We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The staff and service was exceptional!!! Everyone was polite, helpful, and calm even when they had every right not to be. The two ladies who run the Mini club were exceptional! They were creative, kind, easygoing but with enough authority to keep the kids in control.

There were a few sub-optimal things about this resort that we knew about from other reviews so we were expecting them like:

The rocky beach: the beach itself was beautiful sand but about 15' into the water there was a build up of rocks... I just wore reef socks and was happy once I was in up to my waist.

What the beach lacked in perfection it made up in accommodating young children. There is a calm, shallow lagoon that is perfect for those uneasy with waves. There is also a rocky breaker that creates interesting shell and coral hunting and mini pockets of ocean for kids or kids at heart to look for small creatures.

The resort is compact and does not have long meandering paths through its property. However, the grounds are beautifully done and perfectly maintained. For a good walk we went off resort to the marina where there is some shopping and canals where they keep dolphins that you can pay to swim with. The dolphins will come to the side of their pool to say hello for free!

My main complaint was the no reservation policy for à la cart dining. We waited in long lines to get a time and then were sometimes seated an hour after their estimated time. This would have been easier to take if we weren't with a 4 year old child. Again the staff was always polite and apologetic.

The food was fresh and tasty if not quite authentic for the Japanese and Italian restaurant which is why the Mexican restaurant was our favourite.

I would definitely recommend this resort to others. Enjoy your vacation!


Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Rebes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I were there from Jan 8-15, 2014. First time at this resort, and will definitely not hesitate to come back! The spa was absolutely wonderful!! I recommend a massage here! 1 hour prior to the massage, you get full use of the hydrotherapy areas until your appointment. The food at the resort was about the same as I would expect. Some things good, some bad, some just questionable. The variety wasn't all that impressive, but I had my "go-to" pasta to fall back on. Had to purchase bottles of water once our room supply ran out, but on the day we left, we realized we could have kept the bottles to refill at one of the bars. I liked the Yucatan side, as opposed to the Mayan side - quieter and smaller. However, the dinner at the buffet on the Mayan side was better. Never did make it to the theatre, which, unlike most resorts, we could not hear from our room, which made for better sleeps. In fact, our room overlooked the pools and bar, on the third floor, and we could here the people at the bar getting drunk. But by 10pm, we were able to fall asleep, no issue at all. Lots of variety of things to do... and I'm sure not many people rented the bicycles. We did, and had a wonderful time biking around Puerto Adventuras, stopping to have ice cream at the marina and what the dolphins (this is also where my husband proposed to me in 2012! :) The beach here isn't exactly small, just spread out... you have the sandy beach, then the "boardwalk" type walkway over the beach, then the rocky beach, and the lagoon beach. The lagoon is beautiful, and you can rent a kayak to row around it (about 20 minutes). Lots of colorful fish by the "rock bridge", and we snorkelled around the area. Lots of rocks and coral, so be careful! However, the bay is quiet nice. Just bring beach shoes. We had to be on the beach by 7am to get chairs under the tree-umbrellas things. But if wanted to lay in the sun, you could probably sleep in an extra half hour and still get one. We had a great time!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tausha14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Tausha 14

First of all we would like to thank you for writing and choosing our Hotel and I would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the most importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We visited the resort Jan 5 to12/14. Weather at first was kind of disappointing but half way through the week it was great. The staff was exceptional especially Pablo at the Bamboleo Steak House and Carlos, the Nolitours representative. We just loved them and wanted to bring them home with us. The staff was very nice. Food took some getting used to compared to our food at home, but was good. We were told we did not need to make reservations for the ala carte's but because of it and not wanting to stand in line for an hour or more, some restaurants especially japanese you could not get into. It was basically first come first serve. The Bamboleo steak house, and Bamboleo snack bar were great. The crepery was a hit as well. There was 2 different buffets to go to and La Briasas had more variety than the Mercado. When we got there we did not get the rooms we asked for so the next day they gladly moved us. The king beds were nice and comfortable, unlike the double beds were pretty hard. Felt safe enough did not need to use safe in room. Safe costs $3 aday. Beach was small but nice. Had to get up pretty early to get a beach chair on beach or around pools. Totally disappointed in the water of the ocean. DO NOT go without water shoes. Rocks and coral all the way from shore to way out. We got rock cuts all over. MIght be a bit difficult for small children to walk. Lots of entertainment whether it was nice out or a rainly day. Make sure to go to the theatre in the other adjoining resort, the shows are phenominal. The littel markets they had around the pools every couple nights were great as well to get souveniers of the trip. Mexican night was the best with the live Mariachi band around the pool and then the dancers in the theatre. Make sure you keep the water bottles given to you at check in in your room. You need to refill them at the bar or in the restaurant. If you lose them you must buy a new one for 3USD. Was not told at check in, as well if you are part of the Noli plus , the blue towels in your room have to be traded in outside at the towel shack , do not expect new ones with room when cleaned. Make sure you like to use stairs, there is a lot of them. No elevators. All in all, things were good.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a king size bed on the 3rd or 4th floor with the balcony facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loraken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Catalonia resort (from Jan1 until Jan8, 2014). The staff was friendly, the food was good, room clean. The beach is small, but nice. The resort offered a lot of activities.
Please note that we had to pay $3/day for safe. We were informed at the time of check in that we do not need to make reservations for the A la Carte restaurants. However, we learned that without reservations, the first available time to get in was after 9pm. So, the reservations have to be made at approx. 5:30pm to be able to get in at a decent time. At some restaurants, we had to wait at least half hour longer to get in, but once there, the experience was great.
The entertainment was typical "all inclusive".
A little bit noisy at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Agneszka_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I had never been on a big trip before and was a little nervous about what to expect but the Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort and the Catalonia Riviera Maya were excellent. The facilities, including the rooms, are well kept and clean and the staff are beyond friendly and helpful. I also found the food extremely good. There was a wide range of activities and the resort is within a short walk of the Puerto Adventurus marina and shopping area. I certainly would return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear RjR67

First of all we would like to thank you for writing and choosing our Hotel and I would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the most importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Visited Catalonia Yucatan with my family during the first week of 2011. We arrived too early to the hotel and weren't able to check into our room for a couple hours, however we were greeted with drinks and the environment was very friendly. Throughout the week there was always something to do around the resort. The staff organized yoga on the beach, water aerobics, and other cool events. All the staff was incredibly friendly from the people behind the desk to those working in the restaurants. The food was not exceptional, but wasn't bad either. There was a great selection of foods with a Mexican restaurant, Spanish, Japanese, Chinese, several buffets and a crepe place. The bartenders were extremely friendly and by the end of the week almost all of them had memorized our orders which was lovely. The highlight of the trip for sure was the reefs and snorkelling. The water was absolutely beautiful and you didn't have to stream out into the water too much to start exploring the reefs. In the lagoon, which was great for children (water was very shallow), the exotic fish would swim right around your body, something none of us had ever experienced before. The reefs were beautiful and my children (aged 14 and 16) could spend hours exploring them. Overall, we got exactly what we paid for. Wonderful all around hotel and would recommend to anybody! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 954Ilana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We just returned from 1 week at the Catalonia Yucatan, which shares the same facilities, restaurants, grounds, as the Catalonia Riviera Maya (so why two lobbies?) We paid $3600 for a family of 4 and felt it was a great deal. The food was excellent and comparable to other resorts we've stayed in Mexico. Beds were old but linens decent enough and overall room conditions were fine. The lagoon was a selling feature as it provided a safe beach haven for kid play, although the beach in general is very rocky (nice if you're into snorkeling). A short walk to the marina and dolphin park made for a nice bike ride or walk with the kids. The resort is within a gated community so there is the added feeling of security. The pools are good for kids 6 or older who can swim although there are smaller sections isolated for smaller children. The staff offer a nice variety of free activities including archery, kayaking and yoga.

Stayed: January 2014
6  Thank GlobeTrotters123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,327 reviews
18.1 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#99 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,820 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 6 in Playa Maroma
7,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,786 reviews
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,114 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £126 - £1,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing