We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Siladen Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Siladen Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was either our 6th or 7th trip back to Siladen. As usual, the resort lived up to what we have come to expect. We stayed in one of the villa on the beach with a stunning view over the beach and water. The dive team were outstanding! I had trouble with my BCD and they were able to fix the problem after the first dive. Beyond the call of duty! Small groups of divers on the boats, making diving a pleasure. Dive masters who know where to find the "must see" in Siladen. Food was simple but good. We even used the Spa for a wonderful relaxing Indonesia massage. We will be definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danidive, Direttore generale at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear SeashoreBKK,

Thank you very much for the nice review.
SEVEN trips in Siladen means a lot for us! And for sure means a lot for all the Tripadvisor users!
We are looking forward to host you back in the near future with even more cordiality.

Once again thank you!

Best regards,

Daniele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

The location an the stunning views already justify the trip by themselves. The resort lies directly on a beach which is far better than many other dive oriented resorts in the region. Our beach villa was up to expectations, with a beatiful view on the sea framed by a gourgeous vegetation that to some might appear too heavy and impacting the amount of light that gets into the room. Actually we found that it rather protects from the sun. Very quiet and comfortable. Service in general is very good and frequent, but absolutely not invasive. Staff are indeed very nice and responsive to any need or request.
Food is simply excellent and will satisfy any taste or dietary preference. The italian dishes are indeed very good and according to tradition, but we also experienced several very interesting preparations from the region.
Although the resort is in our opinion ideal for divers, it still offers a very nice swimming pool and a Spa to enjoy the day. We also heard from other guests about very nice excursions offered by the resort, that we could not try as we were busy diving.
Finally, the dive center is well organized and equipped, boats are large and comfortable, crew very helpful and enough dive masters to allow groups of 2/3 divers. Valentina and Stefano, in charge of the dive center, always try to satisfy the individual needs and requests.
We spent 8 days diving every day in a different site and they were all amazing !
Overall a very pleasant stay in a beautiful place where the friendly, careful and passionate management of the owners, Daniele and Claudia, makes the difference.

Thanks to the whole staff for making our stay a great memory !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiaraAndreaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danidive, Direttore generale at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear ChiaraAndreaV,

thank you for the nice review.
We always try our best in order to make guests happy.
Please come back to visit us again in the future, I am sure that we will impress you even more!

Best regards,

Daniele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was lucky enough to once again lead a large group of divers and families to this magical island in North Sulawesi. It's not all that easy to get to, but it is very much worth it. In fact, the 3 hour flight from Singapore; 1/2 hour bus and 1 hour boat trip are all part of the fun and give you time to anticipate what you are about to find. This was my third trip to Siladen. Having not been to the island since 2009 I was concerned that maybe the great service, the facilities, or the accommodation might have tapered off or run down a little. But I could not have been more impressed with what we found under the 'new' (well new to me) manager, Danielle. Great resorts revolve around great management and staff and this is where Danielle and his team stand out from the crowd. To start with consider a resort with 90 staff for a maximum of 40 guests. Think about how well you would be looked after. Then add in to the mix, 90 hard working friendly staff who can't do enough to help. From the sincere greeting every morning to the waiters refilling your glasses in the fine restaurant. Everyone from the pool guy cleaning the massive pool every morning, to the lady the rakes every leaf of the pathways makes contact, remembers your name and helps in every way they can. I was amazed to note that Danielle's staff would even anticipate our requests, and help out before being asked. This has to be the best location I have ever run dive trips to. The 3 trips I've run have been blessed with perfect weather - glassy calm seas day after day and magical sunsets night after night. And for a diving group this is doubly important.
Nearly a dozen of my group completed their Open Water Course and Stefan and Valentina did a great job patiently working through the various challenges.

And the diving! I've been to Sipadan; The Solomons; Palau; The Maldives; Fiji (a dozen times); Vanuatu and The Philippines, and believe me that this is 5 star diving on some of the most colourful and biodiverse walls on the planet. Not masses of big fish, but the odd school of Big Eye Trevally; Bumphead Wrasse and lots of Turtles - 3 -6 on most dives. The water was 30 degrees C and I did 4 dives on some days, with 16 dives overall - all of them great. There are no dud divesites here and one day I hope to get further north up to the Bangka Islands (which Siladen does offer). And, if anything, we found the diving to be better than ever. Rubbish in the water was occasionally evident in the past, but on this trip we saw scarcely a plastic bag. The reefs are as healthy as ever and we actually saw very few other dive boats at all.

Accomodation and meals were first rate - twice Danielle got a band over from Manado for us (playing very cool covers) and one night they worked for hours converting the whole restaurant into jungle theme with local dishes on offer. Several lunches were enjoyed in the shade of the huge trees on the beach as the staff moved the restaurant onto the beach. it was idyllic. There are other land based tours of offer, but we were too busy on and under the water. A sunset cruise was also a very scenic and idyllic way to end the day. We also appreciated that the resort runs a small turtle hatchery - rearing turtles until they are old enough to be released. The comments about the rooms being a little dark have been taken onboard by Danielle - the beachfront rooms now have halogen downlight over the beds which effectively brighten up the whole room and LED reading lamps by now will have been fitted to all rooms. Siladen is not 5 star 'luxury' but rather stylish and well appointed rooms that are charming and certainly of the highest standard in the entire area. I cannot recommend this place highly enough - you will love it.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are the go - well worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danidive, Direttore generale at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Divefreak,

thank you for the great review!
I am particularly happy that, having been in Siladen 3 times, you have noticed the difference. In fact we always try to improve our standard and we will continue in order to impress you even more on your next diving trip.

Once again thank you!

Best regards,

Daniele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Many of the previous reviews have given Siladen very positive reviews. Our experience was as good or better.
The review can be made in three parts the resort, diving & staff.
We wanted a resort that had good food, located close to most dive sites (so that you could return to the resort after the morning dives for lunch), air conditioned sleeping and a pool. The resort met all these conditions. The food was excellent. A variety of themes (Italian, BBQ etc) served in a variety of locations (in the restaurant, lunch under the trees on the beach or near the pool at night). We dive as a family but like to take some afternoons off and read by the pool or on the beach. Having a pool is an essential part of the relaxing. The rooms are "rustic" in design but very clean, comfortable and with quiet, efficient air-conditioning.
We have dived many places in Asia including Sipadan and rate the diving at the top of the list. Walls, coral, fish etc are in abundance. The dive location planning, dive guides, boats and all things diving were excellent. We did a Nitrox course during the holiday and had great help from Stephan & Valentina. Snorkelers were also well catered for on the dive boats with their own guides.
The final area to highlight is the staff. They are very friendly, extremely well trained and provide fantastic service. This was a real highlight of the trip. This attitude of service to guests went from management to the gardeners. It was very pleasing to see that the majority of the staff were from the local village.
We will be returning next dive holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom "Nusa Indah Villa". It was quiet, comfortable and close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danidive, Direttore generale at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Bruce C,

thank you for the great review.
We really appreciate your beautiful comments and we are happy that you enjoyed all the aspects of the resort.
Looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Daniele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Everything about our stay at Siladen Resort and Spa was brilliant. We were met at the airport and were taken by minibus to a small jetty where we got a boat from Manado to Siladen Island (about 45 minutes transfer on the boat). Upon arrival at the hotel we had a welcome drink and met Stefano, one of the dive Instructors. We had been told that there wouldn't be a possibility to do any diving courses while we were staying because the two dive instructors would be on holiday, and sure enough Stefano was going away the next morning. However, on learning that we had wanted to do the Nitrox course, he very kindly gave us the rest of his afternoon as soon as we arrived to help us complete it, and so we were able to get much more enjoyment out of the diving trips that we took since we were able to dive on enriched air.

The resort itself is lovely, we stayed in a Garden Villa, and were very happy with how clean it was and how comfortable the beds were. I liked the outdoor bathrooms, and we were lucky not to see any creepy crawlies, which I would have hated, and so I think the eco-friendly insect repellants that they use must be working! The resort is quiet, which was lovely for us as we were there for a relaxing break - I would have hated there to be loud music all night or noisy neighbours.

The food was fantastic, especially the food on the Italian night - really great pizza and pasta, i went to bed absolutely stuffed as the temptation to try everything was just too great! Lunch was started at 1 every day, and this gave us plenty of time to be ready for the afternoon diving trip (I seem to remember reading a review from last year where someone complained that there wasn't enough time to eat lunch? I totally disagree with that). The breakfast buffet also had a lot of choices. On a couple of evenings we ate on the beach.

The diving was probably the best we have ever done (and this is including having been to the Caribbean, the Red Sea, and Thailand). We saw around 40 turtles over the three days, as well as a black tipped reef shark, clown fish, tuna and many other beautiful fish. The coral was excellent, not bleached or damaged as it is in so many areas. The dive guides (particularly Teddy) were excellent, and did everything for us, including carrying the tanks to the boat (my least favourite thing about diving) and setting the kit up. Tea and fresh fruit or cake were provided after each dive (2 in the morning and 1 in the afternoon). On the third day in the morning as we were on the boat travelling to the dive site we were joined by around 100 dolphins who swam alongside the boat with us in an impromtu dolphin tour! The next day we decided to go on the organised dolphin tour and saw even more - definitely worth the money.

Had a massage at the spa, and it was extremely relaxing.

There is nothing bad at all that I could say about this resort, it is idyllic, and we will definitely be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie_BLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danidive, Direttore generale at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Angie_BLondon,

thank you for the great comments about our resort.
I agree with you about the lunch time, in fact we have tried many option and this is the one that works good for us. Of course in case some guests would prefer a different timing we would be very happy to accommodate then.

We hope that you will come again to visit us in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for 5 nights as a group of 4 adults and 5 kids (aged 4 to 12). We took one Beach View and 2 Garden View rooms. The Beach View was significantly larger which was perfect as we had 2 adults and 2 kids in it. Nevertheless the Garden View rooms were spacious enough for 3 people.

We liked the semi-open air bathrooms, despite the inevitable mozzie attacks there in the mornings.

Having a pool was the best part for the kids. While the older kids and adults went out diving or snorkeling, the younger ones were happy to splash in the large pool. There were 2 islands in the pool which allowed us to swim from point to point comfortably and rest on the ledges at the islands.

Full board is included in the room price and the food is delicious and varied. It is usually buffet style at nights and on weekdays' lunch we could choose from an a la carte menu.

Staff was super - locals like Cindy, Jerrie and Harry as well as Stefan the Dive Centre Manager all were warm and friendly. Although the resort is not really geared for kids, they tried their hardest to accommodate us, e.g. serving dinner slightly earlier than usual as the kids were tired before the 8pm dinner time, projecting a kids' show one evening.

Since it is a small resort, there is never competition for space by the pool, on the beach, in the restaurant etc.

We also tried 2 massages at the Spa and found them good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneBigFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danidive, Direttore generale at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear OneBigFam,

thank you very much for the nice review.
We are very happy that you had a great time in Siladen and we are looking forward to host you and your family soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We just got back from Siladen Rsort& Spa and it definitely exceeded our expectations. Not just the diving itself , although Bunaken Park offers an enormous variety of diving for all tastes and expertise, but the hotel has great accommodation and its staff never ceased to pamper us. The food is delicious and I miss the home made bread every day now! It's a ''repeat trip''for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CelinaFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danidive, Direttore generale at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear CelinaFreitas,

thank you for your great review.
Our focaccia is a must at the resort and all the guests loves it.
We are looking forward to host you back soon.
Warm regards from all our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siladen Island
4.0 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
146 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
179 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
#1 of 16 in Bunaken Island
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuda Laut Boutique Dive Resort
Kuda Laut Boutique Dive Resort
#2 of 2 in Siladen Island
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siladen Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siladen Resort & Spa

Address: Siladen Island 95011, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Siladen Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Siladen Island
Price Range: £250 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siladen Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively located in the heart of the world renowned Bunaken National Marine Park, on the lush tropical island of Pulau Siladen, Siladen Resort & Spa offers guests an authentic, elegant and relaxing atmosphere and an unforgettable experience. The four star boutique resort opened in Jan 2003 is an ecofriendly property which places high emphasis on the protection of the Marine Park and the environment. 16 elegantly furnished villas with a full set of amenities, extra large king size beds, outdoor open air showers, sundecks overlooking the calm seas; a PADI diving center offering a full range of courses; a gourmet restaurant serving the finest cuisine; a traditional Spa offering a wide variety of body treatments and massages; a boutique and gift shop; a lounge bar; a large salt water swimming pool; a long stretch of white coral beach await you. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is available throughout the Resort. Over 40 different diving and snorkeling sites located in the Bunaken National Marine Park are within minutes of the Resort. Our house reef offers spectacular snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Siladen Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siladen Hotel Siladen Island
Siladen Resort And Spa
Siladen Hotel Manado
Siladen Resort Manado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing