We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Rose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage
Rose Cottage garden The living room at Rose Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Rose Cottage
Rose Cottage garden
The living room at Rose Cottage
The living room at Rose Cottage
Double bedroom at Rose Cottage
The twin bedroom at Rose Cottage
Rose Cottage kitchen
Single bedroom at Rose Cottage
Snowdrops in the woods next to Rose Cottage
Gavin Maxwell memorial and St. Medan's golf  course
View over the countryside around Rose Cottage to the Galloway Hills
Port William
Port William
Walking the coastal path at St Ninian's cave
Sunset at Monreith Bay
Isle of Whithorn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neale J
Rossington, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Rose cottage is set in a lovely part of Scotland; it's comfortable without being pretentious and at a great price.
The wildlife and stars make it special !
Great safe setting for small families,coast nearby, good walks and cycling on doorstep.
Good food at local inns and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property feels homely, has a fantastic garden and is so peaceful.
Liked least: A little worn in places but at the price fantastic value.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
We are so please to read all the wonderful reviews in our visitors book when we visit the cottage. Great to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas holiday there. Thank you for taking the additional time to review Rose Cottage on Tripadvisor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W
1 review
“nice cottage with fabulously large gardens”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A very nice little cottage in a very quiet location but extremely handy for the area. The garden is massive. We spent quite a bit of time playing Tennis [there is a net] and boules, and just lying in the sun on the lawn. We had a very happy week there as a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
We are so please to read all the wonderful reviews in our visitors book when we visit the cottage. Great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday there. Thank you for taking the additional time to review Rose Cottage on Tripadvisor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGoldsbro...
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Cottage and beautiful gardens in an amazing rural area.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our stay here was really enjoyable - we loved the cottage and its gardens were beautiful. The location was great for us with little ones - fab walks and good beaches nearby. A lovely place and a happy time had by all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review. We are always pleased to hear when guests enjoy Rose Cottage as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warbe
northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite relaxing cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We spent a lovely Christmas at Rose cottage, have stayed in this area several times and this is one of the best cottage with an excellent location with very large garden for our two west highland terriers.
There are plenty of good walks and cycle tracks, and numerous places to visit.
The owner Mr Cruickshank was very helpful and telephoned us at the cottage to see if we had arrived safely and that we had ever thing we .
We would recommend and look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet location with cosy fire
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim g
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal for a quiet time away from the maddening crowds.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We found Rose Cottage to be a comfortable cosy hideaway and were pleased with the amenities provided. The accommodation had been prepared and was well presented on our arrival.
The coal / log fire is easy to use and very effective in adding to the cosy feel of the living room. The beds, and bedding provided were spot on, we've stayed at a number of holiday rentals where it was impossible to enjoy a good nights sleep because of uncomfortable beds.
We had no problems with any of the cottages services / amenities, the kitchen and bathroom are well equipped and presented, there were no problems regarding the toileting facilities [ as mentioned in a previous review I read prior to booking.]
The cottage and garden provided the ideal environment to relax and forget about the hurly burly of city life,
I contacted the owner of the cottage, Mr Cruickshank, for information and advice about the cottage and the local area and found him to be very accommodating and informative.
I paid the £200 security deposit because of our taking the family pet dog with us, the deposit was returned to me within a week of our returning home.
Over the past few years myself and my family have visited South West Scotland regularly and had thought it about time to venture elsewhere, we'd seen it all we thought, no surprises left in that particular area. However, Rose Cottage and the surrounding countryside taught us that there are still places to be discovered and enjoyed and we will be hoping to book a return visit in the new year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility, a perfect place to rest and unwind. The cottage is cosy and comfortable, the garden is well maintained ,private and secure for pets...
Liked least: The weather.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you to Rose Cottage again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
120Rebecc...
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous family holiday”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our time at Rose Cottage was peaceful and relaxing. The children absolutely loved the huge garden and the games thoughtfully provided by the owner. The cottage was clean and had everything that we needed for a good week away. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Rose Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the garden
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Thank you for your comments. as I have said before, it is great to hear that others enjoy the cottage as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irenesmit...
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
“a good holiday experience”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Rose Cottage is a comfortable, well equipped cottage in a beautiful setting. It is ideal for families with children or a dog because of the very large,safe, private garden. It is suitable to be used as a base to discover the lovely surrounding areas of Dumfries and Galloway or alternatively is ideal for just chilling out.
The small shops in Port William are OK for the basics but it is a good idea to stock up on provisions before arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walks in the local area and visiting Galloway Forest
Liked least: The long journey back home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2013
Thank you for reviewing Rose Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing