We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location and host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Landing Cottage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Lakeside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“The perfect location and host”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed as 2 couples attending a wedding next door at the Lakeside, no need to pay their massive prices when you can stay here and get a far greater personal service.
Great clean rooms, lovely breakfast and Colin is such a friendly chatty host.
So if you are looking for a perfect base in this area then no need to look any further or pay over the top prices.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tn62wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    23
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
61
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great value for money accomodation where the room was clean as were the amenities. The host was also very helpful and the breakfast was good. Located very close to the Lakeside ferry and a short drive/walk from the Swan hotel for dinner.

Room Tip: The hall light was able to shine in a window that should really be boarded up (instead of just havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolEckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Landing Cottage for one night for some 'get away from the kids' time! The Landing Cottage was easy to find and we were met by a really friendly Giant by the name of Colin who gave us the option of a standard double or a room with a king-size memory foam mattress (we chose the latter) and we were shown upstairs to a lovely, exceptionally clean bedroom with a compact and again exceptionally clean ensuite. The bed was SO comfy and we had an uninterupted sleep. We ate our evening meal at The Swan which was Fabulous and very highly recommended! Breakfast at the Landing Cottage was lovely with a good choice of cereals and a plentiful menu for the cooked breakfast, and served with Colin's trademark potato smiley face. Colin was very friendly (as would be expected of a fellow Mancunian!!) Overall the hotel was lovely and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela-Ged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed for 1 night with my Husband to see a little bit of the area.
We was met by a lovely man called Colin who made us feel very
welcome. We was taken up to room 4 which had it's own shower/
toilet facilities. The room was nice, bright and clean and the bed was
very cosy as well. Colin told us about the Swan Hotel down the road
where we had our evening meal. He greeted us the following morning
very cheery and chatty and the breakfast was amazing. We then went
on for a boat cruise around the lake and Colin let us keep the car on
his car park untill we returned. Looking forward to a return trip soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Basically reiterating precious reviews. Can't fault this experience. Went for 2 days for a weekend break and was amazed at just how tentative and helpful Colin was. Given a choice of room and as a result an amazing king size bed with memory foam mattress, best nights sleep ever, definitely go for this room.
Breakfast was a perfect start to the day with Colin catering on your every need and even managing to pop in a smiley face potato for a true full English.
Lots of info available concerning places to eat and visit etc either from colin or his leaflets and books he'd prepared for arrival.
Will definitely be returning whenever we consider the lakes

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisMagraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed for 2 nights on a weekend break for me and the girlfriend. Given a choice of room with taking the king size, memory foam mattress. Definite recommendation for this room. It was soooooo comfy to sleep in both nights. The room was spacious and even coped with all our mess. Breakfast was served with a smile with Colin catering for your every need and even going to the trouble of putting a smily potato face on your plate to make your start to the day that little more special.
Lots of info available from Colin himself or all the little bits he has prepared such as places to eat, places to visit etc. basically echo-ing the other reviews on here.
Would definitely recommend this place to anyone thinking of going to the lakes.

Room Tip: Sat Nav really helped in getting there as one of the main roads along the route was blocked and clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyAinscough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived too early for check in as we needed to get changed for a wedding and go and get some shoes for my husband who had left his smart shoes at home. Colin quickly got the room ready and advised us where to get shoes! I have to agree with one of the previous reviewers about the smell. The house smelt very damp when we entered and our room also seemed a little damp but it was nicely decorated . I had forgotten that we didnt book an ensuite room and didnt enloy having to share a toilet (my fault). I didnt sleep well as there was a buzzing noise in the room as i had switched on the shaver point(my fault again) and my husband snored very loudly due to the volume of alcohol he had consumed at the wedding we had attended. Breakfast was very good and we got a vegetarian cooked breakfast which we enjoyed. Colin also helped us get out onto the main road by doing his road patrol.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlett65Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
484 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landing Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landing Cottage Guest House

Property: Landing Cottage Guest House
Address: Landing Cottage Newby BRIDGE Nr Lake, Lakeside LA12 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Landing Cottage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Landing Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landing Cottage Guest House Lakeside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing