We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic b&b, definite recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Landing Cottage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Lakeside B&B and Inns
1 review
“Fantastic b&b, definite recommendation”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Basically reiterating precious reviews. Can't fault this experience. Went for 2 days for a weekend break and was amazed at just how tentative and helpful Colin was. Given a choice of room and as a result an amazing king size bed with memory foam mattress, best nights sleep ever, definitely go for this room.
Breakfast was a perfect start to the day with Colin catering on your every need and even managing to pop in a smiley face potato for a true full English.
Lots of info available concerning places to eat and visit etc either from colin or his leaflets and books he'd prepared for arrival.
Will definitely be returning whenever we consider the lakes

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisMagraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    23
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed for 2 nights on a weekend break for me and the girlfriend. Given a choice of room with taking the king size, memory foam mattress. Definite recommendation for this room. It was soooooo comfy to sleep in both nights. The room was spacious and even coped with all our mess. Breakfast was served with a smile with Colin catering for your every need and even going to the trouble of putting a smily potato face on your plate to make your start to the day that little more special.
Lots of info available from Colin himself or all the little bits he has prepared such as places to eat, places to visit etc. basically echo-ing the other reviews on here.
Would definitely recommend this place to anyone thinking of going to the lakes.

Room Tip: Sat Nav really helped in getting there as one of the main roads along the route was blocked and clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyAinscough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived too early for check in as we needed to get changed for a wedding and go and get some shoes for my husband who had left his smart shoes at home. Colin quickly got the room ready and advised us where to get shoes! I have to agree with one of the previous reviewers about the smell. The house smelt very damp when we entered and our room also seemed a little damp but it was nicely decorated . I had forgotten that we didnt book an ensuite room and didnt enloy having to share a toilet (my fault). I didnt sleep well as there was a buzzing noise in the room as i had switched on the shaver point(my fault again) and my husband snored very loudly due to the volume of alcohol he had consumed at the wedding we had attended. Breakfast was very good and we got a vegetarian cooked breakfast which we enjoyed. Colin also helped us get out onto the main road by doing his road patrol.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlett65Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had both read the comments left on 'Trip Advisor' regarding the Landing Cottage, and went with high expections of Colin! Believe all the good things about him! Friendly welcome (even the breakfasts come with a smile- a smiley pototo face! With the comment- "Everyone gets a smile at breakfast!" which made us chuckle) Nice selection for breakfast, with 7 different cereals, and 8 types of jam to taste! Along with the traditional English! Very helpful man, who has friendly banter, advises on where to eat and visit locally, he has devised a folder of local pubs/restaurants with menus included which can be found in the living room, and will even direct you each day from the driveway - there is a blind spot- which takes some getting used to!

We found the room that we slept in clean and tidy, with a large comfy bed- due to being a memory foam mattress. The only down side was that there was a problem with the water on our first morning - and we had to take a luke warm shower- but in defence of Colin, he did have a plumber out first thing to ensure that it was dealt with as quickly as possible, and therefore we were not too upset, as understandably, these things happen!

The cottage has a good location being only a 2/3 minute walk from the south west point of Lake Windermere, where you can catch a boat trip across the lake. Many of the local places to eat are only a few minutes drive away - and there are lots of local attractions which we enjoyed. If you are a confident driver, ask Colin for directions to Wrynose Pass- which is very scenic!

Overall, we really enjoyed the holiday and our stay at the Landing Cottage.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariaonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed in this B&B for two nights in September. To echo other comments that have already been made, the things that really stood out for me were the excellent and extremely friendly/helpful customer service (I even managed to leave some clothes there by accident and they were posted back to me asap), the fantastic value for money (especially when compared with other nearby options), and how easy it was to find. The breakfast was really good, and the room, whilst not massive in size was superior to pretty much every other B&B I have stayed in before.

It felt like nothing was too much trouble (including little touches like helping me arrange transport to and from a wedding I was going to, arranging a late check-in) and overall I was really impressed. I would definitely recommend this to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP12322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The owner of the hotel was really friendly, and the room was a bargain at £58. I was admittedly a little sceptical at first, the reception of the hotel was a little cramped, but once we were shown to our room we were very happy with our decision. The location is a little out of the way, although located very close to the south side of Windermere. From here there is a ferry which tours the lake and takes passengers to Windermere and back. There is also a very pleasant National Park nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandamacheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Nice, friendly service. Nice affordable accomodation in a lovely setting.

Will definately recommend this accomodation to anyone.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sparkly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landing Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landing Cottage Guest House

Property: Landing Cottage Guest House
Address: Landing Cottage Newby BRIDGE Nr Lake, Lakeside LA12 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Landing Cottage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Landing Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landing Cottage Guest House Lakeside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing