We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good trip...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We were booked for the Yucatan in a privilege room but this is really on the Mayan side of the resort - not a big deal, and the nicer side in my opinion. Travelled with our 2 children ages 3 and 5 from Jan 19 to 26.
Lagoon - great for young kids
Snorkelling - super easy snorkelling in lagoon and along stone walkway between lagoon and ocean + heard great snorkelling off main beach
Kids pools - really impressed that we found 3 kiddie pool areas - 1 quite large, others small but nice they were there + most pools had wide shallow ledges that are handy with kids
Pools - in general not a lot of seating
Bathrooms - sufficient supply of these and kept clean (for those frequent trips with the kids :) )
Entertainment staff - there were a couple of girls from England on staff - which I loved for aerobics, general communication, the Mexican staff were great too, but if I do an activity I like to be able to follow the instructions easily
Food - we thought it was great - a huge selection at the buffets (standard stuff but lots of options), a la carte food isn't amazing, but acceptable and we enjoyed having them as an option, and they offered a childrens menu + we took small white boards, stickers to keep our kids busy. We only experienced a line up at the Japanese restaurant - my husband stood in line at 5, we joined him at 6 and got in right away, saw others go stand in line in their beach gear and make reservations for later, creperie often had line ups
Dolphins - worthwhile to make the walk
Kids club - we didn't take part in the programs but visited the playground a few times - it was small and not always that clean - often broken balloons scattered in the sand - kids looked like they were having fun in the club and they did a have a unique calendar of activities for each day
TV - there was a kids channel with cartoons
Resort Size - to me the resort seemed claustrophobic at times - lots of people and everything jammed together - on the positive it was super easy to drop by the room to change or drop stuff off, on the negative you don't get that spacious feeling. Grounds are very nicely kept and we didn't have any problems with late night noise.

The definite negatives...
Overbooking & crowding - it seemed very busy by the end of the stay and it seems they purposely overbook this resort and then offer guests the opportunity to move to a sister resort such as Playa Maroma - this was announced as an option one day by the entertainment staff + we heard this from another guest at the resort. When the resort is smaller, when things get busy it is much more noticeable.
King Beds - As a family of four one king bed doesn't cut it and apparently most of the privilege rooms and all of the suites offer this. We stayed privilege and got a cot which worked ok but not great. In the suites they have a pull out couch. Seems strange that their pricing encourages family with children but yet they don't have more double options - perhaps just an issue for privilege and suites though.
Cancun Airport - holy stressful - it's under construction, the shopping areas are right beside the waiting areas, on arrival you walk through the shopping to get to customs, with 2 young children we survived but missed the small airport atmosphere we had on our trip last year - and we flew Wed to Wed! We didn't use them but it looked like there were bathrooms out by the bus area and both ways our bus had a bathroom. Also the resort was about 1 hr 20 minutes from the airport.

We would go to this resort again if we got a deal, but with 2 AI trips under our belt with our children we will look more closely at flying to a smaller airport, with a short distance to the resort, and a nice kids club where we can feel really comfortable leaving our children for at least a couple of hours each day. (After a few days of escorting little ones to the bathroom on a regular basis, back and forth to the buffet etc we will look to get some adult time next year for sure - especially as they grow older and are more independent.)

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions - especially regarding travelling with children.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2011

I really only have two complaints about our stay at the Catalonia Yucatan that are directly related to the hotel itself.

1. When we arrived, although we had requested rooms together when we booked, we were informed that we would be placed at opposite ends of the resort. “We” are my wife, two children my elderly mother-in-law and myself. As you can imagine this was not an option. We were offered two solutions; 1. Move to another Catalonia Resort a mere 40 minutes further down the beach or pay for an upgrade to the tune of $680.00 us. I felt backed into a corner and reluctantly agreed to the upgrade.

2. Our two rooms regularly had the smell of gases emanating from the bathroom. It was not very pleasant to say the least.

All other aspects of our holiday were great.

A couple of tips;
1. There are NOT any guarantees that you will have a reservation in any of the restaurants in spite of what they advertise. We literally waited in line for up to 1.5 hours before the restaurant's opening to ensure a seat for that evening.

2. DO NOT take the word of the Tour reps with regards to which attraction is better than the other. We were told "The Dolphin experience at Puerto Advernturas was really bad, the water is brown and you can't see anything."

We were told and were even privileged to have a presentation by another attraction about a half hour away. We went and it was great, but the next day we walked to Puerto Adventuras and looked around to our surprise the experience there was as good or better. They offered more choices in pricing experiences etc. which would have saved us nearly $200.00. Buyer bewares and do your own homework.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_Rbrazeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My wife and I and our 1 year-old spent a week down here to celebrate New Years. Neither of us had been to many all-inclusive resorts but we selected this place based on some advice from our contact at Air Transat. Overall, we enjoyed the vacation but there are a few things we would like to mention.

Airport on Arrival: Not sure what was happening but it was complete chaos at the airport when we arrived. The line to get through customs was chock full and the line to exit the airport snaked all around the baggage carousels. Took about 1.5 hours just to clear customs, get our bags and get on the bus. Tons of people trying to get you to sign up for timeshare stuff...just ignore them and look for your tour operator.

Transfer: Bus ride was a little longer than expected. Not a real exciting ride but the tour guy handing out Carona's for $3 made it a little easier.

Check-In: They put us in one of the smaller buildings to start with but it had two double beds (we asked for one King). They managed to find us a room in Building A with one King. Our little guy was almost two at the time so we asked for a crib mattress for the floor. They were all puzzled by this but at the end of the day, they sent a foam mattress over and made up his bed. It was perfect for him.

Buffet Food: We both enjoy food and thought that the main buffet was pretty good. It seems to be popular with families so at times we had to wait for a high chair but not a real big deal. One time we decided to try the other buffet and we were quickly seated but then they never brought a high chair (even though it wasn't very busy). They kept coming back and we kept asking for the high chair but it never came. We decided to stick to the main buffet. Breakfast is my favourite meal and enjoyed the omelettes and fresh fruit. Yogurt seemed more like a yogurt drink but perhaps that is just Mexico. My son seemed to take a liking to Froot Loops but we were often skunked if we didn't get there before 8am. Overall...lots of decent food - not super quality but decent variety.

Room: clean and decent. We were on the 4th floor and enjoyed the view. Wifi was definitely spotty in the room as others have posted but we did have success fairly often. TV wasn't great when it was working. Towel art was nice and our son's bed was made up nicely every day.

A-la-Carte Food: We ate at the Japanese, Mexican and Steakhouse. I think we enjoyed the Japanese the best. We were disappointed with the food at the Steakhouse. Mexican was pretty good but our son had a melt-down during the meal so my wife and I tag-teamed so our experience wasn't so great.

Snack-Food: We didn't eat much at the Snack place other than a few orders of fries. We weren't really into the hot dogs and hamburgers. We did enjoy the Crepes place above the main buffet. Food was delicious here and we got hooked on cappacinos on this trip. Service was sketchy here though. Once we placed an order and they came back with my wife's order but kept me waiting a long time for my strawberry banana milkshake. We kept watching other people sit down and get served but not my milkshake. Finally, I stopped the waitress and told her that we were still waiting for the milkshake (pointed to the menu). Finally she came by and after I took a sip, realized she brought over a chocolate shake!! Anyways, the food is good if you speak spanish.

Beach: Red Flag for most of the week. With a young one, we spent most of our time at the lagoon on the side which was great. Lots of little fish to look at. For the first 4 days, we never bothered to reserve a chair but then we caught on to the tricks and layed one towel down before breakfast (we weren't greedy but needed at least one shady chair). Snorkeling was okay but not many larger fish to see.

Area: We enjoyed taking bikes (with a bike seat) to the Marina to watch the dolphins and shop around. I usually took advantage of the convenience store to buy a Corona Lime to have while we walked around. I also bought a bottle of wine for the room to help offset the stuff they say is wine at the resort (more on alcohol later). We also rode our bikes out the gate and back along the trail next to the golf course which was pleasant.

Staff: Overall, we were pretty happy with the staff there. Most said "Ola" in the resort and tried to help when we needed it. English was lacking and a lot of them just nodded when we asked for something but we knew they didn't have a clue what we were asking for.

Fitness: I liked going to the gym here. It had all the basics and was kept clean.

Booze: We both enjoy wine and I like beer but these are not the kind of drinks you should order here (unless you pay for the premium wines at the restaurants). The beer wasn't that great although if you ask for the dark beer, it seems better. If you really enjoy beer, bring a collapsable cooler with you and grab a six-pack from the Marina. The other drinks were pretty good. My son enjoyed a few virgin Banana-Mamas.

Tours: My wife and I took separate trips to Xelha. On my day, I had a quick breakfast at the resort and walked out to the Highway (15-20 min or so). If you go left out the gates and under the highway, you can jump on Collectivo for $2.50 USD. It's pretty easy and it takes you close to the entrance. I got there around 9:15 and had the place to myself for a while which was nice. We both enjoyed Xelha and would go back again.

Overall - we enjoyed our stay here and I think kids would also like it. We paid $1600 each from Calgary but it was over New Years so prices everywhere were pretty high. Even at $1,600 we felt we got good value.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brunell1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Just got back from a week at the "Cat" and as usual, the trip was great, with a few minor exceptions. We requested an upgrade to superior for our room but the hotel couldn't do it as they were overbooked so we had to settle for a standard room. The only thing wrong with the room was the bed was hard as a rock to sleep on and there was no coffee maker in the room, We had a great view of the pool and ocean though, so that kind of made up for it.
As usual, Gregorio at the margarita pool bar was his wonderfel self. He continues to be the best bartender in the Caribbean in my mind. His margaritas are certainly the best I've tasted down there and they always come with his wonderful smile. His partner Nazario was just as good and always made a point of saying hello to us and was always upbeat and smiling. Service as it should be when on a vacation. The rtemainder of the hotel staff were just as friendly, always greeting you with a smile and "Hola", whenever they saw you.
The food in the " a la carte" restaurants was very good but didn't like the wait in line for a table method they are now using - bcak to reservations please. One more thing - bring back the shuttle bus to Playa Del Carmen please.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barflyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We definitely got what we paid for at the Catalonia. So no major deal-breakers. HOWEVER, had we paid what most others had paid, which was almost double in some cases, there are a few mentionables...

1. Firstly and foremost, was the fact that our room on the south side of building ‘A’ (in the Riviera Maya side (even tho we booked for the Yucatan Beach) faced a service drive and unfortunately the glass recycling bin. Apparently between 4 and 5am is the optimum time for recycling because for week straight we were woken EVERY night and stayed that way for the half hour they were smashing and crashing bottles. Numerous complaints got us a warm bottle of ‘sparkling (Mexican) wine’ sent to the room, sans glasses. So BEWARE building A.
2. Next is the free WiFi, or NoFi as we took to calling it. The only place we could get it working was in the lobby.
3. They refer to your in-room safe as a ‘safety deposit box’ and charge you 3$/day for it.
4. We also did not get out 6:40 wakeup call on departure day. Perhaps they thought we may still have been up from ‘recycling hour’. Fortunately I woke by chance.
5. Lastly is a bit of a given; the booze is gross. I drink gin, my friend vodka; our drinks were poured from the same mystery blue bottle. No matter, the grocery store is just on the other side of the highway.

On the plus side... food was pretty good for an all inclusive. I think even picky eaters would be able to find something. Also, staff is pretty friendly, rooms were clean, beds comfortable. The small marina/restaurant/shop area is nice. Its built around this dolphin enclosure which is neat, but you really end up feeling bad for the dolphins seeing as they share their water with the marina. DEFINITELY go to Gringo Dave’s and get the Nachos. OH, and the hotel has cancelled the free shuttle service into Playa del Carmen (which had we known before hand may have influenced our decision in another direction), and the cab is $160 pesos. HOWEVER, what they don’t tell you is that you can catch a collective van/cab back for 20 pesos!!! They are all lined up and waiting 2 blocks up from 5th Avenue at 2nd and 15th. Lastly, the blue polo-shirted Nolitour ‘representatives’ are a little shady and not wholly informed so take everything they say with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxxteenyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

My wife and I spent a week here from the 15th to the 22nd of January. This was actually our second trip to the Catalonia Yucatan; as we'd been last year and taken our girls (11 and 13) with us on the previous trip.

Our first trip (March of 2010) to the resort had proved a pleasant surprise. We'd been advised, and, read many reviews about how the Catalonia was not as big as the other resorts in the area, and, some parts were a little aged, but that was more than made up for by the amazing staff. Our first visit definitely proved that point, and, was a large contributing factor to our decision to head back (along with the fact we only had a week to spend, so, we figured we'd choose something we could get a direct flight to, that was a known commodity).

Arrival at the hotel was pleasant enough. We were greeted warmly by the front reception staff, and, given a drink while we waited in line. The woman checking us in would best be described as pleasant, but, distracted. She clearly was preoccupied by something else, and, was fairly light on details. That said, as we'd been there before, it wasn't a big deal for us, but, anyone making a first time visit may have found it a bit unsettling.

Regardless, checkin went smooth and we were given card keys to our suite. For this trip, as it was just my wife and I, we decided to upgrade to a suite (versus adjoining rooms which we'd had last time). While you will see some mixed reviews of the accommodations, I can tell you, our suite was wonderful (see attached pictures). Thankfully a bellman took our bags and lead us to our room, as the one confusing bit was that we were in suite with a number beginning with 8 but that suite was in building 9. Bit quirky, certainly, but, not an issue as the bellman lead us. That said, had he not, given the lack of information provided by the front desk staff member, it may have been a bit more confusing.

Regardless, we found the suite to be spacious, reasonably well appointed, with pleasant enough decor and a convenient location. We'd read other complaints about rooms with air conditioning or plumbing problems but had none ourselves. If we had one challenge with the room it was the bed itself. It was about on par with resort beds at many places we've stayed at (such as the Riu in Aruba) in that it was large, but, quite hard. All it meant was a bit of stretching in the morning as we tended to wake up a bit stiff. On the flip side however, the outdoor bathtub off the patio doors of our bedroom was a delightful way to soak at the end of the day, washing away the salt water while able to enjoy the wonderful weather and being outdoors.

Over the course of the week, we tried the Mexican, Japanese and Steakhouse a la carte restaurants. In our opinion, the Mexican was the best food, the Japanese had the best ambience and presentation, and the steakhouse was so-so (we may be biased however in that we are from Alberta and are spoiled at home with some of the world's best beef). Our one observation however about the a la cartes was that, compared to our last visit, the service seemed slightly less attentive, a little less friendly and not quite as good as the last time we'd visited. This observation seemed to hold true for the service at the buffets and even the bars as well. That is not to say it is bad, but, the first visit we'd made to the resort, everywhere you went, you were greeted by a smiling face, someone saying 'Hola' to you and very attentive service, and, this time just didn't quite feel up to that level. There were a few notable exceptions. Julie in the open air buffet was a perpetual beacon of sunshine (even though she was running around like mad), and, was always there to offer another drink, to clear a plate or even to just offer a joke or advice. Our chef at the Japanese a la carte seemed to have genuine enthusiasm for his job and wanted to do whatever he could to make the experience pleasant and memorable.

We also decided to try the spa this time at the resort, and, ended up booking a couples package that included facials, massages and therapeutic baths. The spa itself is a gorgeous space and on par with other high end spas we've been to at other resorts and even at home. The massages were pleasant, and, the almost 2 hours spent there were relaxing, but, again, the trend held true, service was very good but not great.

All this said, there are still many great things about the Catalonia. The location and proximity to the water are hard to beat. As both my wife and I are avid snorkelers, to be able to have large expanses of coral, an inlet full of fish (many interesting fish no less) and ample space on the beach to spread out and enjoy the sun was wonderful. The selection and quality of food at the buffets is above par and better than many other so-called higher end resorts we've stayed at.

So, all in all, we were happy with our decision, and, although not up to the high standards we had from our first visit, we'd have no issues recommending to friends as a choice if they were thinking about Mexico.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daryl_from_YEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

So I returned from one week at the Catalonia Yucatan resort a few days ago. Overall, I had a great time, as you'd probably expect. It's hard to not enjoy 30C+ weather when you're leaving -30C weather in Canada.

The flight with Air Transat was great. I flew Club class with another one of my friends, the other three opted not to. Club class was completely worth it. The seats are noticeably wider and more comfortable, you get to board first and you're also able to carry an astounding 40KG in your luggage, vs. 20KG. We left in the morning and caught at 6:40AM flight, so we were served a good breakfast (Eggs Benedict) and free champagne and OJ. The food was okay, I was just happy to get some sleep in a comfortable seat on the way there. Bring shorts in your carry on so you can get changed and be comfortable on the plane, but also so you're ready for the heat wave when you get to the air port.

Getting off the plane was fantastic, since you're sitting right at the front you're the first off, you get through security first, and you also get your bags unloaded first as well. The whole process took no more than 15 minutes. Our friends took an extra half hour, so we had a chance to down Corona outside of the airport while we waited.

The bus ride was comfortable, it takes about an hour to get to the resort from CUN and you can buy $3 coronas the whole way there. We took full advantage.

When we arrived, our stuff was unloaded promptly and we stood in line for roughly 30 minutes. It kinda sucked. On top of that, our rooms weren't ready until 3PM, so we had all of our stuff sitting at the front of the hotel while we walked around the resort. Everything was safe and we got some drinks while we waited.

We got our rooms, which although we requested adjacent rooms were quite far away. The resort isn't massive, so it wasn't a problem. The rooms were comfortable, and since we were there to party, we just really wanted a place to sleep and shower. The beds kinda sucked, they were plywood with a box spring, mattress, pyramid foam (seriously), and a thin sheet/blanket. Of course, after enough tequila they became clouds from heaven. The biggest problem was that the beds were short. I'm only 6'0, and my feet were constantly hanging off the edge.

The rooms were always kept spotless by the housekeeping staff. These people are miracle workers. You go to breakfast for 30 minutes and when you return your room is ridiculously clean. They're like ninjas. Nice little towel animals, they disassembled our razors and cleaned our mugs. Insane. Do yourself a favor and tip them generously because they really do deserve it. Having a clean room after a full day/night of partying is crucial.

The resort is beautiful. It's small, but it's really well maintained. They were always grooming it and building new areas. The pools were a real highlight. They have three or four pools, and they're pretty big. Two of which are attached to swim up bars. We pretty much lived in one of the swim up bar pools the entire week, and the bar tenders feed you shots until you hit the ground. It was ridiculous...ly awesome. If you asked for water, they pointed to the pool. They were serious too.

The beach kinda sucked. We actually ended up there only at night. It was really small, lots of rock and coral everywhere and nobody was in the water. Still, lots of people were enjoying relaxing out by the water and seemed to have no problems whatsoever. It was still a scenic beach, it's just that I've been to much better.

The food was pretty good. Again, we're not super fancy, but the breakfast was good. They have bacon (thank god), eggs, french toast/pancakes/waffles, a ton of fruit and other weird food. There was an egg bar where you could give the guy a bunch of fresh veggies and meat and he would make you a sweet omelette. This guy was a god, and honestly I've been craving one of them ever since I returned.

Lunch was good. We went to the BBQ area near the beach the entire time, and had fries/chili/chicken/burgers every day. Nothing special, but it was mostly just to carb up so we could continue to party. Lots of room to sit, and buffet style so it was quick.

Dinner was pretty great. We went to the main restaurant area which is covered by a huge bird net (we called it the batting cage), and the food was great. After a full day of alcoholic beverages dinner became your savior. They turn the egg bar into a pasta bar at night, where you select your noodles, your veggies, and then the guy sautes it all for you. Good stuff.

After dinner we usually took a quick nap before the night time debauchery started. We went to the big bar outside of the theater most nights, which was pretty classy and relaxed. They played a lot of classic rock which was nice, and the server was on point. She kept the drinks coming and coming and coming. This was where we killed time until the disco opened at 11pm. A few nights we hit a beach party and explored other areas, which were all nice. Tequila shots became a ritual.

The disco is big, with lots of seating room and a huge dance floor. There's one bar, but the service is pretty good. Honestly, when we were there the first three nights were literally epic, packed with girls, but once they all left so did the party. Some nights there were under 20 people in a huge disco, it really sucked. We didn't want to go to Coco Bongo because we were trying to keep the trip as cheap as possible.

The worst part is that the disco starts to pick up at around midnight, but it closes at 1:45am. After 1:45am, there is nowhere to go. All the bars are closed, all the food is gone, and security pushes you from the disco area to the pool area, and then pool security pushes you to the beach, and then beach security tells you to go to bed. When we asked where else we could go, they said "Nowhere."

Seriously? It's not even 2am at this point, and I realize it may be late for some people, but when I'm in Mexico trying to have a good time there should at least be an after hours place to hang out. We weren't even being rowdy at that point, and security still stood within 5m of you staring at you. We could have partied in our room, but then we would be disturbing everybody who was trying to sleep.

I was in Punta Cana last year and after the disco closed at 2am, there was a 24-hr sports bar with drinks, there was a BBQ buffet open until 4am, so you could pretty much do whatever you wanted. Way, way, better.

If you're not planning on leaving the resort and want a place to party until the sun rises, I do not recommend this resort. It's our fault, we should have done our research better.

Overall, it's a beautiful resort, but I think if you're looking to really let loose you either have to bring a ton of money and head to Coco or Playa Del Carmen, or go to a resort in Cancun instead.

Oh, and speaking of Playa Del Carmen, it's beautiful. The beach is amazing, they have great food (authentic mexican, bring a fire hose), and you can literally find -anything- you want. I'll leave it at that.

Overall, the five of us had a great time during the day, but the nights were always a bit of a let down. No regrets though, I just hope that 20-somethings reading this review understand the kind of resort they're going to.

Oh, and the WiFi there is useless. You have it in your room, but it's sooooooooo slow you might as well not even bother. It's much faster in the bar outside the theater and in the lobby. I have my own company so I had to work while on the trip, thank god I had a decent international data plan on my BlackBerry.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank partyboy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,592 reviews
23 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 6 in Playa Maroma
8,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#99 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
9,969 reviews
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,318 reviews
2.7 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £120 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing