We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much needed break from winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Arrived Fri. Feb 13. everything went very smoothly from landing to the resort.

Got to check in desk a little early so we were asked to come back in an hour or so,
not a big deal as we checked out the lobby bar and views from the complex.
Back at 3, told room almost done but were given keys as to not wait anymore.
Walk slowly towards room found it done as we got there. Room was a good size,
well furnished. Not showing any signs of aging. Having stayed at the Barcelo
before we called and asked for the topper to be put on first thing. The fridge was
not very cold asked to be checked or replaced. It was promptly.

The food and service was very good at the ala cartes ( Brazilian and French) no problems
getting tables or times. Buffets were good as well

The beach is huge and clean although some spots very rocky.
Actually had a couple of sea turtles come up near us in shallow water, very cool.
Pool ares are big and clean

Staff were all very friendly and always seemed to be doing something
Wait staff in the buffets always greeted us with a smile and promptly offered water
or cleared our plates.
Bartenders at all bars very good from poolside to lobbies.

Enjoyed a break from the long winter we are in.
Weather was ideal 8 days of sun without rain
Would consider returning next year as well

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Mr. Terry M.

We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one; we are glad to know that we have achieved our purpose and will be happy to assist you soon.

Regards,

Armando Becerra
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,731 - 3,737 of 7,808 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

You're looking for a vacation and don't have a lot of time to plan so I'll keep it simple. If you're going to an all inclusive, it's not ever going to really be 5 star but, this is as close as I've seen.

Staff
Very helpful and courteous. I would highly recommend asking for Adrian at the French restaurant as your waiter. He's great!

Grounds
Gorgeous- expect a lot of walking. The hotel is three floors but long from one end to another

Beach
Beautiful but has some rocks. If you bring a banana out with you, fish and turtles will surround you. plenty of chairs. Also, you have access to all the other hotels if you like. It's a nice walk between beaches.

Pool-
big, rarely seemed crowded. One nice feature is that the pool and beach are close to each other so you can be at the pool and see the beach.

Bars
They have corona and modelo. much better than Sol or Dosequis. Mid range booze and they will make them stronger if you like.

Rooms
Beds are ridiculously hard but the rooms are clean and well appointed. Room was a bit musty but you adapt in a day.

Food
Overall good. The buffet is a buffet and the steak and burgers are not the same as you get in the US. I haven't seen too many pastures in Mexico so you should expect different quality beef.

French restaurant- the best meal and dining experience we had. Adrian was great and the steak was excellent. we went twice and ordered something different each tome we were there. There were five of us and we all loved each meal we had. We also felt the most full after leaving there despite the meals not being huge.

Seafood restaurant.Very good. Ask for the coffee on fire if you want a show. It's very sweet though.

Japanese restaurant Overrated- steak was dry and it is not cooked in front of you. Those who had sushi really enjoyed it.

Distance
About 1 hour and 15 minutes from Cancun airport.

Overall a great hotel and my family is already ready to return. We just got home three days ago.

Room Tip: Try to get as close to the beach as possible. Less walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mass-Dave66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mass-Dave66,

We would like to acknowledge the time you took to send us your comments, which we have reviewed carefully with our staff. It would be a pleasure to host you in the future.

Best regards,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were at the Barcelo for a 5 day getaway. We were supposed to say at the Tropicana but we got a free upgrade to the Palace. We did end up in the furthest building at the back but the walk to and from is through a nice wide courtyard and was very pleasant. The grounds of the resort are beautiful and clean. Our room was spacious with a king-sized bed. The bathroom was also large with two sinks, two showers (rain shower and hand held) as well as a tub. Lots of hangers in the two closets (a pet peeve is not enough hangers). The landscaping is done such that the balconies do not look into our people's rooms. I thought the food was fine. We had breakfast in the buffet, lunch in the snack bar, dinner at the Rodizio, Caribe and Brasserie. Liked the Brasserie the best but followed closely by the Caribe which had my favorite dessert (hot fondant with ice cream). The buffets are waterfront and have a lovely view. I used the Palace gym and tennis courts. Both in good shape. A person in our group did tell me though that quite a few of the machines at the gym by the Colonial were not working. The mini golf is fully shaded and was fun.The pitch and putt was closed the time I came by or I would have tried it. I also tried the water bikes (just like pedal boats) and the kayaks. Friends took out the catamarans. I liked having the free water activities. The pools and the beach was beautiful and you can swim without water shoes. Lots of people were snorkeling but I did not try it. While many people put out towels on chairs early in the morning to reserve them, we did not and never had a problem getting a lounge chair. We enjoyed many pleasant evenings on the balcony just outside the lobby bar. The circus show was fine but we could have passed on the Divas show as we did not know most of the songs (except for the Adele songs which got the most applause). We did not have any service issues during our stay. The only negative thing was the bed and pillows. They were not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Ms. Cathy W.

Every day our team strives to provide the best service and facilities to our guests and we are glad to know that you had a perfect stay except for the bed and pillows that were not of your liking.

Cordial greetings,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel had great beaches, lots of chairs no Need to save one at the crack of Dawn. Hammocks by the pool, nice pool seating, plenty of it. Food was great- would have like more Mexican choices- a little too Americanized food choices. Service was great, restaurants were good, hate that you have to book them so far in advance to be sure you get a table. Swimming with dolphins right at hotel- was awesome, very well run. Lots of water sports right at hotel, great snorkeling right off beach. If they had comfortable beds and dressers to put your clothes I would rate as a 5. Beds are a bit hard and lumpy. Only two small drawers in the whole room- but other than that I would return (and plan to) here for sure. Nightly entertainment and did I say how great the service was.... Really well run and beautiful hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 325LindaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear 325Linda W.

As you mention the hotel has lots to do and there is always something for everyone.
Thank you for your comments and suggestions.

Regards,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is our second visit to the resort and we still love it for all of the reasons we did the first time: It’s high end, kid friendly, classy, the food is great, the property is lovely. We have visited many resorts along the Mayan Riviera and all inclusives in other places in the Carribean but this one is just our favorite. It isn’t perfect. None of the ones I have visited have been.

I have a few suggestions (and some tips at the end) for the Barcelo, and as a Top Contributor in Tripadvisor I hope they will take heed:

Rooms: Lovely rooms, very clean. Have a direct way to make housekeeping requests – there is no phone button and messages don’t seem to be relayed from guest Services. We had to be very proactive. The quality of the linens and mattresses is inexcusable. Yes, they can put the feather bed on the top, but it should be standard. Have washable duvet covers, pillow tops, and a higher quality waterproof mattress cover – it’s like sleeping on plastic with the ones they have.

Lastly, the book in the room providing resort information is terribly out of date. Wrong times, places, policies.

Ecofriendly: Just wanted to appreciate them on this, especially the no plastic throw-away cups. Recycling, linen use, etc. Love the new toiletry dispensers instead of bottles for some things.

Food: Always wonderful. Have someone making pancakes and waffles to order at breakfast. Have the Mexican side of the buffet open first sometimes, for those of us with kids, eating lunch at 1:30 or dinner at 7 is too late so we miss out on that side. Alternating between lunch and dinner opening first would be great.

Shuttle: The shuttle is hot, stinky, slow, and just doesn’t fir the resort. Seriously, a big smelly tractor with hot broken metal seats? All bouncing along, no place for stroller, loud music. Totally incongruous with the rooms.

Tips:

Check out the minigolf – it’s waaaay over in next to the lobby at the Caribe resort. It’s in the jungle with fun rock elements – nothing too fancy but it’s nice and shady. You can get drinks from the Caribe lobby and it’s right next to it in the forest. But you can either walk along the coast, or if you want shade, you can walk along the middle of the back of the room blocks, a covered walkway goes along most of the way.

If you have kids, bring along a few swim floats – they are great for the many pools. Also, be sure to check out the water park at the next resort over, it’s very nice and fun to have more variety by visiting two. There is also a splash park fountain to play in way down at another kids park along the coast walk.

If you have kids or get hungry bring along some gladware containers and grab a muffin or fruits or whatever you like for snacks. Our kis eat breakfast at 7 and 12:30 is a loooong time away – the snackbar is open but we are way too busy to get dressed and walk all of the way over there.

If you have small kids all of the restaurants are very child friendly, especially for the early bookings.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank trientalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear trientalis

First of all receive our greetings from Riviera Maya and thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for your preference! It will be a pleasure to host in the future!..

Have a wonderful day.
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The resort was beautiful, well maintained and the service was excellent. The beds were unusually hard and uncomfortable. Unfortunately I had no hot water for 2 nights which I understand happens. I was told by the front desk that I was not the only room with an issue. What was disappointing is the way I was treated by Armando Becerra Montiel, the General Manager. He did little to resolve the frustration I experienced. Beware of this resort resolving any issues that may arise on your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mr. Gary,

I very much regret that you have taken a bad impression of our service; although unfortunately I did not have the pleasure of meeting you, please accept a sincere apology for any problem during your stay. I know you are going to visit us soon, therefore it will be a pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We got told to stay at this resort and we gave it a try in January 2014. The positives are its a nice resort but huge as their are 5 resorts in one. Excellent choices in beverages you can choose from and the food is very good.

The negatives for me are as follows
1) The beds are brutal. You sleep (try too) on plywood as they are very hard and uncomfortable
2) The ocean is great but you got to watch where you walk as its full of sting rays
3) Access to food after 10 pm is poor! They do have room service but its an extra cost.
4) Nightly entertainment is poor and after supper you are better off going to bed
5) The pool is way to cold to swim in. Its a beautiful pool area but you freeze!

Overall its a nice resort but not what I am looking for in a all inclusive resort holiday. Chances are I will not go back, just my personal opinion!

Room Tip: Bring a air mattress as the beds are awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bent13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Bent13

We regret that you have taken a bad image of service; generally we receive very good comments however your feedback is very important to us, as it help us to constantly improve.

Best Regards from Riviera Maya
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
19.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,374 reviews
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
5,019 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,649 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £217 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing