We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHORT SPRING BREAK”
Review of Whitbarrow Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitbarrow Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here in mid May 2014 and were very pleasantly pleased with the resort.
Being a special offer, we were accommodated in a 3-bed - two bathroom mid terrace cottage which was well appointed with all the necessary items required to make the holiday go well. Well equipped kitchen with all you could expect in your own kitchen at home.
Being England and in mid May, the weather spoilt the stay; being cool, drizzly and overcast most of the time. However this location would be and absolute delight in the height of summer and we hope we will be able to take advantage of this in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAH1975_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a fantastic week at Whitbarrow in the Lakes in Feb 2014 which cost us around £500 at that time we were offered a promotional talk in exchange for a free weekend trip to one Seasons holidays complexes. We went to this talk but we decided that it wasn't for us at that time.
We were given a voucher and it was clearly stated that we had done the promotional part of the deal.

We therefore booked our free trip for this a June weekend back to Whitbarrow. I was contacted the day before going whho wanted us to come to another promotional talk despite hearing basically the same thing only 4 months ago. When I explained that we had had the talk and had been informed that we wouldn't need to come again the manager became very rude stating that we would need to pay for the weekend instead. He would not have any discussion on flexibility especially as we have three young kids, but demanded that we come for another 90min talk.

We therefore cancelled the trip that we had been promised and had been looking forward to. It seems strange to me that a company that relies on its customers can have such a breach in honesty.

We had gone to a promotional talk on a holiday which we had paid for wasting our time when they knew clearly that we would have to go to another talk. Their customer service in the reception and complex was great but their service in the sales department was atrocious and it was clear that they could give a damn once they realised we weren't interested. My main advice would be not to trust what the sales reps tell you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at Whitbarrow in No.20 Troutbeck a spacious 3 bed Apartment. It was a very quiet looking out onto grass and trees. There were many birds, as well as the resident ducks with 3 very young ducklings, house martins busy building their nests etc. We were 2 senior couples and found the accommodation very suitable. Although the fitted fridge was out of order they had supplied us with a large fridge freezer. We would agree with other reviewers that the restaurant/bar was very good, food and prices. Some people commented that they were disappointed that there was no Wi-Fi in the apartments, but there is free Wi-Fi in the bar area with comfy chairs, so no real problem. Any queries reception staff are very helpful. A bonus is now the car park is tarmacked, so much better. For dog owners who can't bring their dogs to Whitbarrow, there is a small Kennels within easy walking distance. We have been many times in various locations around the village and will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our second visit and we had a Borrowdale 2 bed cottage this time. Very comfortable, well equipped as is usual. Only complaint would be that there is no alternative bedding. We found the heavy duvet to be very warm in June. As the weather was fairly agreeable we were able to be out and about so didn't use the pool etc, but everything looked attractive. We shall look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank silvertraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Once again a lovely welcome, all staff are pleasant.
We stayed in the lovely fellside Suite for 2 nights, it was finished to a very high standard, with modern kitchen and appliances. Plenty wardrobe space, a sofa, great music system, dining table and spacious bathroom with a big bath and nice shower all very clean.
The balcony opened to lovely views of the fells one day the ducks came in to see us !!!!
The grounds are well maintained with adequate parking within the grounds. The indoor heated pool, exercise room and outdoor activities are all free, There is also a salon on site where you can get pampered. There is an indoor games room and DVD's to rent. No need to be bored.
We ate in the restaurant Sunday night and the lamb was gorgeous, we stayed in the bar area after and the singer was very good and nice to see people up dancing.
Continental breakfast is delivered daily (croissants, pastries, cereal, fruit, jams & marmalade, butter & milk).
Look forward to my stay in November.
My only complaint is they should have do not disturb tags !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have stayed here a few times in a variety of accommodation and it was all of a high standard. All staff extremely friendly and can't do enough for you. Lovely pool, jacuzzi and gym. Meals in restaurant very reasonably priced and of a high standard. Have already booked to go back in September!

Room Tip: Ullswater suites ideal for couples and near pool, bar and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanpatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location.
Friendly natives!
Well-equipped, clean, comfortable accommodation although the settee/sofa in our Ullswater suite was very saggy and we recommended that it be replaced.
Great food in the restaurant which caters well for Coeliacs such as me and the pub at the end of the road does good meals too, as does the farm-shop teashop/restaurant just across the A66.
Loved our stay, as usual.
We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennimed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrier
0.1 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
373 reviews
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
18.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,168 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
#1 of 1 in Greystoke
472 reviews
11.9 mi away
Bassenthwaite Lakeside Lodges
Bassenthwaite Lakeside Lodges
#1 of 6 in Bassenthwaite
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitbarrow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitbarrow Village

Address: Berrier | Penrith, Berrier CA11 0XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Berrier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Berrier
Price Range: £67 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just fifteen minutes from the M6 motorway, halfway between Penrith and Keswick and a mere five minutes from Ullswater, The Whitbarrow Village resort sits beneath the famous blencathra fell (also known locally as Saddleback) and offers both luxury and serenity to all who visit – as well as easy access to the delights of The Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Whitbarrow Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Holidays Whitbarrow Village Hotel Berrier
Whitbarrow Village Cumbria/Berrier, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing