We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ebborways Farm

Ebborways Farm
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ebborways Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Priddy B&B and Inns
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Very hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed one night en route to a week in Cornwall, and it fit the bill nicely. It was a bit cluttered, as other reviewers have noted, but that was OK, this is a house in rural England, not a Hilton. In fact its rural location is its best feature. Very quiet, hardly any traffic, and it’s a short walk to an overlook where you can see Glastonbury Tor. Go a couple of hundred yards in the other direction, and there’s a pub/restaurant.

Breakfast was fine, traditional English, and overall we had a good stay. On the way to Cornwall we got a call on the mobile letting us know we’d left a camera lens in the room. It’s about £1,200. We thanked them for letting us know, and arranged to collect it on the way back, which we did.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The solid box of sugar puffs referred to in a review from Nov 12 is still there. Faded boxes of cereal in the conservatory does not inspire confidence ..... Lots of dusty tut including soft toys and loose stair carpet, and a phone ringing right outside the bedroom. Friendly hosts, a good breakfast and quiet rural location made it ok, but will not be rushing back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

we were met by a really friendly couple who quickly and efficiently sorted out our night's stay, told us of nice pubs to go to locally and put out a fantastic breakfast at the time we asked for. Very cosy rooms too

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthJJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffordshire
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed for 1 night, Accomodation is dated but it's a rural B&B not a premier inn,

Positives: Very friendly welcome. Lovely old fashion bed, very comfy, clean sheets and clean towels. Tea & Coffee in the room with china cups

Cooked breakfast was nice

Negatives: Extremely grubby and in need of a good clean - very dusty. The bathroom was very dated, toilet was clean but the shower was flithy

Could be a lovely rural B&B if it was clean

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hari26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I needed to find a campsite venue for my daughter's 18th birthday. This was almost impossible, until a friend recommended Ebborways Farm.

I found the owner very accommodating, understanding and honest. We knew exactly what the campsite offered before we arrived. The welcome was warm and the situation smashing. We stayed in the second field as there was a wedding reception and event being held in the first field. This was all explained to us in advance and was asked if we would mind the noise.. we all agreed this was perfect as the girls, although sensible and respectful, wanted some music and time round the campfire so any noise they might make would be no doubt outdone by the wedding reception.

The field was mown in one area in the top corner (furthest area away from the farmhouse) and an open fire was allowed in the pre dug fire pit.. we just needed to remove the turf blocks and replace on leaving.. we were allowed to bring our own wood but also purchased some logs from the house. There was a tap between the two fields.. not too far to walk. The toilets were not superb, constituting of 2 long drops in a very small shack with a divider.. but this was fine for us, being used to dealing with all kinds of conveniences at festivals and campsites. Not for the fainthearted tho!

The village was lovely and boast a couple of lovely pubs and plenty of walking around the area.

Overall I was extremely impressed with the attitude and manner of the owner. I loved the refreshing lack of rules and regulations except for the expectation to respect other people staying there... This is a very low budget campsite with only the basic amenities in a lovely situation - perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineJameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here November 2012. The room itself was adequate. There was a small TV, a VCR and a selection of video cassettes - very retro. The bed linen was clean and there were spare pillows available.

An additional bed was put into the room for my daughter (not requested; we were planning to share the double) which was thoughtful but made the room almost impossible to move around in and left nowhere to leave a suitcase open, a 3rd person would have been unbearably cramped. There were no hooks to hang coats on which had to go in an inaccessible cupboard and the power sockets were not near to either mirror making hair drying awkward.

Towels were provided but they smelled really bad and were covered in animal hairs. There were also robes provided which was a nice touch but I was unsure if they were freshly laundered. We also had a selection of dirty soft toys in the room.

Tea and coffee making facilities were available with pretty china cups but they did not feel clean. The little Tupperware boxes containing teabags and sugar were filthy with ingrained dirt.

The bathroom was disgusting. There was dusty potpourri and filthy lace trimmed ornaments on the toilet and hanging on the wall. As well as looking filthy - yellow and brown with dirt - I dread to think of the spores and germs nestling in them. There was a small mirror on the windowsill. It was filthy, streaked and not usable. A basket of half used soaps and dusty bath oils was also curiously provided.

Many of the tiles on the walls were broken, there were gaps cracks all along the dado rail. The taps were dirty. There were two showers over the bath- an electric one (the box of which was grey with ingrained dirt) and one attached to the taps. The electric shower delivered no more than a trickle, totally unsuitable for hair washing. The tap shower extension was impossible to keep at a constant temperature as elevating it to a usable height caused the water to become scalding hot. I didn't investigate under the non-slip bathmat for fear of what I might find. The whole bathroom needed stripping out and starting again. At the very least all the fusty dirty dusty greasy soap scum crusted paraphernalia binned and everything steam cleaned . One of the most disgusting bathrooms I have ever encountered.

Breakfast was a more promising affair with a large selection of cereals, a fruit bowl, jam, dried fruits and seeds as well as toast and a full English which was nicely cooked. All served on proper china. Unfortunately this was complimented by an all but empty muesli box and solid box of sugar puffs - stuck together they were so old. We couldn't even chip them apart. This left me concerned as to the freshness of all the food on the table.

It is also worth noting that there is only a Vodafone signal in the village and the B&B does not offer WiFi. I was unable to find a BT Hotspot although I think that the pub offered a paid for service. There is nothing in the village other than a couple of pubs and the next village is far away. Great if you're after isolation, not so great if you're not.

I would not stay here again and I would not recommend it for any kind of traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elles8ells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,157 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding in Wells and found it excellent value. The room was on the small side and there was no hanging space and it was not en suite BUT you have to consider the price. £50 per night including an excellent breakfast for two. Excellent fresh food and served in a bright airy conservatory. The owers could not have been more helpful. A taxi to Wells would cost about £12 and if you like walking, there is a route which takes in Ebbor vale and Wooky Hole. There are two good pubs a 5 minute walk away. The contributor who wrote that they didn't stay missed out. Our room was clean if a little cluttered but there was no evidence of pets. You can't review somewhere you didn't stay.


Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ebborways Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebborways Farm

Property: Ebborways Farm
Address: Ebborways Farm Pelting Drove, Priddy BA5 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Priddy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Priddy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ebborways Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., PitchUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ebborways Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebborways Farm Priddy, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing