We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The game is on”
Review of The Pot Kiln

The Pot Kiln
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Frilsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$198
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The game is on”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

lovely location
traditional pub transformed into great game restaurant and retaining old bar
food wonderful
love the red cabbage!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    94
    39
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“All excellent, bar the presentation”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Came for a midweek lunch on a glorious summer's day. We wanted to sit outside to enjoy the weather and the view so were restricted to the bar menu.

We had scotch eggs for starters, which were beautifully cooked and runny inside. These were followed by a burger and a pulled pork roll. Both lovely, except for the fact that the pulled pork roll was served wrapped in tin foil! I can understand providing this as a takeaway option, but for those eating in it is, quite frankly, a little bizarre!

The scotch eggs were also served in a kind of egg-cup contraption on the ever-present wooden boards, which made it almost inevitable that the poor waitress would send one flying. Still, it wasn't ours that she dropped and the dog got a special treat when we got home!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Contraryish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had been before and enjoyed excellent food in restaurant. Recent visit did not live up to expectation/previous experience. Under staffed bar meant delays in getting drinks ordered. Venison and beef burger was very good, but the "crispy" potatoes were anything but! Sad and soggy sums it up. "Pulled pork" ciabatta was ingloriously served still wrapped in cooking foil - however it did taste very good! Ciabatta was accompanied by the "crispy" potatoes - in the same condition as previously reported.

Overall the experience was not enjoyable - it will be a long time before we venture back - sadly!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank psnowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great beer and tasty food.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Set in a beautiful location we sat outside in the sunshine and ordered food from the bar menu. The bar area itself is cosy and perfect if you want to walk in with wellies or mid dog walk. I ordered the steak bavette which was deliciously flavoursome and accompanied by crispy garlic potatoes which were equally as scrumptious. My steak was beautifully flavoured but perhaps slightly overcooked, nevertheless the meal as a whole was great. I can’t really comment on the service as we ordered from the bar, however I did not share the same positive feelings of those previous reviewers that ate in the restaurant itself. The bar staff were not particularly welcoming or keen to elaborate on the menu when we asked. Overall it was a lovely experience and I’d definitely like to visit again to eat in the restaurant itself.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely location - just not for Veggies”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely Location, Staff Friendly, chef talked us through the menu well worth a trip.
Slight down side is no Vegetarian option on the menu, only alternative was fish .....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louk2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pot Kiln also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
 
Hampstead Norreys, Berkshire
Yattendon, Berkshire
 

Been to The Pot Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing