We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Its the small touches that make the big difference”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
A birds eye view of Orton!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Orton, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
adriansho...
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Its the small touches that make the big difference”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the moment we arrived, we felt immediately at at home. Not sure if that was due to the yummy lemon cake waiting on the tea tray, or the pint of milk in the fridge, or the warm welcome from the owner , or the fact that the cottage was so comfortable, or just a combination of all of them.
Being a veteran of holiday rentals I went armed with all those extras like tin foil, toilet paper, sugar that most cottages supply so little, if any of...and they all came back home with me as Cumberland had everything we needed. Added to the fact its ideally situated for both Lakes and Dales and has a Chocolate factory producing the most mouthwatering chocolates virtually opposite the cottage's front door, we cant recommend this cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalHorn
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great cottage great location”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in December 2014. The cottage was easy to find and wonderfully well equipped as well. The bathroom was lovely and also easy to park next door to the cottage. We were lucky enough to be there when the farmers market was on which is well worth a visit and puts to shame efforts in much larger towns. We ate one night at the local pub and had a very warm welcome and good food- large portions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay even though weather was questionable but it was December and the Lakes/ We were especially pleased we were able to bring Sammie our house ferret with us for a break and he enjoyed his time too, and caused a stir at the farmers market. Have just looked to see if available this year but sadly not on the dates we were looking for which is a great shame.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trish_m74
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for two people”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is extremely comfortable, warm and well-equipped. Cooking facilities are good and the shower excellent. Gill and Adam were very welcoming, leaving milk and biscuits for our arrival. Our two dogs were also no problem for them (though the garden is tiny, it is easy for the dogs to walk nearby). The village and surrounding area are full of fabulous walks with many excellent pubs (most are dog-friendly). The Eden Valley is a gem, every bit as good as the Lakes but much quieter. We would highly recommend this cottage and definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Two dogs were no problem!
Liked least: Very small garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon76
North-West
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous. Thank you.”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just what we needed. A February Half Term break in this beautiful part of the world - just what we needed. Thank you for the hospitality, the location and the lemon drizzle cake!!

Spend a lovely few days "bagging" the Wainwright Eastern Fells.

The cottage is great. Great base for exploring the fells. Easy drive in to the Eastern Fells.
Lovely local pub and and chocolate shop to die for.

The cottage is great. Very comfortable, high spec and cosy at the end of the day on the hills.

Thank you for looking after us....the loan of the Tupperware was VERY much appreciated.

We will most certainly be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property spec
Liked least: It rained...lots.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath M
bolton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This cottage was a wonderful find. Spotlessly clean and very well-equipped yet dog friendly and warm despite our visit in February. We are on a mission to walk all the Wainwrights hills and this cottage provided a fab base to explore some of the Eastern Fells. After a long day in the hills the fabulous shower was very welcome- as was the lovely lemon cake that was thoughtfully provided for us. The village is lovely and unspoilt yet there is a pub within walking distance and a chocolate shop which could compete with Selfridges - and could probably beat it in the hot chocolate stakes!!
Highly recommended and we will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal Cottage for Lake District”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Fantastic accommodation with attention to detail second to none.
Very clean and comfortable cottage.
Located not far from the M6 but with easy access to anywhere in the Lake District. Set in a beautiful village with local amenities including a general store, a chocolate shop and pubs for eating out.
Dog friendly cottage with plenty of walks. The locals are very friendly.
We have visited twice in the last 2 months and would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property with plenty to do in village or easy access to Lakes
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Execellent Cottage, Spotlessly Clean, great location”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in January and found the cottage in a beautiful location, quiet but near enough to local pubs for eating out. Very clean and looked after with everything we needed, would definitely recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing