We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like slightly unusual, rich food, then this is the place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pot Kiln

The Pot Kiln
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Frilsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$198
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“If you like slightly unusual, rich food, then this is the place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This former pub, the sister to The Harwood Arms in Fulham, is in a lovely setting when seen in daylight, and one half of the building is a traditional pub serving a wonderful selection of graught beer and full of young locals and the other half is an attractive cosy restaurant. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the food is delicious and slightly unusual and can be very rich but not over the top. There is an excellent wine list which is sensibly priced, all in all well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank WilliamWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    88
    36
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We went on a Saturday lunch to celebrate a friends birthday. We arrived a little early so we could enjoy the setting and go for a walk. Probably should've got straight back in the car after the walk...

Where do I begin?
Staff are unbelievable - they are unaware that they are providing a service to the public and that this requires a standard of behaviour. Rude, arrogant, one even put her hands on her hips every time we asked for something....we had to ask for drinks constantly and considering we were forced to pre-order you would think they had plenty of time to keep us topped up.

The food was mostly excellent but overpriced - the cheese board was incrediblely over priced and served with 8 biscuits for 4 people....we had to ask for 2 more servings....2....

They didn't like change or adaptions. One friend asked for a different vegetable to the cabbage that was specified and in replacement received a carrot that had literally been boiled, cut into 4 and slapped on the plate. Not acceptable on a dish that cost around £18.

What restaurant says no to bar food in the restaurant? It wasn't even busy in the restaurant and let's not forget that it is actually a pub.

I really wanted to like this place. The setting is lovely but the staff are shocking and the flexibility non exsistent. There are far better places to spend your time and money at.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SearchingForit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Dinner with friends which normally takes hours and ends in too many glasses of wine turned into a very short disappointing and frustrating evening.

Firstly let me just say dinner out with our friends should put a smile on any resturant owner, we are chilled out, never in any rush and as mentioned spend too much money on food and wine.

However at the Pot Kiln the single male waiter must have been having a bad day. He really did have a bad attitude, it started with short unfriendly answers to questions, placing of plates down in front of us, was not ‘placing’ just pushing through to a drop. We needed to ask for drinks every time our glasses were empty, nothing flowed to enable us to just relax and have fun.

Food was poor; the cod with claims was so poor I can’t explain, it was so tasteless. The gentlemen had deer for there main course and actually enjoyed it, however the supplement cost still didn’t satisfy there appetite.

The girls ended up not eating there dinner, which was noted by the waiter (amazingly) and was then taken off the bill, however the bill still took 15 mins to arrive, after making it very clear we didn’t enjoy the evening and just wanted to leave rather than enjoying dessert and more wine.

To follow up, my partner was so disappointed he called the restaurant the next day (this is very unusual behaviour) however the answer phone message wasn’t responded to, no one called him back…… which says it all

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank TheWhiteHouse25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I went to the Pot Kiln on the sunny weekend we had a couple of weeks ago and spent the whole afternoon in the garden with my son and friends. As you drive up to the restaurant the view is beautiful and the place was packed – with plenty of seating. Family and dog friendly, we had the best bar snacks (including the famous scotch eggs) and some excellent wine! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Custard521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“2nd Visit, probably our last one ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Having dined at the Pot Kiln last June, when the 6 of us had a wonderful dining experience, it was with gleeful anticipation that we all returned on the 25th February. Given that we knew what to expect, and what we were hoping to realise from the 75 mile round trip to savour the rich game flavourings, we all left somewhat flat and deflated after the evening's passage.

The table was way to small for six people, and by the time the bread/butter/wine etc was gracing the table it was very, very cluttered indeed. The chairs aren't in any way comfortable, and when you have to move from your seat to let another diner step away from the table it all becomes rather disjointed and unsettled.

On reflection, we experienced a restaurant that has started to believe in itself a little too much. The staff whilst pleasant, added nothing to the evening, and indeed when we remarked that the overnight braised lamb was actually very dry, we were met with incredulity that it wasn't acceptable. A guinea fowl kiev was served in a monstrosity of a bowl which would have been more at home in a Habitat shop window, and it made eating the meal almost impossible through not being able to comfortably use a knife and fork without the sides of the bowl getting in the way.

A dish of crusted fish with winkles was served with so much liquid that one almost had to go fishing to retrieve anything and given that you are expected to discard the shell, why was there no offer of a side plate to catch the waste? The two kinds of bread were OK, but only OK, there was no wow factor for us this time. We ordered a 2009 Chilean Merlot, but were actually served a 2010 bottle. Nothing wrong with the wine, but when paying over £30.00 for a bottle of red, it would be nice to be served your choice (or else amend your wine list guys!)

Coffee was mediocre, no other word for it and definitely not worth asking for a second cup. There were no mints or small biscotti served as a finishing touch either. When requesting the bill we politely pointed out that there were several elements of the evening that hadn't reached the mark. There was a little discourse, and they did deduct the lamb dish from the bill as a gesture to a less than satisfactory meal. They do however add a 10% service charge to the final amount, including your drinks bill too, and this includes any drinks ordered in the saloon bar beforehand .... sharp practice in place there we think!

The toilet facilities are often seen as a good indication of an establishments approach to hygiene and quality. In this respect the Pot Kiln lets itself down quite badly. Sure, it is an old pub, with all of the foibles that one expects to find, but in today's market place, there is no excuse to have poor restroom facilities. The outside gent's floor had urine all over the tiled floor, paper towels piled up on a window sill and most of these were fallen down onto either the urinal or the floor itself. The water definitely wasn't running hot either, tepid at best.

The ladies restroom had not been properly serviced either, and did nothing to add to the feeling that you were enjoying a great meal at a quality location.

Given that we had a 35 mile journey to travel home, we all had time to dissect the evening and we all arrived at the same disappointing conclusion, a less than satisfactory experience for a £300.00 spend. We are voting with our feet, and are going to look for a better destination for our next evening supper treat!

Mike Robinson, you need to think long and hard about how your restaurant shapes up, it is not acceptable to be complacent or to believe that you have nailed everything. Other establishments are doing it better and for less, you need to address this quickly before it becomes a serious problem.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pot Kiln also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
 
Hampstead Norreys, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Pot Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing