We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middleton Park House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castletown Geoghegan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middleton Park House
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wedding”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We attended a wedding there yesterday and it was really disappointing. Many people declined the starters and soup courses and even those who didn't for the most part didn't seem to finish the food. The meat/fish were barely warm as were the veg which was served in small portions, the chocolate dessert was very weak in terms of chocolate flavour. The waitresses were few and were attempting to serve 200 or so guests by bringing two or three dishes from the kitchen at a time. Nobody asked if we were ok. Some people were still getting their food as we were actually finished that course. There was quite an amount of leftovers at our table and the waitress who never smiled attempted to tidy all the leftovers while still at the table rather than just quickly bringing them to the kitchen. Also the wine was not topped up regularly. I would guess service was spread out over 4-5 hours. The stone steps down to the toilets are too dangerous for the old or tipsy. I am not sure about a band playing in the front hall, does not fit in with the old grandeur of the room. The bar area is small and the drinks are expensive given the country location. This is a beautiful house and very nicely restored in quite a convenient country location but the service and quality of the food do not live up to expectations set by the facade of the house. Perhaps it could attend to smaller groups in a more orderly fashion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cvhj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleto, Owner at Middleton Park House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thanks for the genuine feedback. I will pass your comments to our banquet manner.

The menu options weren't to your liking but they where the choices of the bride and groom. If certain guests do not like the couple's choice and send it back, we cannot be held responsible. However to say most sent back or declined is an exaggeration. We cook whatevr is requested.

In regards to your comments about service, we believe in doing a job professionally and the right way. We have serving standards that we adhere to here at Middleton Park.

It is in our interest to get all guests fed as efficiently as possible. To serve a four course menu, generally takes 90 minutes .Choices of each course, five to seven courses and duration of speeches will certainly add more time to dinner. However we have never ever had a 4-5 hour service. It is standard practice for waiters to handle three dishes. Wine quantities and allocation are a matter for the bride and groom.

All timings on the day are agreed with the bride and groom and we get organised around those times. Delays happen when guests stop off at the pub and the photography takes longer than anticipated. Even when guests are invited to sit down, the photographer may then decide to take more pictures and hold up service.

The house is 200 year old and we cannot remove the staircase referred to but there are numerous ways to get to our restrooms, including two staircases and a lift.

The positioning of the band was the choice of the bride and groom, we have many options for the styling and arranging of weddings here at Middleton Park House, all of which we think fit perfectly in with the grandeur of the house. We also have numerous bar areas in the house specifically to deal with larger groups of guests and we have our drinks set at very competitive prices, but certainly not at the level of country pubs, whose overheads would be a fraction of ours, but we are less than most hotels of our quality

Thank you for your kind comments on the house they're very much appreciated and we are regret that the menu wasn't to your liking as we're renowned for our food, and the bride and groom loved their choices.


Kind Regards

Gerard Lynam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    8
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Attended a family wedding at St Michael's church in Castletown Geoghegan followed by the reception at MPH. I believe it was quite expensive, but it was very, very good. The staff are on the ball and very efficient and hard-working. The food was of the highest quality and well presented. The large house gives guests the options of dancing and being in by the music, or being in other rooms/bars nearby, where you can still hear the music, or not, depending on your choice. Meant you could catch up and chat easily.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Don't go with google maps to find this place, sends you all over the place. Great hotel when you find it, looks like is a part time hotel opened for weddings, excellent food and service. Fab grounds for wedding, quaint old building , full of history.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DinkyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I recently attended a wedding at Middleton Park House. The house has been lovingly restored in symapthy with its former glory and really is stunning. First impressions of the striking entrance hall stay with you as you make your way round the quirky little rooms, which are all available for the wedding reception. Of particular note is the conservatory where the refreshments were served. We were very lucky to have a glorious sunny evening and as a result we experienced the conservatory in all it's glory. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the food! We had steak for dinner, we weren't asked how we like it cooked, but it came back cooked to perfection. Starters were equally delicious. I didnt see the bedrooms but the reception rooms, bar and bathrooms were spotless.
Two very minor points I would note but are not necessarily negative as they may have been the decision of the bride and groom.
First, in my opinion it would perhaps have been better to serve refreshements elsewhere as the floor in the conservatory is a little difficult for the elderly to manouvre due to the flower beds in the middle (I saw a child slip off the paving stones and into the flower bed)
Secondly, I know there was a message left with a staff member from a friend of the bride and groom who could not attend the wedding. It was the intention of the friend that this message would be read with the speeches but as it wasn't read out I assume they did not get the message. Additionally, this friend had sent champagne to the bridal suite, and though the champagne was sent to the room, there was no card to say who it was from. It wasn't until the following day that the bride found out from another friend who had sent the gift.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SurferRosa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Lovely place to stay and nice rooms too. They catered very well for my dietary needs and got the impression nothing was too much trouble.Breakfast was also very nice and a all staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We held our wedding in Middleton Park House and it was the day we always dreamed it would be! Gerard and John really know their business. They ensured that the day was relaxed, ran smoothly and made all the decisions, so we didn't have to worry about a thing - our job was just to sit back and enjoy it all. The entire body of staff worked around the clock to ensure that our guests were well catered for - they were there when we needed them and left us to our own devices the rest of the time, and as a result, it really felt like our own private venue for the entire weekend and our guests have been complimenting our choices ever since. The food was served as restaurant service ensuring that every meal was cooked to order and, to perfection. Some of our guests were even treated to seconds! Our dancefloor was full all night and we partied well into the wee hours. To Gerard, John & all at Middleton Park House - thank you for making our day so wonderful

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank chip-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

we just loved mph for our wedding. Absolutely perfect. Excellent food, great service. Suites are lovely and ordinary rooms are nice. Best bit is the lack of function room. We really didnt want a function room. This place allows your wedding to be a big house party! Ger is totally reliable and has everything under control

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ahspititout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletown Geoghegan
8.4 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
9.3 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
8.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
4.5 mi away
Loughnagore House BnB
Loughnagore House BnB
#1 of 5 in Kilbeggan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleton Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Park House

Property: Middleton Park House
Address: Castletown Geoghegan, Castletown Geoghegan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Castletown Geoghegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castletown Geoghegan
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's Perfect Romantic, Historical and Cultural Getaway Destination. Magnificent Middleton Park House, a spectacular Georgian Country House sitting high on a hill amidst secluded woodland with views over lovely rolling countryside and the splendour that is County Westmeath. For over a hundred years a private country residence, Middleton Park House has been painstakingly restored and renovated and is now the perfect setting for your exclusive, intimate and romantic dream wedding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Middleton Park House Hotel Castletown Geoghegan
Middleton Park House Castletown Geoghegan, Ireland - County Westmeath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing