We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #1 of 1 Port William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Tim and Hilary are outstanding hosts, most helpful and very welcoming but never intruding on your privacy. The rooms are lovely, supplied with everything you need and much more. Breakfast was superb with excellent choices, and the views are amazing. On top of this it is extremely good value. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPtimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you very much for posting this review. We really appreciate you making the effort to post such superb and generous comments.
We hope you will come and stay with us again when you next travel to Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great value. Brilliant place to get away by the sea. Locals are very friendly. Very comfy. Fantastic breakfast. Hosts, Tim and Hilary, are lovely. Beautiful location by the sea. Just a short stay but felt so welcomed. Definitely recommend for anyone considering visiting Scotland. Can't recommend enough!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

We really appreciate you posting this generous review,thank you.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip arond Galloway and hope you'll return to stay with us in this lovely part of Scotland.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at this wonderful bed & breakfast for one night, wish I could have stayed longer but work didn't permit. The room was lovely with some really nice touches. This was a bed & breakfast which is priced as a bed and breakfast but has the facilities and food of a large hotel. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks very much for posting this review.
It is lovely to know that our guests enjoy their stay and great to see your generous comments.
I hope the "business" side of your trip went well (despite the weather) and that all your beasts had been well looked after upon your return home.
We hope you will stay with us again if you find yourself in Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed here for one night while visiting the Wigtown Book Festival. Tim and Hilary are very welcoming and they have got the balance just right between making you feel at home and leaving you to your own devices.
Breakfast was lovely and fresh and what a view from the dining room!
I'd highly recommend Hawthorn House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaD_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you so much for posting this review. We really appreciate that you made time to do this after your brief, busy visit to Galloway. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House - and we hope your move goes well!!
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilatry Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We book ed here after reading the reviews on trip advisor, and were not disappointed. Tim and Hilary made us feel very welcome. We booked the King Size room which was very spacious and plenty of drawers etc. We had a lovely view of the sea and having a pair of binoculars in the room was good to see the sea/bird life. As we arrived around 1pm we quickly left our bags and then went to the local pub for lunch as it stops serving around 1.45pm. Tim managed to books into the Clansman restuarant for our evening meal. There is not a lot to do in Port William but Tim and Hilary are very knowledgeable about the local area. The breakfast in the B & B is excellent. Good variety of cereal etc and although I did not have it my husband had the full scottish breakfast which was plentiful, homemade bread was great. Nice touches in the bedroom were the bathrobes, chocolates and most important shortbread which was delicious.
If visiting this area again I would certainly return to Hawthorn House.

Room Tip: Go for King Size room which has ensuite and looks out to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We know potential guests like to read reviews before making a booking - as you did - and are very grateful for your generous comments.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House and hope you'll find time to visit us again.
Thank you.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

a luxurious place to stay while at the same time being very homely. Tim & hilary were excellent & friendly hosts who went out of their way to help and advise you. We stayed in the king-size room and it was very spacious with a large en-suite. the whole place was spotless clean and the sea view was lovely. Breakfast was very well cooked with lots of choice.Would not hesitate to stay here again if returning to this excellent area of Scotland.

Room Tip: The king size is really king size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetw53661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to post this review with your very generous comments.
We really appreciate the effort and are very grateful for all the compliments.
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House and hope that should you return to Galloway and stay with us again, you will bring better weather with you!
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We chose Hawthorn House as a base to explore this lovely corner of Galloway, and were not disappointed. Hosts Tim and Hilary were welcoming and knowledgeable regarding the area, and always happy to advise on where to visit. The large en-suite double room was spacious and comfortable with a splendid sea view towards the Mull of Galloway. Breakfasts were always freshly cooked and provided an excellent start to the day.
We still have a couple of locations to 'tick-off' in the area, so if the opportunity arises we would have no hesitation in selecting Hawthorn House as our first choice of accommodation.
Tip: if you decide to dine at the nearby Clansman Restaurant in the evening, advance booking is almost essential, and even more so at weekends. (On our last evening I was fortunate enough to observe an otter on our return to the B&B - a rare and unexpected bonus!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to post this review - and so soon too - presumably while you are continuing your holiday in Scotland. We really appreciate the positive comments you have made. When you return to Galloway to visit those remaining locations, you'll be most welcome, and rest assured we will have a ready supply of veggie suasages and beans at Hawthorn House !!
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: Second Sands, Port William DG8 9QP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Port William
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port William
Price Range: £56 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north end of the coast road at Port William, there are unrestricted views over Luce Bay onto the Mull of Galloway. We are perfectly sited to offer an ideal holiday for visitors of all ages. With safe beaches, a wide variety of wildlife, beautiful countryside for walking and cycling, golf, fishing, wonderful sunsets, and a friendly welcome, you are sure to enjoy your stay. Luxurious accommodation in a beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Port William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing