainment. There is a spa nearby, as well as a nightclub, however there were plenty of great places to hang out to eat and drink in the main building. The pool was fabulous, with a kid's section, swim up bar and the best seats at the pool were in the water. Check out the pics!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perryberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked this vacation last minute and weren't disappointed. Having stayed in the "hotel zone" in March I was apprehensive about returning to the Yucatan Peninsula but this all-inclusive resort was a lovely place. All of the staff were welcoming and worked hard for us to enjoy our stay. I can completely see how people come to these all-inclusive resorts and just stay put. We chose to rent a van and travelled to Chichen Itza for a day. A fantastic trip for our three kids (14, 14 & 11) and much better than Tulum ruins (apart from the beautiful beach).
We had two rooms a fairly long way away from the Lobby and main building, so there was a fair amount of walking and planning to avoid multiple trips to the room during the day. If you have younger children or walking difficulties you may ask how close you will be to the main Palace. The rooms were comfortable, but a word of warning, they are VERY eco-friendly in this resort and the rooms have sensors to turn AC off when they don't detect motion. If you open your patio door, AC turns off, it's difficult to charge phones, etc if you aren't in the room as the outlets power down. It wasn't a big deal. The mattresses aren't the most comfortable, but we worked on the assumption that they needed to be a material impervious to mold since it's a humid climate. Housekeeping was busy and efficient.
Food in the buffet was great, plenty of variety with many local foods to try prepared fresh for you. The three onsite restaurants were ok. The Brasserie was, by far, the best. The other two were a huge disappointment leading us to choose the buffet on our fourth and final night. One of our sons was actually ill in the Caribbean themed restaurant...we were relieved it was an instant reaction rather than a lingering one (we think it was mussels). All drinking water on site is purified, but bottles of water are plentiful. DO NOT BRUSH teeth with tap water! The staff in all restaurants were friendly, helpful and gracious.
The pools were beautiful, with a pool for every age group. An energetic group of young people were responsible for planning activities for people of all ages to participate in during the days.
The beaches were beautiful, meticulously cleaned and maintained. No shortage of lounge chairs under the shade of the palms. Pretty good snorkeling right off the beach, kayaks, sailboats, etc. available on site.
I could go on and on, but this was truly a wonderful experience and we would certainly return.

BTW - Avis car rental was far superior to Hertz. We still think we paid for a rental we didn't actually get from Hertz.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1968foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had to do it twice...once in July with the kids just before their legal age...then again the following January to celebrate my husbands birthday...This is the best family fun we could have imagined...the food variety is so vast that unless you are a compulsive complainer, you won't find fault...and it's available any time of day or night...fruit baskets decorate the lobby counters and friendly staff are always available to serve the guests. The bar is loaded with premium drinks for those who like the bar...desserts galore including chocolate fountains and a buffet specifically for the children with a lot of their favorite foods...The rooms were kept immaculate and fresh towels were always available...The hotel, bars, pools, entertainment day and night were awesome and the weather, beach and ocean were exceptional...My daughter and her friend went a month ago knowing they would get 'the best that money can buy'...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Palace in August for eight days. The weather was perfect and the area is beautiful. The rooms are nice and comfortable and the pool and grounds of the hotel are pretty and well maintained. There is a dive shop on property and the scuba diving is excellent. If you pay for the premium package at the Palace, you have access to all five of the properties in the resort - meaning you can eat at the buffets, restaurants, use the pools and sample the bars. Some of the reviews mention the quality of the food as being sub-par but it is as good as any all inclusive resort we have stayed at. It can be a problem if you don't make reservations at the restaurants early on but there are quite a few so it wasn't a problem for us. The beaches do have some rocky areas but the beach as a whole is well maintained and as clean and pretty as one would expect. I never had any complaints about the service or staff on our trip as I considered it to be what I expected. The only complaint that I would have is that you feel as though you are contained, much like being on a cruise ship though they do offer tours and excursions off the property at an added price but we did not take advantage of any of them. It's not the best but it's definitely not the worst either.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elpelonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017


Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality about the things you liked and improving in our areas of opportunity as the ones you´ve mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed 3 days at this hotel second week in October for a destination wedding and was initially impressed by the beauty and size of this hotel. The rooms were clean, gorgeous and the view of the ocean was spectacular.The pool and waterpark were absolutely breathtaking.

Unfortunately those were the only positives of this hotel. Right from check in at the club premium which I paid extra for that, we were met by the rudest concierge I have ever met. She didn't crack a smile once nor did she explain any of the features of the resort such as shows, activities or restaurants.Not to mention that I booked a king sized bed and got two doubles instead. She didn't even apologize and just said we are full.

We actually tried to book some of the restaurants as soon as we arrived only to be told that it was completely booked up except for the seafood restaurant which was horrible and had the worst service. The wine list was ridiculously expensive and unjustified. The buffets which you were essentially forced to eat, were packed with low to mid grade fare with very little vegetables.Did I mention that I paid for the Premium Package? It was like eating tacos ten different ways. The fajitas were by far the best thing to eat and the breakfast omelettes were the best for the breakfast time slot. No higher end food like lobsters, crabs,high quality fish or shrimp. The food served at the wedding included rice that smelled like an old rag and some kind of fish.

The beach as I mentioned looks pretty but the rocks,coral, broken shells and odd piece of glass made it a very painful experience to walk on it. The beds sagged and had some kind of bed protector that made lots of noise when you moved and left you feeling clammy.They should have provided a daily list of activities every morning so that people can plan their day.

I paid for premium and got mediocre at best. I do not recommend this place. Go somewhere else!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Clarence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are sorry about our reply being delayed as we really appreciate that you have taken some time to write your comments about your experience in our hotel and this comments have been noted and shared with the leaders of every department.
We have been working hard to improve all our opportunity areas in order to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome back soon.

Regards,

Them Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
19.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,281 reviews
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,556 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £200 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing