We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elafonisi Resort by Kalomirakis Family
Ranked #1 of 2 Elafonissi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Elafonisi is the probably nicest place you could be in Crete and it's worth staying longer than the hordes of day tourists, but be prepared that Elafonisi is a rural place with just three pensions/restaurants and two mini-markets, no place to expect luxury such as DSL internet, but relaxing holidays. This one offers several rooms of different sizes, views and prices. Ours was spaceous and included a balcony, sea view, fridge and a small shower, although water was heated by the sun and the shower in the morning rather cold. The restaurant offered breakfast, lunch and dinner, not included in the room price, and offered a menu good for a stay of a couple of days. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice place for relaxing holidays if you can live in a rural area without too much luxury but a nature close to paradise, especially in the evening when all day tourists have left :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mmerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for a week . My son and I . The beds were too hard ,the space in the room too small and there is nowhere to sit in comfort and read . We had a large outside sitting area but nothing to sit on . However , if it is silence at night you want , and a stunning beach over the lagoon away from the masses that arrive on buses at 11 and are gone by 5 then this is a lovely place . The food is good not wonderful , it is expensive , but it is far away from any tourist place so for me it was worth it . More like grecce in the 70 s . And somome has graffiti the coca cola advert near the beach , so that was good .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonMothball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

...but there are very few rooms. If you choose it you must be aware that it is no five star accomodation. It is clean but the interiors are not pretty....different tiles in each room increase the feeling of general untidyness and the furniture is grim. BUT. ..Athina is an extremely helpful hostess, ,will help you with whatever problem you may have and the accomodation is ideal if you are a family. The restaurant is good, not so much for the meat which I think is mainly frozen but the grilled fish is botj fresh and well grilled. Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stefania c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

during our 3 days stay, we thought to be in Italy: what a pity! The restaurant serve good fresh fish and no more. We didn't like the kindness of the boss because it seems unreal. Small but nice room in the middle of olive tree garden. Kind and friendly receptionist

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonia_liguria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We just booked on the spot. It was a good choice. The owners are friendly and competent. The hotel consists of various smaller buildinigs, perfectly integrated in a large olive orchard. This is not architectural concept, it just so happened apparently that they kept building as they went, but the result is quite different from ugly modern hotels and looks much better. The tavern (outsourced) offers tasty selections. Some tips: Covered car ports are offered in this hotel. There are a couple of reasonably stocked mini markets within walking distance. Expect to pay more in this area both for bed and food, due to the limited amount of alternatives in the area. The truly beutiful beach is the only attraction. Nothing else to do around, so 1-2 romantic nights will be sufficient for most people. The area is generally quite windy. Also -depending on the season- expect many flies from the many greenhouses nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DimitriVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Having been on the road for the past 7 days we felt like we needed a bit of a break from the low budget 25e rooms for rent that can so easily be found in Paleohora and other parts of western crete.
Arriving on a saturday at 10 in the morning, we were a little skeptical about finding a room on such a popular beach but I had already stayed at this same hotel 5 years ago and I remembered it as being good value for money with a beautiful view.
Luckily the owner still had one room left in back of the estate, surrounded by well tended olive trees and a view on the mountain range.
Elafonissi isn't exactly known for its nightlife but that doesn't matter when you can enjoy a mythos, some homegrown olives and a proper sunset.
Apart from that the room was very clean and the owner was able to give us the directions to the more secluded Kedrodassos beach, which is in my opinion, a more beautiful one than elafonissi.
Conclusion: Hotel with great surroundings, a friendly owner and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThirstyTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great location just up the hill from the beach with fantastic views of the island and surrounds. The owners are very friendly and more than happy to help out with anything. The rooms are simple and clean with everything we needed. Nice bathroom and private balcony with views over the olive groves. Definitely a place to relax as there is no internet or TV in the rooms. The restaurant was enjoyable and the owner friendly and chatty. A welcome place to stay after a day down on the sand and would definitely stay here again.

It was well worth staying the 3 nights we did rather than just making a day trip. While the main beach is quite crowded it is easy to wade across the water to the island and find a much quieter and more private patch of beach to relax on. Good beach for kids too with plenty of sand and large areas of shallow water.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elafonissi
16.7 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kissamos
427 reviews
16.5 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kissamos
384 reviews
17.4 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 17 in Palaiochora
191 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Kissamos
Hotel Kissamos
#6 of 18 in Kissamos
187 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#8 of 17 in Palaiochora
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elafonisi Resort by Kalomirakis Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elafonisi Resort by Kalomirakis Family

Address: | Elafonisi/Municipality Kandanos Selino Chania/Crete, Elafonissi, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Elafonissi
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elafonissi
Price Range: £37 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small block of houses with rooms appartments studios inside an olive garden property in a distance of 500 meters from the Elafonisi beach. A lot of space to walk and private free parking in a short distance of the rooms. Also a restaurant that serve every day breakfast, traditional food and fresh fishes start from 08:00 till 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Elafonisi Resort by Kalomirakis Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elafonisi Resort By Kalomirakis Family Elafonissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing