We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Logis Dolbeau
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Logis Dolbeau
Le Logis Dolbeau
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Le Logis Dolbeau
Le Logis Dolbeau
Double bedroom
Main bedroom Queen bed
Kitchen
Kitchen
open plan kitchen and living area
Sitting Room
Shower Room
Patio
Patio
View from double Bedroom
Lavoir
St Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
Apremont
Vendee Beach
River Vie at Apremont
Cycling the Vendee beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coex, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
glover_da...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unloved”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We arrived at the cottage on the Saturday afternoon and as arranged the keys were left in a designated place for us.

When we entered the cottage it was dark and a very bad smell of damp. We managed to open some of the shutters after fighting through the vine, cob webs, spiders and flies. We were unable to open a couple of the shutters as the vine had grown in through the shutters making them hard to open.

As we got light into the cottage it became very clear that it had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. Dead bugs all over the floor (some big one's as well). Dead flies caught in cob webs all over and even in the cupboards. This coupled with the bad smell didn't make the best first impression.

We opened the double doors to the patio area to get rid of the smell but this just resulted in flies and wasps entering the cottage from the overgrown vine surrounding the cottage.

The electrics in the house make a funny noise, black marks on the mattress from damp, stains all over the head board on the bed and chairs it was disgusting (see photo's attached).

We set about looking at the crockery which all needed to be washed and in the cupboard was a tin of soup with a use by date going back to 2012.

When we started to run the tap for hot water, absolutely nothing. It took us until the next day to get this sorted and the lady who looks after the house had not turned the boiler on in the basement.

We considered leaving the cottage to find alternative accommodation but we couldn't find anywhere. We set about cleaning the place and spent most of the Sunday sorting it out. We had to buy some new sheets for the bed, dish clothes, chopping board (the one provided had mould on it), smellies to put around the house and most importantly a fly swot.

The river running past the cottage is stagnant and green, not a pretty running river. I could only just get my car on the drive as it is a very small road leading to the cottage with a small turning circle. I had to tie the gates back to stop them hitting the car as you can't close them with the car on the drive.

The owners have a new caretaker who had not cleaned the house before our arrival and it was disgusting. We did leave to come home early as we couldn't stay any longer. We were kept awake with creepy things and spiders most nights that get in the house during the day.

Furniture in the house is old, ripped and stained. We wouldn't sit on the couch as it just looked so unclean.

I have attached some photo's to give you a flavour of how dirty the was when we arrived.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
We have been renting this property out since 2009 and have never received any negative feedback. In fact the clients who rented the property in early May were so pleased with the property they requested to stay longer. The clients who followed after them also had only positive reviews for us.

I contacted the clients who rented the cottage after The Guest as a courtesy, , and once again, he only had positive feedback, as did the clients who stayed there during late April and ay 2014.

Having spent a month at the cottage during May and June we left on 16 June,and personally cleaned the property ourselves, and in our opinion the house was left in pristine condition.

I have consulted with the caretaker who has advised me that she inspected the property on Friday 18 July, which included airing the house for several hours. She was able to open all the shutters easily and there were no bugs visible anywhere on her departure. I have no reason to dispute this.

The cottage is advertised as just that ,a small holiday cottage, and whilst cleanliness cannot be compromised, the antique furniture in the main bedroom does have some water marks , but I can give my assurance that the said furniture is not mouldy or dirty, as it is cleaned on a regular basis. We felt its authentic French charm warranted keeping it. (Several of our guests have commented on how much they enjoyed the bedroom furniture) This applies to the downstairs furniture as well. No previous guests have made mention of the state of the furniture and we have even had compliments on the French charm of the décor. Please refer to previous reviews to confirm this.

We do take our guests comments seriously and have where suggested, have provided the items suggested such as a toaster and sun loungers.

The comments about the parking area are un warranted, as there is a perfectly good garage available to park a car. The Guest chose to park his car in the small area outside the front door and not use the garage, and I am unable to comment on his reason for doing so.

The cottage is in a rural location, surrounded by farms, and insects are abundant. As far as “creepy crawlies” keeping them awake at night, we have never experienced this ourselves.

The Guest had both my telephone and email details as well as the caretaker’s, and I am disappointed he chose not to make contact with either of us. Had he done so, his issues could have been addressed shortly after arrival and where possible would have been immediately resolved. He did in fact email me on discovery that the geyser was not switched on on the night of his arrival, and despite this being at around midnight local time, I responded immediately and the problem was resolved. He emailed me the following morning to confirm that there was hot water and no mention was made of any further unhappiness with the house. (

The Guest made mention of the fact that he had to pay 4.00 Euros to receive his deposit back via PayPal (the preferred method of financial transactions with Holiday lettings). In addition I had no problem refunding him for the day he left early, but was not been given the opportunity to make these arrangements, before he chose to go public with his complaint.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: no garden and evening sun
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful, private location
Liked least: Lack of satellite TV
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Aug 2012
There is an ample supply of firewood available to guests. This is stored in the basement. A combination of the fire and the heaters keeps the cottage quite cozy during the winter months. There is also an extra fan heater available in the kitchen cupboard if required,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
leeds uk
Reviewed 18 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice big beds
Liked least: No home comforts, very small TV, no sun loungers
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Aug 2012
We have taken on board the suggestion of sun loungers on the deck, and now two very comfortable sun loungers are available for relaxing on the deck.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
st.Austell
Reviewed 27 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet
Liked least: Mobile phone signal poor
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing