We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access resort with good facilities”
Review of Whitbarrow Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitbarrow Village
Certificate of Excellence
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easy access resort with good facilities”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We traded through Interval for a week here. First time in a resort in the UK. Much better than expected. Mostly clean and tidy. The accommodation C2 was nice if some furnishings a little dated. Comfortable beds but due to bottom board a taller person will have to sleep foetal. The duck pond meant the kids loved feeding and seeing the ducks but shoes off entering accommodation essential. Part of everyday was spent in the pool. Cleaning not as good as would have liked. Jacuzzi bath steps grotty. Kids splash pool was good (toddler happy). But main pool too deep even at shallow end. Had to buy armbands as my 5 year old swimmer didn't like being out of his depth. Toys allowed. Lots to do on site with large play park, putting, crazy golf, oversized chess/draughts and a nature trail. We took the kids' bikes and they could safely ride around site as cars mostly restricted to car park after check-in. No Wi-Fi except in bar was irritating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSCTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    224
    56
    13
    8
See reviews for
299
282
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Whitbarrow is that hybrid of which we have now seen several examples. It sells as both a timeshare and a hotel. You can book in here to very well-appointed hotel-style studios with some cooking facilities or into houses or cottages of various sizes.
Our general impression was that much was being done to create a good holiday experience. Our cottage had had a facelift with new doors and updated kitchen, but the double glazing units were misted by condensation robbing us of a view across the surrounding hills. But the unit was well supplied with a big fridge-freezer, electric cooker, kettle, dishwasher, toaster and the like. We felt poorly supplied with coat hangers but a dozen more were supplied on request.
Communal facilities include a gym and swimming pool. There is pitch and put and crazy golf plus a number of open areas which children enjoyed. A large presence of ducks wonder about the site at will.
The restaurant food was excellent. It was well presented, well cooked and generally well thought-out. Sad, then, that service in the restaurant did not equal this quality. We felt the staff were doing us a favour by even letting us in the place. After our main course appeared we, and several other diners, were left pretty much to our own devices.
Parking is in a communal car park which is well away from some units. You can park near accommodation to off-load your luggage but then have to move away. It's often wet in the Lake District. The traipse from the car park proved moist.
The village is well situated for the northern lakes but also to head east into the dales. This provided a diversity of activity which covered the vagaries of British weather.
A good week's holiday. Food at a couple of local pubs was savoured. Penrith is a short distance away.

Room Tip: The double beds are basic size: 4ft 6in by 6ft 3in. There are a few divans which might make for a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiredtraveller0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a taster break at Whitbarrow village and we were very impressed. Our 1 bed apartment skidaw 3 was well decorated and equipped with all the mod cons. Loved the velux blackout blinds as our son slept to 7am instead of his usual 5am!! Pool was good but kids splash pool freezing and no toys allowed in pool either. Restaurant good value for bar food. Portions good. Drinks quite pricey which put us off going back a second night. Local pub boot & shoe 2 miles down the road was fab for both food and ambience.
Overall a great base to explore the lakes and only wish we'd had enough disposable income to take up the holiday offers. We will be back as cost wise it is so much cheaper than centre parcs & the accommodation was far superior to the lodges at centre parc too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Our 2nd stay here in a year July 26th-2nd August! It felt as non share holders we wasn't valued, why bother sending out a letter asking for ages of guest if it's ignored! Our toddler 22months in danger in the house! We was placed in c6 very outdated! Hardly any light in any rooms, dirty floor in kitchen/dining area! Floor level windows in the living room upstairs that my son could open! Corded blinds on the floor!! We requested a stairgate only supplied with 3 pressure pads instead of 4!!! Due to the exposed bricks and dated Decore my son could get this off the stairs! The double bed rooms are incapable of sleeping actual adults unless you wish to climb over one another! The kids 22 months and 9 had these rooms we had the twin beds as unsafe to leave toddler in the upstairs room due to steps in the bedroom and the stairs!!! On the Saturday we informed reception that our sky light above the tv (they had placed there) was leaking with rain advised as son was in bed could he come first thing Sunday? I'm still waiting!! The swimming pool great!!! Baby pool pointless it's freezing cold!!! We used the bar once (went to use it for breakfast on last day before checkout to discover they no longer serve before 12pm) the day we used it 10 minutes before any ventured out the kitchen, cold unwelcoming atmosphere, looked more like a storage room for sofas!! Then on the Thursday while settling for lunch 4/5 random girls and boys started cleaning our windows and outside furniture no warnings at all!!! Things to do out of the resort! Loads but they don't seem to advertise local things! Rheghead! 5 minute drive free to get in and loads to do brilliant and if you want good food the snooty fox in ulldale!! 30 min drive but sooo good!!! Disappointed as my stepdad does the timeshare and has fab holidays! Sort it out seasons we was considering joining !! We wasn't even told about the meeting on the Sunday by reception !! luckily we didn't spend much time in the accommodation!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Kirkstone 28, for a week. It had 3 bedrooms, upstairs lounge, diner/kitchen. Very shabby decor. En-suite smelt of damp. Bed in master bedroom far too small - my husband is 6ft 4" so totally unsuitable as his feet hung off the end. Pillows lumpy, wardrobe door had a hole in it. Could not use balcony as it was filthy! Pool, reception area and restaurant area were ok. No Wifi in apartment but mediocre Wifi in bar area. Carpets throughout apartment were badly stained and threadbare. Would not recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Zoeell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed in whitbarrow with my husband and our 2 children aged 21/2 and 4 months. The grounds, pool and resort where well kept. Our accommodation was Kirkstone 5 and from the moment we checked in there was a stench of stagnant water/ blocked drains in the upstairs- maintenance arrived promptly and were helpful but after 3 visits in the first 5 days we gave up trying to get the problem rectified- the smell made you feel the accommodation wasn't clean but it was in fact very clean- fixtures bad fittings tired and need refreshing- restaurant mediocre and could be improved - pool great, staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid Kirkstone 5 - it stinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAD856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and we stayed in the Ullswater Suites.

Our apartment was spacious and was tastefully decorated. It had everything that you would need for a stay here, including a fully equipped kitchenette. The patio area outside was lovely, with stunning views. We ate our breakfast out there both mornings, so peaceful. There are also some ducks that are very friendly and like to come up to your patio doors to have a nosey in!!

We used the restuarant both nights, excellent food and reasonably priced. There are a couple of pubs nearby that you could drive to if you wanted to try those too.

The facilities at the hotel were good, the pool was a nice size and easy to access from the Ullswater suites.The sauna and steam room were good, but maybe a little bit on the hot side! The only downside to the whole trip, was that the jacuzzi was out of order for the full duration of our stay, it would have been a great way to relax with great views of the surrounding countryside! Mini golf was also good.

The hotel is in a good location, only a short drive from Ullswater Lake, Penrith and a few other places. We stopped off at Ambleside on the way up, lovely little place.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay and would definately choose to stay there again when visiting the Lakes!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x_lissy_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrier
0.1 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
319 reviews
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
18.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
9.0 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
174 reviews
11.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitbarrow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitbarrow Village

Property: Whitbarrow Village
Address: Berrier | Penrith, Berrier CA11 0XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Berrier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Berrier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just fifteen minutes from the M6 motorway, halfway between Penrith and Keswick and a mere five minutes from Ullswater, The Whitbarrow Village resort sits beneath the famous blencathra fell (also known locally as Saddleback) and offers both luxury and serenity to all who visit – as well as easy access to the delights of The Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Whitbarrow Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Holidays Whitbarrow Village Hotel Berrier
Whitbarrow Village Cumbria/Berrier, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing