We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of The Barn House

The Barn House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Barn House
Ranked #3 of 5 Orton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent a night at the Barn House while doing the Coast to Coast. The property is spacious, clean, and comfortable. There is a bright conservatory for all to use, and the wi-fi worked well. Breakfast was good, and dinner at the pub is a few minutes' walk away. Do note that there may not be anyone around prior to 4pm. Our walk to Orton was on the shorter side, and when we arrived cold and wet at 1:30 we had to wander into town to warm up at the pub for a couple of hours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for The Barn House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Walkers bliss.
Anything dried that you needed on arrival and laundry facilities.
Good sized room and bathroom and lounge available too.
Very tasty breakfast and packed lunch with nice extras like help yourself fruit bowl and choice of crisp flavours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

You really feel you have arrived somewhere special when you walk up to the Barn House. It's a beautifully modernized building with probably the most luxurious and spacious facilities that we saw on our C2C walk. Fantastic, huge comfy room and massive lovely bathroom, and access to a really gorgeous residents' lounge in a first-floor conservatory, where we were welcomed with delicious tea and cakes. This lounge also has a wonderful stock of books, games etc. Terrific breakfast.The proprietors are knowledgeable friendly pro-walking people who make you feel very much at home.

Orton is a pretty little place, bypassed by the main C2C route but actually very well worth seeing for the extra kilometre or two. Be clever with the map to avoid a slightly boring road walk to link back up to the C2C in the morning - walk up the village by the stream a touch then cut across the fields to parallel the road. Perfect.

The Barn House doesn't do dinner but you can treat yourself at the George just a hop and skip away.

The only fault with the Barn House was having to leave it to continue our walk. Very strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Didn't see others but our ground floor front room was really lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vogel421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A friendly welcome (with cakes and tea) and a super B&B. Our room had a large en-suite and there is a sun lounge at first floor level at the rear for guests to use. The Barn House is five or ten minutes walk (depending on how far you've walked during the day) to the George pub in the village where they do good pub meals and real ales.

We enjoyed our stay at The Barn House and there is some lovely countryside around here. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee-and-Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

In this tiny Cambian village, soaked to the core on the Coast to Coast walk in September, 2013, the owners took us in, dried our clothes and boots and gave us great advice on our walk. The attention to detail, warm reception, the helpfulness and the cleanliness were outstanding. Great bathtub to revive us and a great included special breakfast topped off our brief stay. This was the top accommodation in our 18 day trek

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordHumblness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here on our coast to coast walk. Lovely clean and stylish b and b,friendly host and good breakfast, all we needed for an overnight stay.Would recommend to anyone visiting this lovely part of England

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceci1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our 7th stop on our coast to coast walk and what turned out to be our favourite stop (tied with one other). The combination of delightful hosts and the most modern comfortable and spacious rooms was one thing but the addition of a beautiful lounge for our use plus a separate breakfast room was a show stopper. Our group took over all 3 rooms so it felt more like self catering accommodation than a b&b.
We were reluctant indeed to leave after the 'best breakfast' was consumed.
Delightful and we'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noggins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Barn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn House

Address: Orton CA10 3RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Orton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Orton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Barn House Orton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing