We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landing Cottage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Lakeside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed in this B&B for two nights in September. To echo other comments that have already been made, the things that really stood out for me were the excellent and extremely friendly/helpful customer service (I even managed to leave some clothes there by accident and they were posted back to me asap), the fantastic value for money (especially when compared with other nearby options), and how easy it was to find. The breakfast was really good, and the room, whilst not massive in size was superior to pretty much every other B&B I have stayed in before.

It felt like nothing was too much trouble (including little touches like helping me arrange transport to and from a wedding I was going to, arranging a late check-in) and overall I was really impressed. I would definitely recommend this to other travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP12322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

The owner of the hotel was really friendly, and the room was a bargain at £58. I was admittedly a little sceptical at first, the reception of the hotel was a little cramped, but once we were shown to our room we were very happy with our decision. The location is a little out of the way, although located very close to the south side of Windermere. From here there is a ferry which tours the lake and takes passengers to Windermere and back. There is also a very pleasant National Park nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandamacheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Nice, friendly service. Nice affordable accomodation in a lovely setting.

Will definately recommend this accomodation to anyone.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank sparkly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Myself and wife just came back from a very memorable experience in the lake district. Initially, we were not sure where to stay and wanted somewhere comfortable since my wife is pregnant. We decided to choose this hotel based on its good reviews on trip advisor. I think our choice was brilliant and we were not disappointed at all.
Staying at this quiet, relaxing and beautiful guest house made our trip even more special. Our room was very clean and smelled beautifully, We slept really well and were very charmed by our gracious host Colin who was very helpful and generous. The location of this guest house is stunning and very close to all major towns and attractions in the lake district. Breakfast was amazing and the overall feel of this guest house was cozy and good value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the tempura mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonlovesindia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. Colin was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Room and house was beautiful and very clean. We had a really pleasant stay :D The B&B was in a lovely location but we didn't have a car. As we love walking, this wasn't a problem for us- we walked to Newby Bridge for tea at the Swan Inn (20 minute walk either along a pavement-less 30mph road or along the hillside on a footpath for part of the way) and got a cruise to Bowness-on-Windermere and to Waterhead- Ambleside. We also used the infrequent buses from Newby Bridge. This was great for us as it was cheap, we love walking and it was well planned. However if you cannot walk you should use a car! :D

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squareybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We booked a night at this guest house on the spare of the moment one morning.

We've never stayed in a guest house so it was a experience in it's own right. We felt pleasantly welcomed by the owner who introduced himself, took us to our room and generally made us feel welcome. 

The room was cosy and well equipped, modern but maintaining a homely feel. 

Location wise it is situated in Newby Bridge with close links to several pubs and close enough to the lake where there are a couple of attractions.

The breakfast was just what we needed, plenty of it, being cereal, toast with a selection of spreads, juices, tea, coffee and a full English breakfast. 

All in all a very pleasant stay and we wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattih5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We searches online through dozens of places for somewhere not too expensive for an overnight stay in the lakes and this charming little place came up. We weren't disappointed either as owner Colin Oldfield cheerfully met us at the door and gave us all the information we needed about the locality and places to visit.
His guest house is cosy and the room was ideal for our short stay and right on the lake so perfect for cruises up and down Lake Windermere. Make sure that you get directions from Colin on how to get to the Masons Arms in nearby Strawberry Bank for the most delicious barbecue ribs on the planet - just don't order them as a main course as we couldn't finish them between two of us!
On our departure Colin made us a fabulous cooked breakfast and kept us entertained with his wit and banter! We highly recommened Landing Cottage if you're visiting the Lake District - very friendly, comfortable and it won't break the bank either. Ideal!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustybodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
544 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Knoll
The Knoll
#1 of 2 in Lakeside
319 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Landing Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landing Cottage Guest House

Address: Landing Cottage Newby BRIDGE Nr Lake, Lakeside LA12 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeside
Price Range: £58 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landing Cottage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Landing Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landing Cottage Guest House Lakeside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing