We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Barn House
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$168
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$98
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$104
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
46
7
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
7
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesgeorge hotellovely settingbamptonconservatoryhosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The welcome was a little cool, but the room was modern with thoughtful touches. One of the nicest rooms of our two-week holiday.
There was a pleasant conservatory and it would have been nice to have been offered tea there.
Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamAndCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here on our Coast to Coast walk and of the 10 places we stayed in this was easily our favourite. We were warmly welcomed by Judith and Peter and given a room which was so beautifully furnished and decorated we wanted to take it home with us. In fact the whole house exudes a quality finish.

Our boots and wet weather gear were taken from us when we arrived for drying in their boiler room and everything was perfectly dry the next morning. A huge improvement over some of the places we had stayed at on previous nights.

There was tea and fresh scones on arrival which looked delicious but unfortunately we couldn't eat as we'd already visited the cafe at Kennedy's Chocolate factory. However the first floor sun lounge for guests was very comfortable and a real treat.

The bathroom was wonderful - very clean and with lashings of hot water for shower (me) and bath (my partner). Although it was June the heating was on and worked perfectly. If only other northern B&B owners would take note.

We had dinner at the George Hotel and finished our evening off with a walk round the village looking at the entries for the scarecrow competition. Some of them were really imaginative although our favourite was "Darwin".

Breakfast the following morning was excellent with lots of choice and everything was beautifully cooked. The packed lunch we took away with us was also very good.

This is one B&B we would happily revisit.

Room Tip: If there's a choice ask for the room at the top of the house. It's worth the walk up an extra flight of stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southdowns_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Situated on the edge of the pretty village of Orton, the Barn House is perfect for weary coast to coast walkers. The extra mile required to reach it from Wainwrights' official route takes you through the village, and you can rejoin the footpath by a different route in the morning which passes an interesting stone circle. Arriving at Barn House I received a warm and friendly greeting and was offered tea and scones. They are fully geared up to receive wet hikers, with drying facilities in the entrance hall. The bedroom was large, spotless, and with a good ensuite bathroom. The guest part of the Barn House shows off a very tasteful barn conversion, with double height entrance hall and stairs leading up to a tranquil conservatory and then to the breakfast room. I ate a good evening meal at the nearby George Hotel. After a good nights' sleep I enjoyed what proved to be the best breakfast of the two-week walk, with a really excellent assortment of fruits and meusli ingredients, followed by a really well cooked full english. Peter and Judith are straightforward easy-going people who were genuinely interesting to speak with during breakfast, rather than simply making polite conversation. There were other places as good as Barn House along the C2C but this one is faultless, and should be considered by Coast to Coasters who have completed the arduous leg from Patterdale to Shap the previous day, and fancy a nice easy 8-miler with a lovely place to stay at the end.

Room Tip: I stayed in the ground floor twin bed room and it was ideal. I didn't see any other rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Peter & Judith Catermole offer lovely service and facilities at their B & B.

Delightful room, very modern facilities, excellent food and a lovely conservatory for relaxing and enjoying a chat with other guests.

Orton is a beautiful village with many interesting attractions

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here recently while walking the C2C. Our hosts Peter and Judith made our stay most enjoyable. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and we had the best sleep that night. In the evening we had dinner at the George Hotel and walked around town to see the sites before setting off the next day. This B&B caters for the needs of walkers so if you are doing the C2C this is the place to stay. Top marks Peter and Judith.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews