We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time for the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Wonderful Property. Food was good. The pool is great and the beach is beautiful. The Staff was great and very responsive. We stayed for 6 nights had an overall great time. The only knock I had was the very hard bed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob_hoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Rob_hoops,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is very much appreciated.

Best regards,

Customer Service
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,233 - 3,239 of 7,429 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

If you got a deal good for you. Don't purchase the premium package it's a ripoff. The service sucks they have no beach bar. No service attendants on the beach n pool service is slow. I give this hotel a thumbs down.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Ms. Martin G.

It is unfortunate to know that we do not cover your expectations, please accept an apology for any inconvenience caused. We usually have very good comments, however we will continue working.

Regards,

Customer Service
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Customer service was terrible at all of the hotel bars, with the exception of our private bar at the wedding reception.

We attended a family vacation and wedding for 58 destination guests. The property was laid out perfect and the selection of things to do and the beaches were absolutely fantastic. Some of the best I've seen in mexico, and I have traveled to the area more than 6 times in the last 3 years!

Here is my personal breakdown....
Room Accommodations - Average

Room Service - Below Average, if you don't purchase the premium package, you will pay for room service and some resort perks that you assume to be included. That was very annoying.

Food Selection - Great! Although, the buffet is touch & go on items. Some things are good and others literally have no flavor. At all.

Pools - Awesome! Every single pool had things to do and were clean and beautiful.

Family Friendly - Above Average! I have only been to 2 resorts in Mexico that were not adults only, and this one by far takes it!

Check In/Check out - Below Average. This process was EXTREMELY slow and at a time that is was not that busy. No one at the desk was super friendly and when we asked for upgrades we were simply told "no," which I didn't understand.

Adult Beverages - Above Average! I don't think that I had a bad one, and I strongly suggest the Sangrita Shot with Tequila! Our wedding party seemed to enjoy that way to take Tequila Shots!

Towels - Below Average. This may not matter to most people, but I am a towel snob, espeically when it comes to beach towels. I just thought the towel card thing was a little weird and you can only get one at a time with each card, and the quality of their towels was poor.

Hotel Layout - Great! But super lengthy. It takes you a good 20 minutes to get from one side to the other and is frustrating when you're in a hurry to get to the front of the property. Make sure that you walk the property the first day, otherwise, you'll get lost every time you try to leave your room. We had several people in our party that got lost for 30-45 minutes trying to figure out their way to the front of the hotel. It was however, ideal for us being there with 58 wedding guests. We weren't forced to hang out with anyone. I know there are plenty of people who like that!

Overall, we had a fantastic time. It was one of my favorite trips to Mexico and I would absolutely return again. I would also recommend the resort to anyone looking for a family friendly place, with plenty of adult activities and an awesome beach.

TIP: Tipping the wait staff anywhere, won't get you far. Several times we were tipping with $5 bills and that didn't get us any better service. You might as well save your cash!

Room Tip: Check out the Sea Turtles in the water & make sure to upgrade to the Premier Package before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Lauren A,

Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe appreciates the time that you.haven taken to send us your
positive comments and observations as they help us not only to maintain but to improve our services. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed you stayy!!

Sincerely,

Customer Service
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, awesome pools, and a beautiful view. All you can drink alcohol is a bonus. The seafood restaurant was great. Try the Flaming Mayan coffee was the bomb.

Mattresses are like a rock and everyone in our wedding party got sick.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear John V,

In fact, the hotel has many attractions and there is always something for everyone. Regarding the comment of hard mattresses, although we have softeners to place on the beds, we are changing the mattresses but the comment that most concerns us is that some people got sick, as this is a very serious situation and during your stay we had no information about it. We offer you a sincere apology for any problem caused during your stay.

Best regards,
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We really enjoyed the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. We booked transportation from the airport from USA Transfers. We had our own private vehicle and they did not stop at any other hotel along the way. It was about an hour drive and cost $135 round trip (tips not included). I do recommend upgrading to a Junior Club Premium room. This was nice as we got to skip the long check in line and go to our own private check in room. You also get 10% off at the gift shop and other hotel discounts. The room is right off the beach and very close to the pool, but we could not hear any pool noise at all. My daughter and I booked a pedicure at the spa. The spa is about a 5-8 minute walk down to the other hotel. The pedicure was nice. The rooms were comfortable and large. I do wish the bathroom had a better design. There is a bathtub and walk in shower, but no separate door on the shower, so one person could not use the shower and the toilet or sink at the same time. The beds were not the most comfortable, but we were so tired every night, they did not really bother us. Our kids, ages 12 and 10 had so much fun in the pool and the beach. We had geat snorkeling off the beach right at the hotel. We bought snorkeling gear at the hotel gift shop. We walked across the highway (about a 20 minute walk) to Kantun Chi, an ecopark and spent about 4 hours there one day. This was the highlight of our trip for the kids. They loved it. The food at the hotel was really good. I have always been skeptical of an all inclusive and have never stayed at an all inclusive hotel. It far exceeded my expectations. The buffets were great. The reservation restaurants were excellent. We ate at all of the restuarants and enjoyed all of them. The service was very good. I definitely recommend getting reservations and the restaurants instead of eating the buffet every time. Overall we had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Junior Suite Club Premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Carin A,

Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. We are happy to have exceeded your expectations and it would be a pleasure to host you in the future.

Best regards,

Customer Service
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We're recently back from a six night stay at the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. Overall it was a great experience.

CHECK IN
Yes, check in was slower than it needed to be. I'm not sure why I have to fill out name and address cards when that information is already in their reservation system. But other necessary things do take time (passport copies, all inclusive bracelets, general information), so don't expect to breeze through. There's room for improvement, so overall I would rate 6/10.

ROOMS
The resort itself is beautiful.The rooms and the grounds were immaculate. The rooms were spacious, spotless and quiet. But the beds were surprisingly uncomfortable for a resort of this caliber. The majority of the rooms are quite a distance from the Palace restaurants/lobby/theater, so expect to do a lot of walking.There is a shuttle bus (really a tractor and a cart), but it's never there when you need it and who wants to wait. On the plus side, our room was half way between the Palace restaurants and the neighboring pools/restaurants (Barcelo Tropical), so we bounced back and forth between the two properties. The stocked mini fridge was a nice concept, but never got cold (but there were ice machines) WIFI was not available in our room, even if we were to pay for it. Overall 8/10.

BEACH
The beach was amazing, with crystal clear water and all sorts of marine life to see right off the beach (tropical fish, sea turtles, rays). Bring your own snorkeling equipment unless you want to walk 10 minutes to the rental hut to borrow some for an hour. Empty chairs were always available. Appreciated was the absence of locals trying to sell you souvenirs while you are trying to relax on the beach. Odd thing about the beach though was that it was concrete covered by an inch or so of sand up to about 5 feet from the water's edge. So there was none of the aaaah! sinking-into-the-sand feeling when you stepped onto the beach. Points off for the concrete, but points added for no vendors. Overall 8/10

POOL
The pool was immense, gorgeous and also crystal clean. One of the largest pools I have ever seen. And it never seemed crowded. Swim up bar was very nice. Empty pool chairs almost impossible to find since everyone would claim them with their towels in the morning (a problem more with people than with the resort). Some have complained that food was not allowed around the pool area, but I think this kept things cleaner. Unfortunately a pool in the Mexican July sun is more like a bath, so not very refreshing. Kiddie pool area is great too for toddlers through maybe age 12. Overall 9/10

FOOD
I think no matter how good the food is at an all inclusive, you're bound to get bored of eating the same meals (more or less) for 6 or 7 days in a row. The buffets were good, with a large variety, but became boring after a while. As others have mentioned, the "two" buffets are really one since they are joined. The A/C in the restaurants really did not work that well, so all meals were disappointingly sweaty.The a la carte restaurants were hard to book, but we had enjoyable meals at the Steak house and the seafood restaurant (the views from the outdoor patios were fantastic). Contributing to the monotony was the fact that the a la carte restaurants were all in the same building, with one door to the Steak restaurant, another door to the French restaurant, etc., almost like a catering hall with different rooms. Our favorite meal was lunch everyday, at the buffet in the neighboring Barcelo Tropical right on the beach. Beautiful views, fresh quesadillas and cold coronas. Points off for monotony and lack of A/C.. Overall 6/10

SHOWS
We weren't too interested in the shows. Saw a few because our kids wanted to. Start time is late for families with younger kids - 9:30, even though some shows were targeted at them. Of the three shows we saw, two were better than expected, one worse. Note Palace Theater is air conditioned, Tropical theater is open (Mexico in July is hot and humid).

ACTIVITIES
We were more interested in the beach and pool and relaxing, so didn't pursue any group activities. There seem to be lots of options, but it seemed like you had to seek them out, as they were not well advertised.

SERVICE
The service was outstanding. All levels of staff were happy to help with whatever you needed. Bartenders and Waitstaff hustled and every request was met with a smile. Overall 10/10.

The Palace Deluxe had a great family vibe and never felt congested. The neighboring Tropical seemed to be a little less family friendly (more drunken twenty somethings) and a little more congested. Overall the Palace Deluxe was a beautiful resort, immaculately maintained, with an exceptional beach and pool, with above average food. We plan to go back someday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PuckyHuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear PuckyHuddle
Thank you for staying at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, sharing your positive feedback. It is great pleasure to read, that you enjoyed time spent with us and would definitely return back one day.

Best Regards From Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked this to attend a wedding and is not the type of place we would normally go and now we know why

The resort is about 1 1/2 hour from Cancun airport, mainly because they drop off at other resorts if you book the transpiration option.

Upon arrival we were taken to the Premium Club, which is an extra fee, to check in. It took us over 30 minutes to check in as they only had one person working in the room. We had traveled with others who checked in the regular check in and it took them longer than us. Probably the worst process I have ever experienced, but at least we were in AC where the others were in the outdoor lobby sweating.

We then tried to book dinner for that night and were told all the restaurants were already booked and we should book early, yet we were supposed to have Priority as part of the club and we had just arrived so could not have done earlier.

There are two buildings as part of this resort, which is actually part of a bigger resort. They are quite far from the lobby, restaurants etc... Rooms themselves are large and have a lot of closet space. Not much as far as amenities, in room, however. Except for a mini bar fridge that had sodas and water and two beers as well as few low level snacks, bag of chips etc...

The Premium Club rooms are the same as the other rooms but located in building right in front of pool or Beach Walk. Our room was convenient as we were on 1st floor so we could walk out of patio to the pool.

The pool is very large, but in desperate need of good cleaning as there is mold all around the tile area. There is an adult pool, which is very nice and it has a great bar and bar tender. All the bars by the pool and other areas close at 7 pm and the only one open after that is Lobby Bar.

We ate at the French and Mexican restaurants as well as the buffet. They require long pants for men, which is really strange as it is 90 plus every day and many people were turned away with Nice Shorts that looked great, while people with Jeans or Sweat Pants were allowed in. Both sit down restaurants were decent but no where you would want to go back to. The service is incredibly slow as they way understaff those areas. Plan on 2+ hours for dinner at any of those.

The buffet was very good for breakfast and just average for Lunch and Dinner. Mostly fried foods or cheap cuts of meat and fish. Again, here they had a ton of staff and each "waiter" basically had a 5 to 6 tables, where the nice restaurants these poor waiters and 15 or more tables to attend to which meant food came cold on very hot plates that had obviously been sitting under lamps.

Lastly on the food. There is no restaurants open after 10 pm. The lobby bar has pop corn, nuts and occasional sandwiches or pizza. And you can not have any food out side. Want a taco or quac by the pool and they charge you for that and do not let you take anything from restaurant. I do not see this as all inclusive.

If you plan on doing the pool, you need to get up early if you want a seat. They say not lounger saving, but by 8:30 most had towels strewn on them, that in most cases sat almost all day until people got back from excisions. Picture attached is at 8:00 am.

The bar tenders are good and work hard. If you want specific alcohol, ask for it as they poor the baseline if you don't and not all liquor is displayed. For example you can get Don Julio tequila if you know to ask for it. Also, the only beer they have is Corona and Modelo drafts, no cans or bottled beer anywhere.

The beach is beautiful and we swam close to sea turtles on numerous occasions. They only have one spot to rent equipment, etc... and it is about a 10 minute walk to that spot. Snorkel equipment is only free for one hour each day and they push to sell you a 2 hour or longer tour.

While checkout was much easier, the ride to the airport took two hours due to stops at other resorts.

The wedding was well done and the dinner that night, for 50 of us was very good and best meal we had.

Bottom line is that with all the resorts in the area, I am not sure why you would every choose this one, unless it is just so much cheaper and you just want to lay by pool and drink.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the buildings close to lobby. Make sure to book restaurants as soon as you arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tackitikihut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Tackitikihut,

We have carefully read each of your comments and although you mention that this is not the kind of place you would normally visit, thank you for the opportunity you gave us to attend a wedding in Barceló Maya Palace. We are very sorry that our hotel was not to your liking.

Daily our staff strives to provide high quality service and offer the best facilities, however continue to work in order to achieve the satisfaction of each of our guests that we have the pleasure of attending daily.

Please accept an apology for any inconvenience caused and can be sure that your comments are very important to us; we appreciate your time.

Best Regards,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
19.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,507 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £202 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing