We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend away - fab host!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landing Cottage Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landing Cottage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Lakeside B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely weekend away - fab host!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at landing cottage for 3 nights in early November, and would strongly recommend it to anyone!
A great B&B, located within easy commuting distance of everywhere you may need and more.
We were well looked after by the owner (Colin I believe), who made excellent recommendations of attractions - even loaning us his map for a beautiful drive through the mountains.
Rooms were serviced daily, fantastic breakfast cooked each morning, all done by Colin - the guy a credit to himself and we couldn't have asked for more!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ReTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    22
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
56
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at this BnB and can honestly say we enjoyed our visit.
We were only looking for a place to eat breakfast and have a decent nights sleep in a clean comfortable bed and thats what we got.
Colin the owner works his @ss off to provide you with a both these requirements and does not deserve some 'little hitlers' with cameras inspecting everything from dusty light bulbs to only having instant coffee,we listened to a couple moaning about the fact that filter coffee was not available.....try paying the prices at the Swan or Lakeside if you are that picky about this.
We would stay at the 'Landing' again and wish more proprietors tried as hard to keep guests happy.The en-suite room we had was really comfortable and clean,the decoration was adequate and bed was great,having a memory foam mattress.The breakfast was good and gave a filling start to the day,before taking in the scenery and walks.Colin has a good knowledge of the area and is never slow to offer advice.
Both of us enjoyed our stay and will try and return in the New year,thanks again Colin
Cheers from Glasgow big man

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nowandthen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great B&B if you are looking for a budget hotel - It is in a nice area with the lake a 5 min walk away.
The room had everything we needed and was a decent size.
The bed was comfy and there was tea and coffee making in the room.
One problem I found with the room was lack of sockets - when I came to do my hair I had to pull the bedside cabinet out and unplug the lamp which was a bit awkward.
There is a nice sitting area outside in the garden and we had free parking. There is a sitting room downstairs as well with books and info to hand.
I was a bit disappointed when we got to the entrance as it was a bit dirty and uninviting.
We agree with other reviewers that the house smells musty and sorry to say but it really bothered
us because you could not ignore it.The bedroom was not as bad as the rest of the house but we kept our window open.
Some parts of the house need a clean but the plates, cups and cutlery in the dining room were spotless.
It's a shame as the only thing that would put us of returning is the smell because we loved the house, location and the price is really good for the lakes.
The owner is lovely and really helpful.
I am surprised there are so few reviews.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two night for a wedding at the swan. The rooms were very good value for money, comfortable and clean and Colin was very friendly and provided an excellent service . Breakfast was also very delicious. Good location but one thing we struggled with was getting a taxi at night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Landing cottage guest house appears to be a labour of love for the owner Colin.
He met us when we arrived, met us again after we had been out.
greeted us at breakfast and appears to have cooked it as well as serving it then settled up with us at the end.
The room was really clean and it appears that the house is being 'done up' as you go along.
New windows have been fitted in the bedroom, likewise it appeared the dining room has had the same thing done. Some areas could have done with a little more TLC, such as the toilet, but there is only so much one man can do and for the price, £60 for 2 people including a very good full english breakfast you cant complain. He even throws in free wifi, though it works much better downstairs than upstairs it has to be said. Next time we will book early and get an en suite.

Room Tip: book early as 2 of the 4 rooms share a bathroom and toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

So glad me and my partner decided to stay here , I myself had never been to the lake district so didn't know how to go about it, this b and b is the perfect place in a quiet lakeside area with a 2 min walk over to the aquarium and boats to wonder across to Windermere, Perfect host always happy and smiling, very helpful if there are any problems or questions about the area and places to eat and visit, room beautiful and clean altho we will be having an en suit when we next stay :) the shared bathroom was easy to use plenty of room for what you needed it for. Very quiet slept fantastically with no disturbance's. Looked forward to my breakfast each morning as it was lovely everything offered to you on a wide selection of cereals and a full English including a potato smiley face each morning :) definitely worth staying at! thankyou Colin :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed here for a few days with my partner, we both found this to be a nice place to stay.

Its a lovely b&b, great hospitality, friendly host, cooked breakfast every morning.

I would recommend this place to anyone, i will be going back to stay here for sure, loved it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landing Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landing Cottage Guest House

Property: Landing Cottage Guest House
Address: Landing Cottage Newby BRIDGE Nr Lake, Lakeside LA12 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Landing Cottage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Landing Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landing Cottage Guest House Lakeside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing