We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere; plan to do your own cleaning on arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17th Century Orton Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orton
Reviewed 31 December 2007

Orton Hall was an atmospheric delight with its imposing stone exterior and its high-ceilinged, wood-wainscoted, casement-windowed interior. The look and feel of the place was everything I'd hoped for.

We stayed in the Rochester Wing: 3rd floor, back left corner of the manor. It was quite large w/ 2 bedrooms & a bath connected by a long hall to the kitchen and large living area with 2 pop-out areas for dining. There was a door to close off the living area from the sleeping area so late-night TV viewing didn't disturb early-to-bedders.

Noise was never a problem. In fact, although we knew there were several other occupants of the manor during our stay, we never saw or heard anyone else during our 4-day stay. (It was actually beginning to creep us out a bit!)

The rooms were well-equipped with lots of reading material (although, yes, a bit dated), lots of videos (good selection), and a kitchen with everything you could possibly need and all the appliances in good working order.

The grounds were nice, and large enough for my husband & son to throw the baseball around while my daughter & I went exploring.

Now the downside: it was not very clean at all. I could understand the standing dust on the wainscoting and railings cus', realistically, the place is just too big to perform a thorough cleaning. However, the state of the kitchen floor and sink was inexcusable. The bathroom didn't look like it had been cleaned at all. The bathroom drinking glass was covered in toothpaste residue, and the glass shower door was completely obscured with dried soap and water stains and was "sealed" to the tub with masking tape. (Despite the tape fix, the door still leaked, creating a large puddle on the carpeted floor. There is no doubt in my mind that the carpet conceals an ever-growing area of dry rot.)

I'm torn in my overall rating. I loved the place so much, and yet was appalled at the lack of a good cleaning. Luckily, there was an abundant supply of cleaning products. I simply rolled up my sleeves and gave the kitchen & bath a thorough scrubbing before my family set foot in them. Should a guest have to do that? No, but it allowed me to enjoy the next 4 days there knowing I had.

I did let the owners know directly of the condition of the place so maybe improvements have been made since our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank litgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for 17th Century Orton Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2007

We stayed here over New Year, so this is a belated review, however I wanted to let anyone who reads know of our experience.

We booked the stay direct via the website. We chose to stay in the Royalist Suite - a ground floor suite which features a "secret door" from the louge through a bookcase, into the rest of the apartment! Very James Bond!

Great first impression, the hall is accessed via electronic gates and it is certainly impressive from the outside. As the Hall is leased out to different people - different people own different apartments, some of which are rented, some of which are permanent - you are given a key and let yourself in.

When we let ourselves in we were in the Great Hall, which features a snooker table and a grand piano (one of our major reasons for booking). However there was an immediate musty smell (a bit like one of the smells you get when you got into a Haunted House ride at a fairground!) and when we walked into the Great Hall none of the lights worked. The piano also sounded like it hadn't been tuned in a long time and some of the keys didn't work. It was a real shame as we could have loved to spent some quality time in here, but the smell and lack of lighting freaked us out!!

The apartment was lovely, the secret door didn't disappoint and there was an impressive library (albiet complete with 1970s books!). The only downside was that the walls and floors were paperthin. There was an apartment immediately above us, and we could hear every word of the couple above, including every word of the TV programme that they were watching!

The hall is set in pretty grounds and there is a FAB chocolate shop just down the road. Also about one hours drive to Windermere which was well worth a visit.

All in all a very beautiful place, however because all the apartments seemed to be owned by separate people it came across as neglected and dank. With a bit of TLC (and an upstairs apartment) it could have been just lovely!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pontypool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Glsgow,Scotland
124
Reviewed 6 August 2005

The house has several rental apartments/wings as well as some parts that are privately owned.We had the pleasure of staying in the Rochester wing for 8 nights and we were not disappointed.The building has a 'great hall' which houses a grand piano and snooker/pool table and we had sole use of this during our stay.The house itself has great character and is quite imposing at night when the lights are dimmed!!!The accommodation was clean and of a good standard and there was a film and book library within our suite for our use.The local town of Orton is used mostly by walkers but it is not at all touristy(yet still maintains a very friendly and open welcome to all).The george hotel is a short walk from Orton hall and serves lunches and dinner(the staff are child friendly).We visited Kendal and Windermere etc and found it a relief to get back to Orton each day- away from the 'tourist' centred bustle.There is a visitor book in your suite that goes back several years,it's an interesting read with American visitors loving the old place most(it was built circa 1658).Our kids had a great time too and we will definitely be back.It's something different!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank InaRA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orton
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17th Century Orton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17th Century Orton Hall

Address: Orton CA10 3RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Orton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orton
Price Range: £82 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your 17th Century Orton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17th Century Orton Hall Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing