We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$123
View deal
Hotels.comUS$123
TravelocityUS$123
FindHotelUS$123
Orbitz.comUS$123
CheapTicketsUS$123
HurbUS$122
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,504)
Filter reviews
2,504 results
Traveller rating
1,025
941
340
116
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,025
941
340
116
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gated community a la cartes playa del carmen tapas water shoes crepes japanese restaurant sports bar privileged room the grill alarm clock basic room recommend this resort mini fridge small resort star resort hotel grounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 2,504 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived around lunchtime. Had to wait a couple of hours to check in. They held luggage at the front until the room was ready. Packed beachwear on carry on as we didn't want to just sit around and wait. Buffet was open. Not packed at all for lunch. There were two, one with a/c and one without. With a/c buffet looks nicer. Food was excellent. No complaints at all. A la crates were excellent. We got try all at least once. Mexican was my favourite . A lot of people like the Japanese the most. Also snack bar was good open from 2-5pm and 11pm to 2 am. Not sure about the mornings. Lots of great places to sit and relax, watch the waves, have some drinks. Many pools to pick from. Despite signs people still reserve beach chairs with towels early. Good luck finding a vacant one under shade. Free daily beach towel exchange with card return system. Some free water activities including the catamaran. Many off resort things to do. Zip lining, snorkelling, exploring caves, swimming in caves, swimming with dolphins or whale shark but all for big costs. If you don't want to spend a lot of money resort has free shuttle to Playa del Carmen leaving at 12:25 and 4ish. Has a mandatory stop over 5 minutes away at a jewelry factory. Sounds worse then the place looks but expect to spend a lot. This is about 1.5 hours. Then the shuttle takes you to a coffee shop where you can learn about and taste coffee. Or you opt out and shop on 5th ave for two hours on a really long street. Beware of vendors constantly in your face. Other option besides this shuttle is public transit outside the resort security gate. Costs about 30-40 pesos per person per trip to get to shopping, snorkelling, Mayan ruins(Tulum) etc. These are white vans that are called Collectivo's, most have AC, get you where you want to go for a good price and are safe. Only downfall is the walk from the resort to the main road. Takes about 20 minutes.

Room tip: We stayed in 1110 which was a ground floor, king size bed garden view room. Buffet, pool, beach all 2-5 minute walk.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 780barryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Dear Barry N,

We would like to start by thank you for taking the time to write us your comments about your stay at the Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan Beach. Be advised that the opinion of our guests is very important to us as they help you to improve our facilities and service everyday.

Regarding our gastronomy, we are happy to know that we fulfill your expectations and that you enjoyed our a la carte restaurants and the variety of our buffet.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!

Best Regards,

Director General.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home from an amazing stay at this resort, my partner and I could find very few faults. The main fault was our own in not staying for longer! There seems to be something for everyone, we took advantage of the snorkelling and the kayaking which cost nothing, we spent time on the beach which is beautiful even if it is slightly rocky in the sea. Also lounging by the pool too was also very enjoyable, especially with a cold beer!
Yes there can be a wait on the al a carte restaurants but we were never in a rush to let it bother us! The tapas was a surprise and very enjoyable, also the buffets and snack bar filled our appetites! We also enjoyed eating at the marina which was lovely too, worth a visit! Would recommend visiting akamal beach for the turtles too, stunning beach and experience! Will be recommending to friends and hopefully returning soon

Russ and Amy

Bournemouth uk

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ru55tyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Ru55tyb,

First of all we would like to thank you for writing and choosing our Hotel and I would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the most importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a lovely week at this hotel, Japanese Mexican and italian restaurant are all worth a Visit! Only down sides are rooms are basic and some bars are only for 'privileged guests' and beach is man made so quite rocky underfoot. Fantastic holiday all in all

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amycaprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hi, this was our 2nd time in as many years to this Great Resort. Most of the staff were all the same and remembered us from the year before which was really nice. From the check in to the checkout we were always treated to smiles and just a warm appreciation for our stay! We can't say enough about all the staff in all areas, too many to list indivsually, but here are a few, Love at the front desk, Jose at the first bar, can't remember its name,lol, all the staff in the Steakhouse, and Italian, and especially the Japanese Restaraunts, truly amazing service and food! You also have to try the Tapas, WOW! Loved the Crepier, but closes early. The smoothy bar was a nice surpise also!Weather was great, so the beach was too, just wear water shoes and you'll have no problems! Bring $10 with you and you'll go on an amazing catamaran ride, they work on tips! we went into Plya del Carmen acouple of times and we just walked to the gates and caught a bus which is really a mini van for$6 both ways, cheaper than $25 each way by taxi.If you don't mid walking abit you can save alot of cash, its really not far. Also you can do the same thing and go to the sister hotel about 10 minutes away called Catalonia Tulum, its truly a beautiful resort, sandy beaches, drinks, bbq on the beach, at no extra charge! Explore is a must see, get there early and enjoy! Costly but wort every penny. Terry and I just want to thank everyone again for a wonderful vacation in beautiful Mayan and our stay at the Catalonia Yucatan Resort!

Room tip: Ask for oceanview,2nd floor, might have to upgrade, also king bed!
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Dear JeffandTerry,

On behalf of Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan Beach, we would like to thank the time you are taking to share your feedback of your recent stay.

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: the quality of food and beverages, buffet, a la carte restaurant, the beach and specially our friendly and efficient staff. It is always motivating for the staff to receive comments like yours, please be sure that we will share with them that they were part of your happiness.

We hope to see you again in our hotel, remember that each trip to Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan Beach, is a new experience.

Best Regards,

Director General.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a great hotel food staff thing to do I can't say enough bout this place for a4star hotel it was good we had a great time made great friend as well as a great tan the food was stunning from Japanese Italian franch and English

Room tip: We stayed in room 3141
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Huésped,

Antes que nada quisiéramos agradecerles sus comentarios sobre su estancia en nuestro Hotel, siendo la opinión de nuestros huéspedes de suma importancia para nosotros.

Es un placer saber que su estancia ha sido de su agrado y que llevaran un agradable recuerdo de México y nuestro Hotel.

Nos encanta saber que disfrutaron de la comida, de nuestro staff y que consiguieron un bronceado increíble.

Esperamos decidan volver a visitarnos en un futuro próximo para poder tener la oportunidad no sólo de cumplir, sino de sobrepasar sus más altas expectativas.

Cordiales saludos

Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews