We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I visited the palace for the second time in four years. We love the resort. Staff very friendly, rooms and resort property kept very clean. Food and staff amazing. We had a couple of cooler rainy days but we still enjoyed all the resort has to offer. The resort is amazing for all age groups - beach was great - saw sting ray, turtles, many fish when snorkeling. Dolphins are amazing at the resort. Mayan coffee is a must - staff put on amazing show at the Caribbean restaurant,,,,,,all restaurants were wonderful. No complaints....room clean and gorgeous - we ate far too much - drinks yummy - loved the Mud Slides (cocktail) and other cocktails ...would recommend this resort to everyone ......cannot wait to return :) only complaint - bed too hard!

Room Tip: Try choose room over looking beach - we had room over looking the jungle - still great seeing all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJKS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,824
    1,477
    581
    206
    168
See reviews for
3,469
1,460
37
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We just spent the last week at the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe and all I can say is wow.

The rooms were typical for a resort. Except this room was mucho re spacious and very comfortable. The air conditioning always worked and the housekeeping staff was very efficient. The mini bar in the room was always refilled so there was. I shortage of water bottles, soft drinks and beers.

The grounds were huge, as per usual in a resort like this. My room was relatively close to the pool/beach but some of the group had a very long walk( I think they had booked smoking rooms). In any case the consensus was that even in the non smoking rooms, people were smoking on the balconies, so only really heavy smokers would book those rooms. Who smokes indoors anymore anyways?

The food was the most impressive thing at the resort. Having been to many all- inclusive resorts all over the Caribbean, I have experienced many bad restaurants. The good here was excellent. From the breakfast buffet to the a la carte restaurants, every meal was excellent. They didn't do buffet theme nights, like most resorts do so there were tons of options. We had a few vegans in our group and they had no trouble eating. We only ended up eating at the buffet one night since we were able to get a la carte reservations every other night. We had to book them almost right away on the first night. Some of the others weren't so lucky, but they weren't bothered by having to go to the buffet. Some people in our group insist on being served. The hotel was at 97% capacity that week so we were pretty lucky.
When you stay at the Palace Deluxe you have access to all bars and restaurants at the 4 other hotels in the barcelo complex, but not vice versa. The Japanese restaurant at the Tropical one hotel over seemed to be the most popular. We could not get a table there for the duration of our stay. Apparently they are booked 2 weeks in advance. I found that hard to believe since you couldn't book anything before arrival but I digress. Of the 3 a la carte restaurants at the Palace, Caribe the Caribbean seafood restaurant was the least impressive. Rodizio, the Brazilian steakhouse was excellent, and Brasserie, the french restaurant was excellent as well. The service in every restaurant and bar was excellent. The waiters were very friendly and efficient. Drinks were never empty and we never waited for anything. The bartenders were the same way. Even during the day at the pool bar when people don't usually have cash on them they worked hard to keep everyone full. We made a point to go and tip them separately, so we wouldn't forget. Since the lobby bar is one of the only bars open after dinner, it got pretty crowded. There were waitresses that would come and serve you outside of the bar and they were very quick and friendly. The only complaint about food would be the lack of late night options. I have never been to a resort that didn't have a little hot dog/ burger place by the disco. Dinner closes at 1030. They had food available on the lobby bar all day, but it consisted of popcorn, pickles, olives, nuts and cookies. After 1 am, they would put out some less than spectacular pizzas and sandwiches and of course some leftover hot dogs from dinner!

One of the downfalls was the internet. Most people don't need wifi on vacation, but a lot of people in our group did. We were away for a family wedding so the timing wasn't great for all of us. We paid for wifi for the week. It was nonexistent in our room. Maybe once or twice we were able to catch the signal. It was very accessible in the lobby, and a lot of the time you could catch it at the pool/beach. Also, if you are a couple/family you can only have one device connected at a time. On a phone or tablet it would log you out after you locked the device. It would be important to remember if you brought a laptop to log out, otherwise you would have to walk back to your room.

The wedding planner, threw together a gorgeous wedding. One of the nicest I have seen. The food at the wedding was spectacular, better than any other resort wedding dinner I have ever had. Maybe even compared to reception hall weddings at home! The dinner was followed up with open bar and dancing with a dance floor set up on the beach. It was actually amazing.
Some of the group went over to the "disco" . It was pretty typical of a resort disco, and it was not always easy to get drinks, but we had fun anyways!

All in all, the trip was amazing! I usually don't like to visit the same hotel twice, at the same destination, but I would totally return here. And I would definitely book a barcelo hotel in another destination.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetShann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife and I were married here last week and had a group of 20 people stay here at Barcelo Maya Palace. From the beginning we were treated as royalty and felt the staff truly cared about our stay. Aurea was our wedding coordinator and help plan everything, including our wedding site on the beach at sunset. They have 4 resorts right next to each other so there are multiple pools and buffet restaurants with nonstop fun, activities and food. The have a large selection on sit down restaurants for dinner options as well. The beach was great with palm tress for shade and great sites for pictures. Some improvements I would suggest would be to have more night activities and games as well as waitresses on the beach to make access with drinks faster. Additionally the restrooms could smell better and have better AC when walking around the complex.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the beach but our family had rooms right outside the pool which was convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were greeted just outside the airport with English speaking attendants for our safe ride by USA transfer directly to the resort.
We were greeted at the resort by English speaking hostess with sparkling drinks in her hand.

We were early, so we checked in and got some lunch at the buffet and checked out the resort til our rooms were ready.

The staff was very friendly and most could communicate in English...I was able to brush up a little on my Spanish too.

The rooms are a bit of a walk to get to the pool and the beach, but did not seem worth paying the extra cost for pool side premium rooms.

The swim up bar was a lot of fun and a small tip goes a long way...and the same bar faces the beach on the other side.

Decent snorkeling with a few turtles eating grass, 25 hatched one morning and they gather them up for five days before releasing them with a better chance of survival. Snapper, lion fish, schools of permit and bone fish and they let you feed them too...

The restaurants at the Palace are the best. Two nights each at the French and the Brazilian restaurants and one at the Caribe. Reserve early for the Japanese if you want the better tables. Mediterranean restaurant was awesome too...just a short bus ride to the next resort.

A small tip goes a long way, we had extra escargot apps with extra lamb chops at the French, shared the meats at the Brazilian and probably too much Don Julio tequila.

Other resorts within the resort are accessible when you stay at the palace, but they cannot come to the Palace restaurants...we spent one rain day on a pub crawl from one end to the other...starting at the Captain Morgan bar. Trams and buses run every ten to fifteen minutes.

Outside the resort we went to Tulum with a tour guide and did not get to the underwater caves this time, but some are much better than others...do a little research.

Also went with Captain Rick sport fishing on a 31' Bertram and had a great day! Grouper, snapper, yellowtail, wahoo and barracuda! For five bucks they pick you up at the resort and bring you back after the trip.

We let the mates keep the fish since Maya Palace beach deluxe is an all inclusive.

Buffet is okay for breakfast and lunch, you need to learn which foods are a little better...food is not salty like here in the US.

We will be back in two years for a wedding on the beach...you really can relax and lots of things to do...including shows at the theatre every night.

Definitely worth the trip and very safe part of Mexico!

Room Tip: Book directly with the resort and first floor is the best view unless you pay the extra for premium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishman572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This resort is INCREDIBLE!! The rooms were great and spaceous we have 3 children ranging in ages 4-11 and had plenty of room for all of us to sleep comfortably. It had two water parks that my kids loved we were also with a family that has a 13 year old! And the fact the beach was so close was great too. Very easy to go back and forth. There is plenty to do at the resort ie: swim with dolphins, snorkeling, wave runners to name a few. The pools and beach were wonderful, clean and service was incredible. My only complaint would be sunscreen was WAY overpriced $32 for a can!!! So bring plenty of your own! Other than that the food was excellent plenty of choices for you and kids, room nice and resort was BEAUTIFUL. I would definatley stay again!! Just book a return flight home in afternoon resort is about 1 1/2 hour away from airport so we had to get up at 2:30am to catch a 6:10am flight. The staff at that hour was very rude also. You have to bring your wrist bands, room key and towel keys with you when you check out. At 2:30am with 3 kids and one of them is 4 and after spending a a significant amount of money you do not want to deal with rude staff at that hour. But he was the only I encountered during our entire 9 day stay that was rude.
Overall it was a wonderful memorable experience that my family and friends will always remember!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our stay was 11/12/13-11/20/13. Even with the first 3 days of an 8 day stay were rainy, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Went with 4 kiddos ranging in age from 4-13 and all had a great time. Plenty to do, including just relaxing. The staff in general was very pleasant and attentive, with a few exceptions. We tipped for almost all services, $1, which seemed to be expected, but appreciated for the most part.
TIPS: Air conditioning cuts off when the sliding door is ajar. Checkout requires all wristbands, towel cards and room keys. This was explained to my girlfriend and her family, but not to our family, which became a source of frustration at 02:30 a.m., during our check-out time. One of the only rude staff members works the front desk on this shift and takes some sort of pleasure making the check-out process difficult and threatens to bill $5 for each door card not returned. At that time, my husband had to run back to the room to retrieve the door key so that we wouldn't miss our flight. American dollars ATM was down the entire time. Did not find an ATM that accepted Discover CC, for cash withdraw, however, the hotel did take it for payment. Onsite vendors were outrageously priced on some items, ex: $32 for sunscreen, but t-shirts were $12, floss was $8...? Like mentioned in other reviews, floors can be extremely slick when your feet are wet from the pool/rain/etc. Both my girlfriend and I slipped and fell.
These are some of the downfalls of the trip, told on this site so that you can avoid them yourself and save a little frustration. Overall, it was a wonderful, beautiful and relaxing place to stay!!

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms 8170 & 8172, on the third floor. We had requested through Funjet, to get rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Traveled in November 2013 with my Mom and sister to this beautiful resort! I can't say enough about the impeccable service, great food, and beautifully kept property. Definitely upgrade to the Premium Club if you can afford it. The extra amenities are worth it! If you want a room with quiet, ask for ocean view in the building furthest from the pools. I would recommend traveling in the Spring or Summer as we had lots of clouds and rain during our stay. A side excursion to Tulum was very educational and a great half day tour to go outside of the property. I would definitely return!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribbeanqueen22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,431 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,592 reviews
19.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,040 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Barcelo, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing