We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalonia's Magnifico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bainsville, On
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Catalonia's Magnifico”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

My wife & I stayed at the Catalonia Yucatan during the Christmas Holidays, and it was an
amazing experience. I have travelled to other locations in Mexico, but it was the first time
in Mayan " Territory" - What a great week at the Yucatan Beach Resort !
The Resort itself is very nice, in a safe & cozy little village called Puerto Aventuras -
there's a lot of things to see there; you can walk safely all around the village to visit shops,
nice boutiques, dolphin shows, fishing charters, golf course, beautiful marina, and much more... You can also take the " Collectivo" ( Local Bus) and spend a day at the Tulum ruins, which is only 20 min. away, or spend an evening at Playa del Carmen, only
30 min. away also ! Like they say "Location" is important and the Hotel is located close to all major attractions in Riviera Maya.- I would also mention that all employees at the
Catalonia Yucatan Beach, will make your vacation memorable.
Starting with Antoine at the Front Desk, who gave us great service, upon arrival, and after
the famous " Bamboleo" Bar, with Marcellino, Christian, Abraham, Juan and not to forget
El Patron Domingo; these waiters have only one thing in mind, it's to give you quick and efficient service, and always with a smile - you won't wait 10 seconds for a drink !!!
At the Restaurant " La Brisa", Buffet style, the food is very good & service at the table by Nayali, was very pleasant . We also enjoyed the Mexican Restaurant, to us it's the best.
In conclusion, we had a great vacation there, and everybody is friendly and they want to please you - I don't want to forget little Pasquale, our room was very clean, always.
Sincerely,
Michel C.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichelandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    787
    262
    87
    48
See reviews for
544
942
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My fiance and I stayed at Catalonia Yucatan Dec. 28 2009 - Jan. 4 2010. The weather the first 5 days was perfect and the last two days were cloudy with no sun at all so we didn't really enjoy that.

This resort has 6 pools, 7 amazing restaurants (including the delicious Creperie), many great bars and lounges (Margarita Bar is the best one, including Naz the bartender), sports bar (air hockey, pool, ping-pong), lagoon with many fish, excursions, siteseeing, etc.
We bought 1/2 day tickets to see the Tulum ruins which was $86 usd for the both of us. We were scheduled and told to come at 7:45 because the bus leaves at 7:50 so we came there at 7:30, waited until 8:30 and noticed that the bus was long gone. We had to book it for another day when we had something has planned but everything worked out fine and quick. The beach at the ruins made up for everything.

The service is amazing. Very friendly staff, make you feel comfortable.

We didn't like our standard room the first night so we ended up upgrading to a superior for 30 usd/night ($ is for two) for 6 nights. The room that we upgraded was amazing, clean, roomy, and trendy. Flat screen tv, nice balcony, comfy beds and pillows, beautiful bathroom, a/c, mini fridge, safe, umbrella, iron, coffee maker and of course, the spa.

The least thing we liked was the beach, very rocky and the pictures are deceiving. (Maybe it's because we're used to very clean and clear waters).

The shows are entertaining and the party for 2010 - New Year was amazing. Best ever!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

If you're wanting to be very well looked after, extremely well fed, well 'watered', and searching for a comfortable and delightful hotel for your 'all inclusive' vacation in Riviera Maya - then look no further - this is just the place for you (and for children of all ages).

Comfy? Our air-conditioned room was refreshingly cool, spacious and spotless - and came with a beautiful little balcony with a couple of armchairs and small table, an ideal retreat to sit quietly and read. A most comfortable king-size bed, plenty of wardrobe space, and large bathroom all measured up nicely . The maid service was first class, highly efficient and very timely - we were never ever inconvenienced by the daily cleaning ritual.
Hungry? The main buffet restaurant is breathtaking - the choice fantastic - everyday!! All the cooked foods you can imagine; available at some time or other. All you can eat!Salads, fruits, juices, smoothies, breads, cheeses, breakfast cereals, fancy desserts, whatever; .... you name it....it's there somewhere. Almost anything can be cooked to order - so you're advised to explore the entire servery first to ensure you don't miss something really special.
Of course you're able to eat and drink to excess elsewhere too at any time, with equally fantastic menus to choose from. Children don't have to be shy either, their tastes are well catered for also, and they can eat as much or as little as they want. Open air dining is the style here - it however attracts a bit of wild life, and the common grackle (the most prolific bird along the coastline) can often be seen in and around the restaurants.
Two beautiful restaurants situated above the buffet restaurant provide the very best in Italian and Mexican cuisine. Book well in advance, there are usually two sittings each evening - you won't be disappointed!
Thirsty? No need to be. You'll be attended to, either at your table in the restaurants or while stretched out on your loungers around the pool or on the beach. Waiters and waitresses are 'on patrol' everywhere - and your drink(s) will arrive eventually, so no need to exert yourself unnecessarily by having to leave the shade of the palms for your next marguerita.
Drinks are in plentiful supply and beers and holiday favourites are available all day. Soft drink dispensers are located at convenient spots, for those who want to help themselves.
Swimming? The beach is very clean and free of debris. The tide can come in a fair way, but there's a sandy beach, which is the main thing .... and its lovely.
A well placed outcrop of rocks breaks the heavier swell on some of the more windy days, leaving calmer waters to explore. For those who like to stay in the shallows and perhaps just snorkel in a couple of feet of water, then this hotel has the ideal conditions. Plenty of colourful fish to view. Take beach shoes or similar footwear for in the water - the rocks and coral can be sharp! Tucked in on the north side of the hotel is an attractive little lagoon with calm water, the same colourful fish and a superb little sandy beach. This is an ideal spot for those with younger children and little ones in which to safely enjoy themselves. Fresh water showers are placed at various handy locations to rinse off salt water.
More than enough sun loungers everywhere, for everyone (all loungers are washed and scrubbed clean every evening). Pathways between accomodations, pools, and restaurants etc, are swept and tidied almost non-stop. The hotel grounds are immaculate, and lawns, shrubs, bushes, palm trees, etc, are constantly being trimmed, watered and pampered. The whole atmosphere is welcoming and friendly. The staff strive to make your vacation memorable. All staff members are polite, pleasant, immaculately dressed, happy to serve, and wear a smile all day! What more can you ask for?
It's not the closest hotel to Cancun Airport that's for sure, but there are many more even further away along the coast road. The coach/mini-bus trip to the hotel does take a while though - with stops to drop off people elsewhere, however that's the way it is - and provided you are aware that you'll likely be on the road longer than you thought, then its no big deal really.
Note: There are two hotels here: the Catalonia Yucatan & Catalonia Riviera Maya - joined together, as one, and equally delightful. Both share the beautiful thatched roof structures and colourful stucco walls - a wonderful background for those evening sun-set photographs!
Daily trips are available and most can be booked directly at either of the main entrance foyers. We enjoyed a wonderful day trip (by air-conditioned coach) to the ruins at Coba - which is not too far away. A much more interesting day than one could possibly imagine. Good footwear is necessary as there's some walking to do (and some climbing too if you feel like it). You'll be hungry afterwards, so you'll enjoy eating at a wonderful local restaurant by a lake on the way back (its all included), but take a few dollars for a tip - and keep an eye on the croc's while dining!
If you're fortunate to have Manuel driving and Israel as your tour guide, then you'll be in for a day to remember!
All-in-all, a most wonderful week - we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DickSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We were there for one week Dec. 11 - 18th 2009.
Were with our daughter her husband and two children 10 & 11. Had a great time. This was our second trip to Mayan, first in this resort. The service was excellent, as well as the food. Would definately stay there again. The main drawback, is the length of time on the bus from the airport, over one hour.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillnetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, bc canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Just returned from spending Christmas at this resort - what a great time! We were a party of 7, with 2 children 6 and 4 yrs. The resort has 5 separate pool areas so they were never crowded; children had loads of fun in shallow areas. The Kids Club facility,mini-disco and staff were outstanding and definitely added to kid's enjoyment of the holiday. The food in the buffet dining rooms was excellent-outstanding variety and quality, and the Christmas Eve buffet was superb. The activities staff worked hard to get the tourists off their lounge chairs: dance lessons, archery,yoga/stretching class,snorkeling,sailing etc and put on an amazing theatre production Christmas Eve.The beach was beautiful, water warm etc but fairly rocky, so wading only for the most part. Half hour taxi ride to Tulum ruins or to Playa Del Carmen shopping area. 10-minute walk to Puerta Aventuras with small shops/restaurants and the dolphin show. Rooms were basic, but clean. All staff friendly and polite.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnyb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Ont. Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Not a whole lot more can be said about the wonderfull staff, dinning, rooms and grounds that has not already been mentioned by previous reviewers. But I do have to add a little. This was our 4th trip to the Catalonia, (Dec.4th to 11th) and just being there in March we were amazed at the upgrades that had been made all over the resort in just that short period of time.
It is obvious the Catalonia chain is putting the money back into the resort and not in their pockets. It was nice to be remembered by many of the staff who greeted us with smiles and most often hugs. We hung out mostly between the beach and the Tequila Bar more then the other bars during the day where Manual and Alphonso kept us well entertained as well as keeping our fluid levels up.
As far as the A-La-Cartes, we dinned at the Steak house, Mexican and Mikado’s which all were execllent . Like most have already said, tips are not expected but are very much appreciated. We will be going back again without a doubt in the near future as this place sure grows on you and keeps drawing us back. Go and enjoy the Cat, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luvsunets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We just got back & really enjoyed this place. Food was great & selection great. Impressed with even the snack bar, had more than just hamburger & hotdogs. Staff were great, nice & friendly. Nice touch that the beach towel is in your room upon arrival & not have to use the beach card to get towels & easy to exchange for clean ones & trust of staff. Went with Nolitours who at their introduction morning the Manager as well all heads of depts were there to introduce themselves & lets us know any problems they were there fo us. Tried 2 a la cate dining rooms & enjoyed them. As well the abundance of beach/pool lounge chairs very good. Yes rocky beach but safe to swim in the lagoon area. I give this 2 thumbs up for sure. Checked into the Yucatan section but stayed in the Riveria Mayan section. Met nice people & 2 couples who had ben there 10 & other 5 times.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank notboring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,581 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
7,104 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,232 reviews
15.0 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#72 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,092 reviews
11.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Property: Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Southall Travel and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing