We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely Edwardian house with a history.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maesycrugiau Manor & Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pencader
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maesycrugiau Manor & Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Pencader B&B and Inns
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely Edwardian house with a history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

A beautiful place with attentive and helpful hosts. Mark produces wonderfully cooked original recipe breakfasts. He will do a full English but order one of his alternatives. YUM!
We travel on our motorcycle and experienced the manor as "biker Friendly".
Some nice gravel!

Room Tip: OK for Motorcyclists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mersyeside
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wow what a truly amazing experience. We have just returned from staying in the fabulous Maesycrugiau Manor. Everything is so special, you need to go to believe how amazing it really is. Mark, the owner is so charming and truly fantastic cook. The breakfasts were incredible, a different choice every morning. He also has lot of info about the area to advise on days out, places to visit. We have had a weekend that we will remember for a long time. I cannot remember anywhere more special we have ever stayed. We would recommend it to anyone. The photos don't do it justice. The decor is so tasteful, the breakfast room is like one in a stately home, with tapestry's & artifacts to enjoy. Importantly the bed was so comfy & so many special little touches make this a memorable place to stay. Thank you so much for letting us stay at your beautiful house. Excellent value for money. We will see you again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithholsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Superb in every way. The bedrooms are massive, with enormous bathrooms. Very tastefully furnished throughout, set in beautiful grounds. We had an amazing Belgian breakfast (I now understand why people like waffles) in a beautiful dining room with an open fire. Nearby is the forest where you can walk or cycle for hours without meeting anyone. A lovely local pub Talard Arms is a short walk away, and the landlord even drives you back to the Manor so you can have a few beers. We will be back.

Room Tip: Both rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

From the beautiful surroundings, to the regal building and grand entrance, to the warm welcome, to the stunning bedrooms and bathrooms, to the delicious breakfast, this place is FAULTLESS... A real hidden gem...!!! You will not be disappointed...

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jollybottom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights from the 4-6 May 2014,-O.M.G;- O is for Opulence,M is for Memorable,G is for Gorgeous. This wonderful peaceful/tranquil Welsh Gem is a B&B MUST!!! It has the WOW factor from start to finish. The drive up the Manor within the picturesque setting. The wonderful hosts Helen & Mark welcome you to their Manor. The Manor is full of opulent grandeur and the attention to detail from the grand entrance hallway through to each room and then onto our William Morris bedroom is down to Helen. The initial warm welcome made by the hosts and the individual welcoming gestures, such as afternoon Tea with home made welsh cakes in their magnificent lounge, right through to the chocolates and cakes in our rooms to have with your hot/cold drinks made our stay even more welcoming.
The breakfasts were unique whereby the host Mark cooked a choice of Belgian breakfasts to which were cooked to perfection & very delicious.
We were looking for tranquil,retreat and found it in this amazing Manor, to which the hosts help to make this little welsh gem a WOW factor.
We will definitely being going back and recommend it to every one,its excellent value for money. Thanks Mark,Helen and your Son for making our stay a special one.

Room Tip: Both rooms are fab no issues to note,just a wow B &B MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Mark and Karen were the most attentive hosts at our stay at their Manor, we felt like the Lord and Lady! The food we had was cooked to perfection by Mark, where nothing was too much and all our whims were answered. Our room was spacious, decorated with elegance (by Karen), with a beautiful roll top bath to while away the time reading a book, listening to the birds outside.
We had our own personal entrance and key so we could come and go as we pleased which was a excellent benefit, that we did not expect. Overall a fairytale stay at a beautiful location, one made even more special by Karen and Mark. We look forward to seeing them soon and I shall be booking them as a present for my Mum and Dad too, for a special treat!

Room Tip: All are amazing! you will love the rooms, or if you are a family the cottage has everything a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte8544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaesycrugiauManor, Owner at Maesycrugiau Manor & Cottage, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Both,

Thank you for your kind appreciation. We are happy that you liked your personal entrance and of course so much more. We are looking forward to welcome you and your mum and dad.
See you soon,
Mark & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South coast, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

A truly stunning property set in the perfect location if you are looking for rest and relaxation but with the wonderful Welsh countryside within easy reach. The forest view bedroom was luxurious with massive bathroom and a really comfortable huge bed from where you can be a really lazy birdwatcher looking at the trees through the window. We had a wonderful welcome and tour of the delightful Manor when we arrived together with a discussion about breakfast. Mark offers a number of treats with a Belgian twist or the traditional full English, but do make sure you have a good appetite as breakfast is substantial with produce being locally sourced and organic. Totally delicious. Mark also has a good knowledge of the surrounding area and places of interest and is only too happy to pass this information on. This is a perfect retreat for whatever reason you need to stay in the area and I cannot recommend it enough. We would certainly love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justloveabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaesycrugiauManor, Owner at Maesycrugiau Manor & Cottage, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your kind appreciation. We certainly will continue to provide first class service and help.
We hope to welcome you soon back!
Mark & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maesycrugiau Manor & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maesycrugiau Manor & Cottage

Property: Maesycrugiau Manor & Cottage
Address: Maesycrugiau Manor, Pencader SA39 9LH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Pencader
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pencader
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star B&B will spoil you with nature, oxygen, quietness and a royal breakfast in our Medieval-like breakfast room. We have a garden with woodland, a big pond and a formal part in 7 acres. Our rooms are spacious with a super-kingsize bed and a huge bathroom en suite. From here you have easy access to the seaside, many houses and gardens worth visiting (Aberglasney, National Botanic garden...). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing