We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have visited this property 5 times. We started out at the Colonial Beach, and made our way up to the palace. This hotel is extremely clean, all of the staff are very polite and accommodating, and the grounds are beautiful. The food is always fresh and high quality. There is always something different at the buffet each day; and no matter what time of day, you can always get a bite to eat.
Ther are plenty of free activities to do on the property, from daily planned activities, to miniature golf, tennis, and various water sports. I'd toy stay at the palace, you can use all of the property amenities. There are plenty of chairs at the beach and pools, with plenty of shaded spots. You can spend a good portion of your day just wandering around the property.
If you need gifts, there are gift shops at each hotel, plus a marketplace where they hold fiestas with live bands, games, dancing, and street vendors.
The hotel offers an adults-only pool, but has activities for all ages. I would (and have) recommend(ed) this hotel to everyone.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Wendy G

Thank you for your preference! It will be a pleasure to see you en Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe on your next vacations.

Best Regards
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,660
    1,412
    559
    190
    164
See reviews for
3,281
1,412
35
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have recently returned from a group family trip. Although there were some very nice things about this resort, what will linger in my memories of this trip is the poor, very frustrating customer service.
Confirming the hotel booked pick up and drop off to/from the airport is a series of tasks that left us worried up to the last minute.
The check in process is insane! It is quite lengthy. We booked 2 rooms, ours, and our children. They were forced to checkin in a different part of the hotel, and their room was in a different building.
The rooms are spacious, however, we booked king bed accommodations and were given 2 full size beds. After waiting 9 months for our trip, my husband and I didn't get to sleep in the same bed!
There were dozens of people in the lobby area complaining about their rooms, with confirmations to back their claims.
We could never get anyone on the phone, and that "be back in 10 minutes" sign at the help desk is there all day.
We were told we could book our reservations for the restaurants at the beginning of the stay, however when we tried to book on the first day, we were told they were completely filled for the entire week. We went down to one of the restaurants and found it completely empty. Subsequently, we paid the Host 20 pesos each day to get a reservation.

The pools are beautiful. The drinks are good. Wifi is spotty.
They have several tours that are amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Recepción at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Judy M,

Please accept our most and sincere apology, your review has now analyzed with the entire management of every area, our main goal is to achieve satisfaction in all of our customers. So we must correct on our mistake. We do hope that not having what is always based on the availability of the hotel.

We do hope you can give us an oportunity host you once again, in the near future.

Warm regards,

Jose Luis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We just came back from Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. We actually combined Iberostar Cancun and this place, a total of 9 nights trip. There were good/bad about this resort.

Pros:

*Beach - Absolutely fantastic. It was beautiful and we had a great time there.
*Resort - Beautiful architecture and nice buildings.
*Food - It was pretty good especially dinner.
*Room - It was very modern, nice and clean.
*Spa - I had manicure/pedicure and massage done there and the service was very nice and the spa was pretty nice and clean.
*Premium club check-in/check-out - It was nice that we didn't have to wait in line to check-in and check-out

Cons:

*Seats - There were so many seats by the pool, but none was under the shade. Nobody was using them and totally wasted. Like any other resorts, we had to wake up early to reserve our seats under the shade by the pool/beach.
*No food or alcohol allowed on the beach - Apparently, it was against the law and no alcohol and food was served on the beach. There was no restaurant or grill on the beach that we could go to for lunch so having lunch every day was a huge issue for us since our kids were always dump and wet from swimming. We couldn't go back to the room and get changed so that we could go have lunch inside.
*Language - A very few people spoke English there, especially the kids club staff. It was extremely hard to communicate with them especially our son has tree nut allergy that we had to be extremely cautious about.
*Size of the resort - Like any other reviewers mentioned, it was a huge resort! I personally had to walk 10 minutes under the sun to get to the spa and it was just unbearable walking under the heat! Expect to walk a lot at this resort!
*Service - Despite the fact that we were tipping everybody, the servers there seemed to be serving Spanish speaking customers before us at the restaurants, bars and stores. Made us wonder why and it was quite annoying. In addition, no server came to take an order for drinks. We kept going back to the bar on our own.
*Night shows - Their shows were ok, mainly spoken in Spanish the whole time and we had no idea what they were really saying unlike Iberostar.
*Pool - The temp of the pool water was way too high and it wasn't refreshing at all.
*Entertainment - They had pool tables and ping-pong tables, but we had to walk so far to get the rackets/cue and the balls. It kind of defeated the purpose of having those tables right next to the pool if we couldn't really play.
*Wifi – We were supposed to get free wifi (one person/device at a time), but it was always a huge challenge to connect to internet. Consider there is no wifi here at this resort.
*Bed lines – Absolutely horrible. They were as hard as plastic, not sure how many thread counts those sheets had. Also the pillows they had were so HARD and we slept so badly due to that reason.
*Kids club – No fun and extremely dirty. They had no fun activities organized and the staff there didn’t speak a word of English. Our kids hated going there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Rebecca R
We regret that you have taken a bad image of service; generally we received very good comments however your feedback is very important to us, as it help us to constantly improve. We hope to see you in Barceló to give you the best service.

Best Regards from Riviera Maya
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkdale, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I cannot understand any of the negative comments that I have read regarding this hotel. It is beautiful, clean, has amazing food and a friendly staff. Everyone, from maintenance workers to management, offered us a cheery "hola" at every encounter.
The beach is beautiful and offers great snorkeling. We saw sea turtle, rays, reef fish and even a couple barracudas. Bring your own mask and snorkle; you won't need flippers. They just stir up the sand and decrease visibility. Remember not to touch or stand on the coral.
All of the specialy restaurants are wonderful, but I have to single out the Mexican restaraunt for exceptional service. My companions and I found ourselves at the wrong resort (the property is huge) and asked the hostess at hand to call the restaurant to explain that we would be late for our 7 pm reservation. Not only did she escort us to the front of the lobby, the manager of the Mexican restaurant showed up in a golf cart to escort us to his dining room. We earned the nickname "Las Perdidas (the lost women)" for that episode. We also appreciated the great, personable service from Irving at Caribe and Marcelino at Rodizio (hola Payaso!).
I feel bad for the people that had a negative experience at this resort as they must have missed all of the good stuff.

Room Tip: If you value your sllep, ask for a room with no families with children close by. Kids are often uns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaO714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear LisaO714.
First of all receive our greetings from Riviera Maya and thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor.
Our main goal is that all our guests have a pleasant stay and a happy return home; we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your vacation.
Thank you for your preference! It will be a pleasure to host in the future!..

Best Regards
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We've been going to this area since the only hotels were the Americana and the Casa Maya. We love the people, the weather and the food and activities. We've gravitated down to Cozumel and Playa del Carmen and now we stay at the Barcelo Maya Palace all the time. The resort is huge with four major hotels on it. Each has its own restaurants which are always "nice". The menus are good but the food is not first class. The best restaurants are at the palace and we typically eat at the French and the seafood ones about four out of the seven nights. The rooms are large and comfortable. The service is always good (you do need to be nice to people). The food at the buffets can range from outstanding to mediocre but I've never had a problem enjoying our meals. Especially breakfast. There is a pier and a dive shop so you can take scuba trips, snorkeling trips or just cruises without taking cabs. There is a nice dolphin encounter. There is great snorkeling on the reefs right off the beach. You truly don't need to leave the resort. I would highly recommend Tuluum, Xel-ha, scuba lessons, a trip to Playa and the boat to Cozumel. There is plenty to do here for kids and all ages. It isn't really a "hot" fast paced place. It's just a real nice destination for travelers who want to relax in a very comfortable place for a week or so.

Room Tip: You need to upgrade to club premium to get a select room. We always do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barrydj9022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Barrydj9022

First of all receive our greetings from Riviera Maya, Thank you for your preference! It will be a pleasure to see you en Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe on your next vacations.

Best Regards
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay and we loved everything except the check in/out. It was very unprofessional and took forever!!!!! Rooms were great, very clean, comfortable beds, enough space for a big family. Buffets and restaurants were very good at the palace, Kyoto was excellent, spanish and Capri not so good. Beach was perfect!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Recepción at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear belovita,

Thank you for have taken some of your time, and given us your comments about your recent stay, all comments mention have been taken and have analyzed discussed with our staff, I can assure you that we are working on them, we do hope you give us the opportunity to show you the kind of service you deserve.


Best Regards,

Jose Luis Serratos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

After reading the reviews before we came I was worried - however I did not see anything to justify the negative comments made by others.
Check in was smooth and quick and we were given a drink (strange melon bellini) as we checked in and offered bottled water.
The room was just amazing - they had really thought of everything. The mini bar had coca cola, sprite, fanta, corona, orange juice and iced tea - this is all included and replenished daily. The bathroom had a bath, separate walk in shower, two sinks and separate toilet and ample towels as well as toiletries and a decent hairdryer. I did not find the bed too hard but that could be personal preference - I wouldn't worry about it though. There were scales, bathrobes, slippers. Plenty of wardrobe space, a double suitcase ledge thing for unpacking. Seating area and lovely balcony. I really don't think they could have made the rooms any better.
The hotel grounds and beach are immaculate and they are constantly working to maintain and clean them - even down to replacing missing tiles in the pool.
Pool is just amazing and oddly the water was warm in August but still lovely and refreshing. The swim up pool bar was fantastic - and did not smell like some reviews suggested. It must've been clean too because it was not swarming in flies and wasps.The pool bar really made our holiday. The pool also has loungers in the water. We never struggled to find a sun bed although some people did reserve them. They also give fresh towels everyday so did not end up using our own. Only slight criticism is there is not much shade so if travelling with young children it may be worth bringing an umbrella for the beach. It was easy to burn in the pool so would suggest the swimming costumes for children that really cover them up and plenty of reapplying of the sun-cream.
The beach was stunning with plenty of loungers. Take snorkelling gear as there are lots of tropical fish and sea turtles (Outside coco bar and at about shoulder height).
Food was what you expect from a buffet abroad really but things like steak, pasta, kebabs all cooked in front of you when you choose them. We went to the French and Brazilian restaurants and they were brilliant. I could not fault the food or drinks or service. The staff could not do enough for us.The beer on tap is corona but being in the Palace we got top shelf spirits. The soft drinks were coca cola etc not own brand.
We did walk down to the other hotels in the complex all seemed really nice. Looked like there was loads for kids to do too with kids clubs, tennis, football, chess, pool, waterslides etc etc
I would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had 2010 - I don't know what you get for club premium but we didn't feel like we had lost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecz456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Recepción at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear rebecz456,

Thank you so much, we have posted your review on our staff board, therefore all our co workers can see how there effort has been qualified, at times we are given different reviews, but all reviewes we take them and try to improve.

Warm Regards,

Jose Luis Serratos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,311 reviews
19.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,754 reviews
1.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,368 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing