We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, recommended, excellent!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Aventuras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porto Bello Private Residence Club
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic, recommended, excellent!”
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This was a one week exchange with Interval, (2nd week spent at the Paseo del Sol, see my review) We arrived just in time to catch the young lady in the office as it closes at 4pm, although we had paid for an extra night they had lost the booking and the villa wasnt ready. She wanted us to stay at the Marina for one night but we insisted and eventually got our original booking. Apparently the guy who took our extra night booking had left a couple of weeks earlier! Once this was sorted the villa turned out to be fantastic, overlooking the marina, jacuzzi on the huge balcony, lovely furniture and fittings etc. Maid Service exceptional!
Had an issue with the internet point which never really got resolved, and the full time staff in the office werent much help. The pool was really nice and as it was early September only one or two other villas were occupied so on the odd occasion we sat round the pool we had it to ourselves. Stocked up with food and drink at Walmarts on the way in from the Airport but had several lovely meals at the small restaurants and bistros round the Marina. Accessed the lovely beach through the Omni Hotel, had to pay for beds on the beach though. I would highly recommend this lovely small complex.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karmazyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A P, Director General at Porto Bello Private Residence Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi, thank you very much for your comment, its amazing when after a hard time you arrive at a beautiful place like Puerto Aventuras, everything calms down and starts to get much better, its great you enjoy the place, it would be a pleasure to have you at PortoBello again and enjoy of this magical place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    7
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We had a great week in Puerto Aventurous. Our villa (205) was perfect. Very roomy, clean, comfortable beds, full kitchen and a lovely view of the marina. Every night we enjoyed our jacuzzi under the stars. We found enough supplies at the two little grocery stores to make our own breakfasts and lunches. For suppers we tried the several PA restaurants. They were all good but special mention must be made of the fresh fish platter at Richards. The beach at the Omni Hotel was a 5 minute walk away. White sand and blue Caribbean ocean. One day we rented a palapa and chairs for $20 but if you don't need the shade, your towel will do. It was fun to watch the boats in the marina, the fishermen cleaning their fish. We enjoyed the dolphin and sea lion shows.

The only negative experience about our week was the taxi service arranged through the resort. I agree completely with the previous post. They are unreliable and they overcharge. Just one example; We arranged with the resort for pickup at the airport. We waited for 45 minutes but our driver did not show. Very upsetting as it had been arranged that he would give us our villa keys because the office would be closed when we arrived. And that was not the only time a driver did not show up for us at the designated time.

We would definitely go back to Porto Bello but would rent a car.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnysideCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A P, Director General at Porto Bello Private Residence Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi, thank you very much for your comments its great you enjoy it, Im very sorry you have that bad experience with the taxis, we also as Concierge have vans for rent and transfers, which is better than taxis.
Hope you come back soon and contact us to assist with your vacations and a really great lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

I loved the place - absolutely FANTASTIC digs...Clean and beautiful. Liz was wonderful and helpful.

I hated the BUGS....MILLIONS, BILLIONS of biting black bugs. We were held captive inside because the bugs were so bad outside we could not use the balconies at all. The jacuzzi did not put out hot water and was also always full of BUGS! If your head was not underwater, you were being attacked by BILLIONS of BUGS!

Every bus and taxi driver upped the price for every single ride....especially the ones at the very front of the resort. They will hit you for 5 bucks US to drive you from the gate -less than 1/2 mile to Puerto Bello. That is such a shame because many of us will never return because of that. Do not think for even one second that you are not being ripped off. Every day, every place in and outside of Puerto Adventuras. Bus drivers would agree on the price before entering the van and then would refuse to give you any change. IT SUCKS and is too bad. The people who run Puerto Adventuras Resort should screen drivers, buses etc. before allowing them to stop anywhere near the property.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FloridaArtsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
600 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

For our 3rd week in the Yucutan (after Playa and Cancun) we decided try something new -- a marina. It was pretty neat with all the great fishing boats right outside our end unit. Our patio had nice chairs and a table, with a hot tub (this one didn't seem to want to produce HOT water, but we talked to others who had hot water). We could not make our safe work, or the internet after trying two cables......other rooms seemed to work fine. We were in Unit 108 - so maybe avoid that one. Fun to walk around the small little "town" and people were friendly. Looks like a great place if you want to 1) fish; 2) swim with the dolphins (which we could see every day and the manatees being fed) or 3) parasail. Those activities are right there. Our pool was nice and very warm (this is not an Omni pool set up). Many people who come here own and many have several weeks. The "beach" is about 10-15 minutes walk over to the Omni where you are allowed to use their beach. We didn't even bother. It is so small (eroded). Folks did say if you wanted to use beach it was a very short swim out to the reef to snorkel and they did enjoy it. Puerto Adventuras as a little too quite for me -- so we rented a car for 2 days and went to Akumal to snorkel with the tortugas and then to Tulum and Jose y Ana's beach club. I guess if you just love to rest and read, swim in pool, great place. Bed was comfortable, kitchen worked (glass stove top cracked) and things were on the older side, but it was just fine. The A/C worked great and was needed due to humidit/heat. We had a one bedroom unit and it seemed to have plenty of room for us. No eating table in unit, but the one on the deck worked fine. No ice cube trays, but we used the egg holders from the fridge. One more thing -- when we checked in the lady said they sold water. I sort of said OK (this was Saturday, with staff gone on Sunday). By Monday, we were there right away to get water. The tap water is horrible!!! So for relaxing, mellow time, fine place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Stayed at the Porto Bello Marina & Villas on an Interval Exchange. Our last trip to this part of Mexico was 30 yrs ago. Everything had changed so much. Used USA Transfers for the trip to and from the Cancun airport. Liz at Porto Bello was in the office when we arrived and was very helpful throughout our stay. The unit was clean and the marina area, shops and Dolphin Discovery provided pleasant, albeit a little pricey, surroundings. With fishing boats coming in each afternoon, I expected to eat a little more cheaply at the marina restaurants. Took a half day trip to Hidden Worlds to snorkel a couple of cenotes. Liz hooked us up with Go Paco Tours for a trip to Muyil. This day trip took us to the ruins at Muyil, a hike through the jungle to a large lagoon in the Sian Kaan reserve where boats met us to take us further into the reserve to view more ruins and a "float" down a natural channel in the wetlands. It was fantastic. Paco was a great guide and provided insight into all of the features of the ruin and the Sian Kaan reserve. Our final day was spent on a shopping excursion to Cozumel. We couldn't believe how commercialized the island has become. Thought we were in Cabo with everyone hustling one thing or another.

We found we didn't need a car with our trip providers providing transportation. Also glad we didn't return to the tourist traps of Tulum and Xel-ha. We'd rather remember them the way they were 30 yr ago.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank espanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Porto Bello Marina and Villas will probably be a great fit for you if you are an independent traveler, have done your research on what to do in the Riviera Maya, and have a lot planned for your vacation.

My husband and I recently returned from a 1 week stay through an Interval Exchange.

Accommodations: Condos are modern, comfortable, clean, well decorated, sufficient kitchen, have daily maid service, TVs with DVD player, stereo, great verandas with lounge chairs and table with chairs for eating outdoors. Jacuzzi on the veranda, view of the Marina and pool, pool very clean with plenty of lounge chairs. Our unit did not have a phone- bring your cell! Also, there are almost no staff here, no concierge, no brochures, no guidance for your vacation, no big welcome- so make sure you've done your research and already know what you want to do.

The Area: South of Cancun about 1 hour 20 minutes for us, we did not experience any construction delays as others have described in the past- very easy drive on one highway the entire way. We found the area perfect for getting to everything we planned to see: 25 minutes North to get to Playa del Carmen, 20 minutes South to get to Tulum, 2 hours 20 minutes to Chichen Itza, 15 minutes North to Xcaret and Xplore, 15 minutes South to Akumal, 1 hour 20 minutes to Coba.

Porto Bello is within a larger tourist development, Puerto Aventuras. There are a few so-so restaurants, a money exchange, ATMs, and shops as well as the Dolphin Discovery Park a short walk from your room. We found enough snacks and basics in the shops to make our breakfast and to pack a simple lunch each day which saved us a lot of money.

The Beach: The beach within Puerto Aventuras is not ideal- rocky, reef (which makes it good for snorkeling though), sandbags sticking up out of the sand where they are trying to save the beach line. There is also very little space for lounging as the hotels take up most of the beach with their chairs and do not allow you to sit unless you pay for a daily pass. We were told $20 a day to sit under a palapa at Hotel Omni. The pool/beach bar at the Omni served us, no happy hour, but decent prices and okay drinks.

Some Must Do's from our trip:

-Rent a car. I would not stay at the Porto Bello unless you plan on having a car. There really isn't much to do within the complex.

-Stop in Puerto Morelos on your way from the Airport and eat on the deck at Pelicano's. Get the fish Tikin Xic- amazing!

-Go to the Tulum ruins- pack a lunch, drinks, and wear your bathing suite. See the ruins and then spend the rest of the day swimming on the beach with the ruins in the background- big waves, clear water, and a beautiful view! Bring a hat, no shade whatsoever on this beautiful beach.

- Go to dinner in Playa del Carmen each night- really great restaurants and nightlife. Definitely eat at Yaxche and try their Mayan Margarita- also amazing!

- Spend a day at Chichen Itza, bring a hat- stop at some of the cenotes near Akumal to swim on your way back.

-Go to Xcaret, get there early because there's a lot to see. Swim the underground rivers, snorkel, and definitely stay for the show in the evening. It's really expensive but we were really glad we went.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BostonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Had a great mini vacation in Puerto Aventuras. We did not do a lot of research and did not know what to expect. The Porto Bello Marina is in a great location, near the dolphins and other sea animals and a handful of restaurants. There are fewer units than I would have guessed and the other guests were mostly owners - we did an Interval swap. The owners seemed to all know each other very well. Several of the owners were very nice and offered some great advice regarding restaurants and day trips - they really made the difference. We did feel a little self-conscious about our young children as most of the owners were retired and there was only one other child there (whom our kids had a great time with). Enjoyed watching the fishing charters come in with the days catch.

Pros: Loved Akumal - snorkleing, going to Playa Del Carmen at night, and Tulum - again Playa Aventuras is central to all of this. Great houskeeping. Rooms were great.

Cons: not a great beach at the Omni. Staff was nice, but really not around much. I inquired about a purchase, and no one followed up.

We hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ragman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Aventuras hotels
0.4 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,961 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bello Private Residence Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bello Private Residence Club

Property: Porto Bello Private Residence Club
Address: Puerto Aventuras, Bahia de Xcacel Lote 9 MZ 923 | Plano 01, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Porto Bello Private Residence Club inside the beautiful gated Beach, Marina and Golf Resort of Puerto Aventuras. Porto Bello is a Flagship property of Puerto Aventuras that offers a wonderful hassle free lifestyle in Marina View home size full equipped 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Vacation Rentals available per night, week and month. Send us an email at to find out about our season rates and experience the personal services of our concierge even before you arrive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porto Bello Marina And Villas
Porto Bello Marina & Villas Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Porto Bello Marina Hotel
Porto Bello Private Residence Club Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing