We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee break”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #1 of 1 Port William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from staying 1 night here. The B&B is on the outskirts of Port William in a stunning location. We had a room with a sea view and binnoculars are thoughtfuly provided to enjoy the sights more fully. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. Not only were tea/coffeee facilities provided to cater for every taste, but home made shortbread was also available. (and a nice wee tablet of chocolate awaited us on the bathrobes provided) There was a comprehensive folder in our room telling ous not only about the b&b but also things to do and see in the surrounding area. An extensive breakfast menu was available to choose from, and Tim introduced us to fellow guests at breakfast.
Only negative comments are that there was no lock on our bedroom door, that would have given peace of mind for safety of ourselves, and belongings, as you never know who your fellow guests are, Also only 1 room is ensuite for which you pay a £20 supplement
Overall we had a fantastic stay and highly reccomend this b&b, Tim and Hilary are perfect hosts

Room Tip: Seaview room is excellent, marked it down to very good only as no lock on door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to post this review, we really appreciate your generous comments.
We take your point about locks on bedroom doors. It is a fine balance between "family home" and "guest-house" when running a B&B - and we tend to err on the side that guests are staying in our "home" - but your point is well made and we will consider the alternatives.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House and hope you will stay with us again when you next visit Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Tim and Hilary are fantastic hosts so welcoming and all the little extras (homemade shortbread) mmm, make this b&b a fabulous place to stay in the beautiful Port William, absolutely everything you need is here, comfortable, clean, homely, stayed 2 nights end may, will most definitely be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branch242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks for posting this review. We're really grateful that you took the trouble to post such generous comments.
We look forward to you coming back to stay at Hawthorn House when you next visit Galloway .

Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a two night break at Hawthorn House with my daughter. We were pleasantly surprised at the standards set by Hazel and Tim, everything is provided down to toiletries and bath robes, and nothing is too much trouble for them. We couldn't believe how much you get for your money. Its where we will definitely be returning to when visiting that part of Scotland.

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin room which meant a shared bathroom but that caused no problems at all. There wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaclynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks for making time to post this review. Your generous comments mean a lot to us and we really appreciate that you have gone to the trouble of posting them.
We hope you will come back to Galloway soon and stay at Hawthorn House again.

Thank you.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Tim &Hilary have a rare gift in that they can make others totally at ease in their home as though they were there totally to serve you! They have gone to a great deal of trouble to get things set up to run smoothly and one gets the impression that they have collected the best of ideas from different establishments where they have themselves stayed and applied them to Hawthorn House. What has resulted is an experience as good as if not better than many hotels. Our room was large and comfortable with adequate room to sit in as well as sleep although there is also a lounge that can be used downstairs. The en-suite is a good size with an efficient shower. There are bath robes available, complimentary toiletries, and good quality towels. There is also a. Trouser press in the room.
Breakfast is first class with an amazing choice of items. Fresh fruit, excellent porridge and cream , or cereals, Cooked breakfast including amongst the choice of items sliced haggis and black pudding. It is hard to see anything that can be improved upon.

Room Tip: Ask for the en-suite if this is what you wish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for posting this very comprehensive and positive review. We are very grateful that you made time to write such a glowing report of Hawthorn House.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay - and thank you for the insights into fishing boat reg. numbers. We will be taking your book with us on any coastal travels we undertake!
Please visit us again if you are back in Galloway.
Thanks once more.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

stayed here 3 nights in mid May, very comfortable and warm...cosy bed in the king size room. good TV and free WiFi reception...excellent breakfast. Port William is a quiet place but I knew that before booking...overlooking the sea from the bedroom and even though the main road is directly outside it was quiet even with a window open overnight.

Room Tip: only one with en-suite is the kingsize, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank magsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks for posting this positive review - we appreciate you making time so to do. We're very glad you chose to stay at Hawthorn House at the end of your tour and pleased that you you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please visit us again when you are next in glorious Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Really lovely B&B - stayed for one night but could quite easily have stayed longer. Lovely touches really added to the experience - fresh milk in a vacuum jug to keep cool, delicious homemade shortbread and fluffy towels and bathrobes. Everything was exceptionally clean (we had sea facing en-suite room) and the bed was so comfy. Totally delicious selection of breakfast goodies, I had porridge followed by smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and my husband had full Scottish - kept us going all day. Tim and Hilary are both lovely people and excellent hosts. Can't recommend Hawthorn House highly enough if you are in the area. We will be back I am sure.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you so much for posting this very positive review. It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to post such generous comments.
We're very glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and very much hope you will return.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed. For Burns night 2014
Nice big en suite room with views of the sea
Great welcome from the hosts
One of the best breakfasts we've had for a long time, all fresh ingredients and nothing too much trouble. Hope to be back next year

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thanks for writing and posting this great review. That you made time to do this is important to us and we are grateful for your generous comments.
We're also glad you enjoyed your breakfasts - as suggested by the term "Bed & Breakfast" we feel it is a very important part of your stay with us!
We hope you'll stay with us again when next in Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: Second Sands, Port William DG8 9QP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Port William
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port William
Price Range: £55 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north end of the coast road at Port William, there are unrestricted views over Luce Bay onto the Mull of Galloway. We are perfectly sited to offer an ideal holiday for visitors of all ages. With safe beaches, a wide variety of wildlife, beautiful countryside for walking and cycling, golf, fishing, wonderful sunsets, and a friendly welcome, you are sure to enjoy your stay. Luxurious accommodation in a beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Port William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing