We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“highly recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

stayed @ CAT for a week early April, took US transfers from Cancun airport. Around an hour, arrived hours before the bus at 11am or so. Were told to come get a room after 3!!! as nothing was ready yet. Showed up again @ 2 having noticed the bus approaching.
The guy gave as a room which we did not like, we came back and asked for a different one on Riviera Maya side. Here you go, no problem.
First time in Mexico, always went to Cuba prior to this trip.
From now on no more Cuba. You can't compate 5* in Cuba to the 4* CAT.
People work so hard to please you. Nobody stands over you waiting for a tip, nobody bugging for your clothes etc.
Food is great.
We only went to one a la cart: Mexican. (A little bit dissapointed with the service there.)
After that only went to the buffet. Always good selection, prompt and professional waiting stuff.
Kids club beyond all expectations.
Night shows are 5*.
Entertainment team - lots of fun. Rick is something!
Just go and you won't be dissapointed!
Any questions, please feel free to ask...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller5205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    761
    256
    86
    48
See reviews for
528
909
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I absolitely loved this hotel! It was our first trip to Mexico as a young couple (20 and 22) and I would definetly stay at this resort again! The only problems I would say was the lack of consistency in the heat of the water in the shower! Other than that the trip was great! We wer unlucky that we got 2 solid days of rain storms at the beginning of the trip so I would have liked to have a full week of sun! Everyone who works at both of the Catalonia hotels is very friendly and always says "hola" whenever you pass them!
Tipping helps but even if you forget sometimes the staff make an effort to remember you and make you feel very valued.
Playa del Carmen is only a 10-15 minute cab ride from the resort (some cab drivers are fast and others are very slow) and 5th avenue was a fun place to visit!
The entertainment crew that are usually poolside during the day are wonderful and are always up for goofy fun!
I would recommend this hotel for anyone going to Mexico who would like to stay in the Riviera Maya area since Puerto Aventuras is so close to everything!
P.S. I would also recommend Ranch Baaxal if you would like to go for a horseride on the beach, the view is breathtaking and you can galop on the beach as much as you like!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

We had travel more than 6 times to the Riviera Maya and this has been so far the best place. So many good things could be say about the CAT but as a summary:
Excellent service
Great food with lots of choices
Animation team is awsome
If you travell with small kids this is the place for you since everything is close by
Beach is rocky but nice and the lagoon is next by so you can swim confortably and look at colorful fish rigth from the hotel property

Overall we had a great time and we are already planning our next vacation to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, España
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

Fantastic hotel for the price we paid.
Good food, good service, nice instalations.
Very good thematic restaurants.
Don't forget to try the crepperie!!! It has the greatest milkshakes ever!
The beach was great for snorkling with a lot of rocks but there were also rocks right in the shore so it was a little painful to go into the water.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

My fiance and I stayed at the Catalonia for a week and went based on good reviews from others. We had problems with our room from the beginning, and were give a third floor room and were told to come back the next day to get a new room on the ground floor as requested. It took 2 days to switch as they just kept telling us to come back every time we went. Finally there was a woman at the desk one day who was very helpful and we got switched to an upgraded room on the riviera side. Although for those of you who want to pay for an upgraded room, the only difference is a little fridge the rooms are essentially identical. The walls are very thin and it's noisy in some rooms. Our first room was super loud but the one we moved to was much quieter. The medical center is a rip off as well we wanted to use a wheelchair for an activity and they charge $30 US per day!

The beach was nice, but rocky so bring shoes for the water. The snorkeling is awesome there are lots of fish, coral etc.

Restaurants
Overall I wasn't that impressed, and was especially annoyed that out of 4 restaurants you are only allowed to go to 3 of them. We went to the steak house which was the best food and service, the Japanese which was pretty good as well, and finally the Mexican restaurant which was terrible! I thought being in Mexico it would be good, but no. I had shrimp which was WAY overcooked and rubbery. The rice was extremely salty and mushy. The service at the Mexican restaurant was terrible as well. We left big tips for the Steak and Japanese restaurant and none at the Mexican as it was so terrible. The drink service on the beach is awesome and they come around and get your drink orders and are constantly picking up your drink cups.

When we were there it rained for the first 3 days straight so the Sports bar was fun, with pool tables, fooseball and ping pong etc. The creperie was good although closed most of the time we were there as it rained. We went once, and I would recommend the sweet crepes, I had a savoury crepe for dinner as well but wasn't a fan. The milkshakes are awesome! We didn't get to go to the Tapas restaurant either as it was always closed when we were there for some reason.

Down the street there's the marina and dolphin discovery which I wouldn't recommend to anyone as it is disgusting! The dolphins are kept in very shallow water that is shared with the marina water where all the oil is and it's really dirty and gross!

Also there are booths set up in the evening to buy things. The painters are really cool. Be careful some vendors try to rip you off! I bought a set of coasters and it had 6 coasters but by the time I opened it back in my room there were only 5! The guy took one out when he wrapped it hoping I wouldn't notice. We went back and he was like oh sorry and handed me an extra coaster.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meela123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

Me and my boyfriend just got back from the catalonia yucatan. We absolutely loved it. We've never been to Mexico before but heared it was amazing. Ive only been to Cuba once last year and this does not even compare. The resort was awesome the staff were incredible, they worked so hard and always had a smile on thier face. Fransico at the chill out bar was awesome!! We loved how you could snorkel right on the resort, we fed the fishes bananas. We did lots of excursions near by. we went to XPLORE and went zip-lining and drove an amphibious machine in the jungle also we went on a raft through the under water rivers there. We went ATVing through the woods and stopped at a cenote to go snorkelling. We also went to Chichin Itza. It was cool to see but the bus drive it 3 hours there and 3 hours back, which actually turns out to be longer because you stop at other resorts to pick people up. We loved the resort so much and met a lot of great people. We are definitly planning another trip to the Riviera Maya for next year!. I recommend this resort to anyone. There were people of all different ages there and everybody looked like they were enjoying themselves!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMYEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prince edward island
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

this is not a large resort but is a very nice resort, great pools and beach area, the staff are extremely friendly and the always great you with a smile, the entertainment staff were very upbeat and involved everyone in activities, the food was good and you could always find something to eat, the only negative of our trip had nothing to do with the resort, it was nolitours, they forgot to pick us up at the resort for our departure, when we called the rep number on resort we got no answer, the staff was great in helping us and even sent a bellboy to her room with no success, eventually we got a number to call and spoke to a rep, who was not very friendly and was very short on the phone eventually they made arrangements to have one of the tour vans pick us up 3 couples in total , luckily for us our flight was delayed and we didn't miss it
final comments
resort very good
staff excellent
food good
location very good
weather awesome

nolitours terrible

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leafnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,985 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
8.8 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,410 reviews
18.0 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#93 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Property: Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing