We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”

The Clansman Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a lovely little restaurant with excellent service. Everyone was so nice. Me and my wife stopped there as we were visiting the surrounding area at Whithorn. We read the reviews before hand and were not disappointed. Wow the food was lovely with fantastic service they couldn't do enough. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    39
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ashmcgrath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in Dumfries and Galloway”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Seven of us had a family meal in the Clansman on Saturday night and we all thought the food and service were excellent. Our booking was last minute so we were seated in an area off the main dining room, which was the only downside, as it lacked the atmosphere of the main restaurant.
Apart from that, we had a lovely time. The food was really delicious and the service was prompt and attentive. The type and range of food on offer was similar to what you see in many bars and restaurants in the area but the quality was a cut above. The deserts in particular were delicious and of a really high standard.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We dinned here because we had heard the good reviews and let's face it it's the only restaurant in the village.
Well what can I say !
Superb food
Fast service
Friendly service
In a nut shell defiantly recommend this delightful eating establishment
5 stars all the way

Helpful?
1 Thank Darran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Too much food which is a waste, but excellent. Food well prepared and very tasty. Good choice on menu. Service friendly and efficient. Mona Thomson Dumfries.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Be selective”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We dined there recently. The atmosphere and service were very good .I had cod, which was fine but my daughter had a veggie goulash .. What arrived seemed to be a fried/grilled vegetables + rice in a beany/ketchupy liquid. It wasn't very pleasant and it certainly wasn't goulash as I know it .
I would certainly visit again but would take a little more care over the selection.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bilylidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherylt70, Owner at The Clansman Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us, we are sorry you didn't enjoy one of your meals ( although we are still trying to work out what you actually had as we don't have a vegetable goulash on the menu!) But that aside, we wish you had mentioned this so we could have given you an alternative meal and not have an unhappy customer leave the restaurant. Our waitresses are supposed to courtesy call the table to check everything is ok , I hope this happened on the night? We hope you will still come back to us and we can rectify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clansman Restaurant also viewed

Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Sorbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Whithorn, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Clansman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing