We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good resort but bad food...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Loved this resort, small and friendly, Rafael at the PURE Lounge bar was great...The beach was nice, small but you definately need water shoes to go in, rocky... Water clear and you can snorkel. There is a lagoon within a 3 minute walk. The resort is well located, not too far from Playa Del Carmen (bargain your cab for $10 us dollars). Located on Puerto Aventuras location, you can go see the dolphins, lots of restaurants on site. We needed that because the food was terrible, no variety, never hot, always things missing (bacon, pancakes, fruits) for breakfast. Same meals everyday.. Tried à la carte restaurants, steakhouse was very good but Mexican, not that good. We went out most of the time to eat, what is the use of getting all-inclusive resort to eat elsewhere??? Third time in Mexico and I would recommend this resort if you are not too picky with food (I am not and found it terrible).

Room Tip: Privileged 3100, good view, good location, jacuzzi on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angie888666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent Breakfast
Nice snacks - cocktails - drinks
Loved the Ala Carte restaurants
International buffet was faultless
Rooms were decent , comfy bed , good aircon - the sea was warm , Del Carmen is a tidy little excursion on a collectivo from the front archway to the complex - Dolphins , Manatees and Sealions in the beautiful man made harbour area , nice cafes and shops to browse in , nice sandy beach , recommened , beats the brashness of Cancun

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hufc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Hufc1

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

my wife and I went to this resort for our 25 wedding anniversary the resort new about it my travel agent e-mail the resort and so did nolitours about our anniversary and asked for an upgrade room and we got nothing the beach is so rocky there is no place to go for long walks the food was good the rooms are old and need upgrading the property and the rooms where clean the staff were good we have been to a lot of different resort and this one has to be the worst one [ you must read all the review not once but twice for any resort ] .

Room Tip: Higher floor [ or go to an other resort ]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ed c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Catalonia Yucatan Resort was again the perfect choice for our winter get away! My wife and I do not enjoy resorts that are so large that they require their own transit systems to navigate.This resort is easily walked and its compact size offers an opportunity to get to know their amazing staff. We experienced excellent service throughout the whole resort . Martha, Lazzaro, Joel, and Lucas deserve a special shout-out for making this the best visit so far.

Room Tip: Priveledge suites are so much nicer. They have decks with soaker tubs living rooms and are close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Joet T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have never been so pampered in all my life ! I took my 18 yr old daughter there and my sister met us also. 3 adult gals in a Priveledged room, they brought us an additional bed ! The room was a bit cramped, but, hey, we didn't spend much time in the room.... The room was quiet, dark and cool when we wanted to sleep... Very comfortable beds and pillows. We only had a shower, but that's OK... The fridge was well stocked with water and other beverages daily.
There are actually two resorts that are amalgamated to form one resort , Catalonia Riviera Maya and Catalonia Yucatan.
The beaches were awesome, two types, the ocean proper, actually a bay. And a sheltered set apart little harbor which was ideal for those with small children, no waves. Snorkeling was awesome. We could book a trip out on the catamaran each day with a guide. We had little kayaks to float around in...There were 5 swimming pools, two with swim up bars. 7 restaurants serving buffet style and a la carte in the evening. Food was fabulous! There were 8 bars including the Disco. There was entertainment and interactive activities all day at one of the pools. In the evenings, there was professional entertainment at the theater. I enjoyed watching the dancers do their performance in the theater and then follow them to the Disco where they would interact with the crowd and get the party started. All the employees were friendly and helpful and couldn't seem to bend far enough backward for us.
We had a fabulous vacation and I would not hesitate to return there!
The only part I didn't like was the ala carte restaurants in the evening because we had to go sit in line...so to speak... and wait for a table which might be 1 to 1.5 hours.... We were not smart enough to start standing in line at 530 outside the restaurant waiting for it to open at 6... I did not enjoy the waiting there, we could not even write our name down and return in an hour, we had to stay right there...That is my only complaint.

Room Tip: We stayed in Priveledged and I don't know what the other rooms were like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zeldazebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Zeldazebl

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After reading a few bad reviews I was apprehensive upon arriving to the resort. It turns out my doubts were unfounded. I shall start out with the staff, everyone treated my girlfriend and I with respect and were friendly beyond belief, they were simply put amazing. The resorts grounds were very clean and it seemed they took pride in it as they were always out tending to it. For the food, the buffet, we found the food to be good. The breakfast omelette was very tastey. We did a few a la Cartes, and enjoyed them very much. The Japanese one the chef was very entertaining. I read a review previously that someone complained about leaving the room for another table to have desert. Well if they think about it they can only serve so many people per night, it's not a hardship. I loved how the resort is within a very short walk to a marina where they had dolphins and manatees where you could swim with. We swam with the manatees and that was unreal. I liked the security was good, it made you feel secure. I shall mention the room now, we did not do the upgrade but do regret that decision. The room was simple but clean. And to be honest were only there to sleep anyways. The bathroom was a good size and also very clean. The pools were nice and warm and very enjoyable. I have a sunburn beyond belief cause of my self inflicted fun lol. I only had minor things that bothered me but don't consider game changers, there wasn't bacon every day and you had to wait to be seated at the buffet. As I said these were not game changers. One last point, the cappachinos at breakfast was addicting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank moose4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Moosde 4774

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We took a package deal to this resort Mar.12-19/2014
The 72 km. trip from the airport to the hotel took 80 minutes with a stop at another hotel.
Check in was painfully slow with no welcome drink to soothe the pain.
When we got to our room we discovered there was no daily drinking water supplied (you can't drink the water from the faucet- if you want water after your 2 litres of alloted water run out, you must go to the Bar!) no refrigerator,coffee maker or iron which was a surprise because it is rated as a 4 star resort. The room safe costs $ 3.00/day but you can't pay in U.S. cash, just pesos, CDN.dollars or credit card.
This hotel works on an upgrade system, where they try to sell you upgrades before you can get your room key....very irritating
The room and beds were tired looking but clean. The pillows were skinny blobs of foam chips.
The bathroom was clean but again tired looking and we discovered later that the aged toilet didn't flush. It was rectified on the 2nd day after 3 trips by the maintenance staff.
After our toilet was fixed we resolved to try to enjoy ourselves and we did.
The Catalonia Yucatan resort is joined to the Catalonia Riviera Maya resort next door and the facilities are shared. The Yucatan seems to be the older of the two and consists of two 4 storey buildings where as the Riviera Maya has multiple smaller 3 storey buildings + a modern newer
exclusive section at extra cost.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the buffet restaraunts to be good and the a la carte
restaraunts to be sometimes excellent. The ony problem is that there is no booking system for the a la carte restaraunts, so you must show up and wait for a table.
It would make a lot of sense to put an online booking system in considering there is free Wi-Fi
(of varying stengths) available throughout the resort.
The nightly entertainment at the theatre was excellent compared to most all-inclusives and the
entertainment staff were friendly and very energetic.
There was also good live entertainment in the lounge outside the theatre before and after the
nightly show.
The beachfront was quite windy the week we were there were sea urchins in the water so water shoes are advised. There is a man made lagoon where I didn't see any sea urchins and has
a safe shallow beach of its own.
I tried snorkelling on one of the less windy days and explored the clumps of coral out front of the main beach, but the coral was mostly dead and there wasn't much fish life.
There were actually more fish in the lagoon and many more minnows.
the resort is within the Puerto Aventuras gated community, which has a Golf course,Marina and Dolphin attraction within 10 minutes walk of the hotel, there are also small shops a pharmacy and cafe's around the Marina.
We walked the entire perimiter of the community in aprox. 75 minutes.
There is a fitness centre at the resort which looked quite good plus a luxurious spa facility at extra cost.
The resort was very busy the week we were there, at times too busy.as we prefer quieter resorts.
We probably will not return as we prefer to be within walking distance of a town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GWToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,419 reviews
23 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 6 in Playa Maroma
7,874 reviews
18.1 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#98 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
9,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,811 reviews
11.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £128 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing