We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Algotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Shona R

Look forward to returning

Review of Whitbarrow
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Apr 2024
This was our second time staying and it was equally fabulous. The site is beautiful, caters extremely well for children and is home away from home. We swam everyday, made full use of all the activities and explored the local area. My 5 year old always loves the planned kids activities and the den building session was so enjoyable and educational. The best thing about our stay was the staff, they were all so friendly, welcoming and couldn’t do enough to make your stay perfect. We will absolutely be returning next year, thank you for a wonderful holiday.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Hackett, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this review
Responded 15 Apr 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £121
  • Algotels
2.5 miles from Whitbarrow
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.5 miles from Whitbarrow
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.5 miles from Whitbarrow
Free Wifi
Free parking
6.6 miles from Whitbarrow
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.9 miles from Whitbarrow
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.1 miles from Whitbarrow
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.7 miles from Whitbarrow
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.5 miles from Whitbarrow
Free Wifi
Free parking
4.3 miles from Whitbarrow
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Berrier
Reviews (2,300)
Filter reviews
2,300 results
Traveller rating
1,386
608
196
64
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,386
608
196
64
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake district holiday village crazy golf duck pond self catering leisure facilities swimming pool northern lakes reception staff steam room and sauna main building easy access short break games room bunk beds car park living area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,300 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024

Having read the reviews and stayed at other Landal resorts I was looking forward to a nice trip. However our lodge (Troutbeck) was filthy. There was crumbs on the dining table, the beds weren’t all changed meaning my child couldn’t sleep in the top bunk on the first night as the sheets were covered in brown marks (parents will understand the upset of no top bunk!) although I reported it when we arrived it was after 5pm and housekeeping had finished for the day (!) luckily I’d booked more beds than we needed as I’m not sure how they would have resolved it otherwise. The floor hadn’t been mopped or hovered (a game piece in the middle of the floor and a cotton bud on the side in the bathroom) and the general condition was dirty. Looked like it hadn’t been properly cleaned for a while, so long I managed to write ‘dusty’ on the tv and it’s probably still there! Housekeeping came the next day but literally fixed the parts I’d called out as examples rather than cleaning the whole thing which is what it needed.

Massive shame the cleanliness let it down as the location is great, close to the lakes, easy to find. The place has lots of charm and the views are wonderful. The facilities are ok, the pool needs a freshen up but the sauna and steam room are a nice addition. The Eden bar is nice and the food was lovely.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Hackett, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your most recent stay at Whitbarrow. It is disappointing to see that we have failed to meet your expectations on this occasion, please be assured that all your comments have been taken on board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Had a lovely relaxing stay at Whitbarrow Village, we stayed in Pennine View, lovely room, with lovely side view, pictures done it justice, as we were very pleasantly surprised it looked like the photo's.

5-10 minutes off the M6, our commute was only 2 hours 17 mins.

Lovely comfy bed, huge bath & shower, loads of cupboard space.

Kitchen facilities were great, although I would swap the dishwasher for an oven, you had a double hob & microwave. There was already tea/coffee/sugar/kitchen roll/towels/fairy liquid in the room which was great.

Only complaint was that the towels weren't changed, nor the bedding, we were there 6 nights.

We used the pool, sauna & steam room, only wish the pool was open until 10pm instead of 7.45pm, as after a long day out walking, it would have been nice to relax in the pool.

We used the restaurant on the 1st night, a Sunday, thought it was a bit pricey as £20.00 for a Sunday dinner, food was lovely & they brought water to your table which was nice.

Booked to go back on the Thursday as they had live music on, the guy was really good, it would have been nice to have this on every night, or at the weekend.

There are only x2 disabled bays at the front of the main complex, so you had a bit of a trek to the back of the building, although there were at least 4/5 electric car packing/charging bays.

Nice farm shop Basecamp North Lakes, with café not even a mile down the road. Cakes were amazing.

The pub at the bottom of the hill is completely closed.

Lots of lovely walks around about, there is an old railway that is closed, but the path is completely tarred, nice flat walk, Keswick to Threlkeld railway trail.

We went into Keswick a couple of times, it was really nice, the Indian restaurant Lakeland Spice was lovely, as was The Wild Strawberry, cakes were amazing. The market on the Saturday was quite good.

Went down to Windemere for the day, lots of shops, bars, cafe's.

Definitely worth the trip, we WILL be back!!!!

Room tip: Great place to stay, really enjoyed our time here, would definitely recommend it!!
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMGT2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Hackett, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2024

Accommodation of a high standard especially the ability to use the ho tub. Facilities on site good. Restaurant we used on one occasion. The steak was excellent and the fish and chips were good portions. Easy access to the lakes.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Packernjs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Hackett, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024

Everything was fantastic (and I’m super fussy!). Would 100% go back. Accommodation exceeded expectations, and the hot tub was amazing! The staff were really friendly and chatty and couldn’t do enough. The site was well maintained and had a cosy feel. Thank you for a lovely time ☺️

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rachaelhughes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Hackett, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024

Excellent stay - great location, accommodation and facilities.
Family group with age range from 6 to 85 - all happy.
Only concern related to the pre-arrival request for a security deposit - I have no problem with this request but the email looked very much like a scam - process needs some attention.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank roywesthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Hackett, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews