We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely room for four”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Orton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The George Hotel was a real treat when we stayed in mid September 2013. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable for four people. It had a recently renovated bathroom and the room looked out over the village. All our bookings and enquiries were responded to quickly and efficiently by Hazel and it was very nice to be greeted by name in such a friendly, welcoming way when we arrived. We would highly recommend the George Hotel to anyone travelling through Orton – a particularly pretty village.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Annie830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotel1539353, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

thank you for your lovely review, really nice to know that you had a great stay with us and that you would recommend us to other people to stay at are hotel. thanks hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed at the George for two nights for a break & to visit Lake Windermere.
Staff and customers were all very friendly.
The food was lovely, everwhere was clean, the beer was well kept and service was excellent.
Definately a place to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotel1539353, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

really appreciate your review and comments, pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed what the local area and the lake district had to offer. thanks hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We got to spend two nights at The George, one after walking to Shap and the other after walking from Shap to Orton. We had the family room, so there was ample space to spread out and dry our things. The bar is cozy and popular. The food and service were superior.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotel1539353, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

thank you for your review, pleased you had a lovely stay with us and hope you call in againand see us if ever walking this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is in a lovely village, complete with old fashioned telephone box on the junction out side the hotel. The staff were very friendly, the beer was excellent and the food was fantastic. My only gripe (not really a complaint) was that my room was tiny, and didn't even have a hook to hang a coat. When you're doing the C2C you do need to air coats etc. However, the hospitality of the staff in getting stuff dry more than made up for this omission. Breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: I think I was in Room 2 -- -try to avoid it if you need space for clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lol4874Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotel1539353, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it is really appreciated. thanks hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just stayed there, very clean, bed was comfy and had lovely quality bed linen. Very friendly staff with a nice safe atmosphere so if you are on your own doing the coast to coast don't worry. Food was fine I could have done with a bit more selection of veggy stuff but that was just me as there was choice just not so much what I liked! What I had was nice and my husband liked his meat dishes. The breakfasts were really excellent. The manager and manageress were very friendly and you felt they cared and would go the extra mile to help. Lovely village, we were lucky enough to be there for Farmers Fayre which added an extra enjoyment. Lovely walks around if like us you were there just for the weekend. Kennedys chocolate factory is opposite so rude not to visit and try their wares don't you think!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumfriesgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotel1539353, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

thank you for leaving your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and orton village. thanks hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We came across the George while looking for somewhere to eat locally. Outside it looks a bit ordinary and we didn't hold up many hopes but were hungry and went in.

The inside is a bit... well, regular pub like. A little over lit, perhaps. Condiments in sachets on the table. That sort of thing.

However, we were in for a surprise. The menu, while not sophisticated, is large and provides really excellent food, locally sourced meats and produce, well cooked and served by a very helpful, friendly, efficient, welcoming staff and at superb prices.

We stayed in the area for a week and ate there five times: that's how good it was.

Great choice for meals.

Room Tip: Didn't try the rooms, only the food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandJRocket3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotel1539353, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

thank you for leaving your review, really glad you enjoyed all your meals with us and hope to see you again when next in the area. thanks hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Tastefully furnished room with a narrow but modern shower room.
The booking online was straitforward even using my phone. The owners were friendly and service immaculate. Evening meal was very good. Interestingly they had gluten free menu which I wish I'd perused. The wild mushroom soup was the best I've had.
Packed lunch chicken sandwiches were proper chunks of chicken.
Walker friendly place to stay.
We got a good mobile reception from the church hill.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotel1539353, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

thank you for leaving your review, glad you enjoyed your stay and we take pride in proving a good service and little extra's like a gluten free menu for people. thanks hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orton
15.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
919 reviews
14.9 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
802 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cross Keys Inn
Cross Keys Inn
#2 of 2 in Tebay
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#8 of 17 in Appleby
44 reviews
14.7 mi away
Old Water View
Old Water View
#4 of 12 in Patterdale
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Front Street, Orton CA10 3RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Orton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Orton
Price Range: £75 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome at The George Home by Darron & Hazel, a family run bar/hotel, real log fire, good real ales, locally sourced home cooked food, serious comfy beds with a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Orton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing