We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Landing Cottage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Lakeside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

What a lovely B&B. We stayed in the best room for £80 including breakfast and it was well worth the money for a comfortable and homely place to stay.
Colin is a great host and no doubt we will be going back again as Newby Bridge is a gorgeous location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    23
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
61
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Small B&B some rooms with own facilities and some shared. Reasonable prices for this area. Good breakfast to start the day. Quiet spot, easy 15 min walk to Swan Hotel eating at Newby Bridge or Colin has a list of other pubs nearby. Tight but safe private parking in an area full of no parking signs. Walk just across the road to the very expensive Lakeside Hotel and ferry landing for lake trips. Free wi-fi in small comfy lounge, so you don't have to stay in your bedroom. Couple of tables and chairs outside in small garden under trees. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Driver30May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have just returned from two nights here and we highly recommend it if you are looking for a soft bed and a friendly welcome, without all the airs and graces of a big budget hotel.
Its in a great location to explore the surrounding countryside, having filled your tummy first with a fab breakfast from Colin! My boyfriend booked us the en-suite room, which had its own entrance and was on the ground floor...it had all the things you would need, a squishy bed, nice sheets, biccies, plus fresh towels daily.
We couldn't find anything to complain about as it was really good value in comparison to the other very expensive options in the area. It was close enough by car to the Swan for us to have somewhere nice to eat and sit by the river and you could travel in any direction from Landing Cottage and find another beautiful place within minutes.
Lovely time in all....will return.

Room Tip: Would recommend phoning Colin directly as our room was not available on the hotel room sites, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassykat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I was attending a wedding near by, and as such wasn't planning a lot of time using a hotel's facilities. With many local hotels charging huge amounts for a room and many insisting on a 2 night booking I was pleased to discover Landing Cottage. It was an ideal location and I can not fault the hospitality I received. I was surprised just how nice it was for the price. The room was lovely and had good facilities (tv, sink, drink making facilities). The rooms are not ensuite but to be honest for my short stay this was not a problem and the bathroom was kept very clean. The breakfast was superb and great value to be included on in the price. I felt very comfortable staying here alone. I would definitely recommend a stay here if you are looking for value in the Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaybeth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We spent a wonderful week at Landing Cottage at the end of September, despite the mixed weather. The guest house was like a home from home with comfortable, clean, well maintained accommodation and a very short walk from the lake. We had a double en suite room with our own entrance which was really convenient. The room had a wall mounted LCD TV which is a great modern feature.There is a lovely comfy communal lounge with books and games for relaxing after full days out on the lake and Haverthwaite steam railway. The breakfast menu included a great choice of cerials, fruit juice etc., full english or vegetarian cooked options followed by toast and delicious preserves. The proprietor, Colin, was so helpful and friendly, always ready for a chat when not too busy cooking. It was just what we needed to relax and recharge our batteries and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Landing Cottage Guest House is a very quiet, small and secluded guest house but spotlessley clean and confortable and very friendly atmosphere. In spite of its firts appearance of quiet seclusion it is a matter of yards from the large Lakeside Hotel, terminus of the lakeside to haverthwaite Steam railway, terminus of the large Windermere lake ferry to Bowness ( and thence onward to Ambleside) and smaller touring boat trips and ferries around the lake and across to Fell Foot Park. The lakeside Aquarium is there too with fascinating look at aquatic life. Not too far away is the lakeland Motor Museum and the picturesque Newby Bridge. After a good breakfast at Landing Cottage you are set up for energetic walking in the region, starting with Great Knott Wood just behind it.

Room Tip: There are only five rooms of which only two are en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

stayed for two nights over the bank holiday, could not fault the hotel and Colin the host. so close to the lake and wonderful room. clean and pretty decor. Colin was a mine of info and even found out about our planned trip to the races (cancelled due to weather)before we had taken our stuff from the car.Nothing is too much trouble for him even when we returned to our room early (weather again) he was patient and serviced our room when we left for dinner (sorry colin:) )
we are so glad we found this place because you cant beat the service and room you get for the price.
altogether a fabulous little b and b

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 a little small but perfectly formed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymonejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
483 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landing Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landing Cottage Guest House

Property: Landing Cottage Guest House
Address: Landing Cottage Newby BRIDGE Nr Lake, Lakeside LA12 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Landing Cottage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Landing Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landing Cottage Guest House Lakeside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing