We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”
Review of The Knoll

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Knoll
Ranked #1 of 2 Lakeside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

what a lovely place this is me and my husband stayed here from wednesday until today we were greeted by jen who is such a lovely person as were all the staff and they were only too happy to see to your needs with this stay we got to use the spa at the swan hotel only 5mins away and we were so chilled out after it its really clean i couldnt fault it at all the breakfast was gorgeous if anyone does go make sure you have some of jens home made gronola its gorg we will be back again xx

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stunning property,beautifully decorated,set in stunning location just 5minutes walk from Lake Windermere.Amazing food and even better service.In our room when we arrived were a selection of cakes and teas,we had lovely white dressing gowns on our beds to use and could pick from a library of DVDs to watch in our room.we were spoilt from the minute we arrived and looked after.The staff had even gone to the effort to write instructions to follow for a nice walk in the surroundings area which we found in our room

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muu_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a child-free treat for my birthday and wanted somewhere we could unwind and be looked after. The Knoll provided this and more!

Greeted by Jan on arrival we were shown to our room, decor and furnishings elegant and welcoming, with the promised home made cakes waiting with a letter of welcome!

Dinner was later so after leaving our order we went for a walk behind the house and in minutes were away from it all feeling the everyday stresses melt away.

Dinner was fantastic. Chowder, lamb and a melt in the mouth sticky toffee pudding meant a roaring fire and a comfy chair in the lounge were a great end to the evening. Attention to detail was great, even down to popping unobtrusively in to put another log on the fire for us late on.

Breakfast was civilised and also lovely, and we checked out thinking who we could recommend it to as it seems too nice to keep to yourself. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed here for one night after receiving a voucher as a christmas present from family. It was a great stay and we were both very impressed. We received a warm welcome (they were expecting us and knew our name as we arrived) and the guest house was beautifully decorated and extremely homely. We stayed on a Monday and the dining room wasn't open, so we walked the short way to the Lakeside Hotel for dinner which was great. On returning back to the guest house late in the evening, it was lovely to arrive back to a roaring fire and background music playing in the lounge - made it feel really cosy and again, homely :)
My only slight quibble (however my Husband doesn't agree!) would be the bed. It dipped in the middle where the beds join therefore I kept rolling into it, which did disturb my sleep a little while trying to avoid it.
Fabulous breakfast, with the best black pudding my Husband has apparently tasted!!
Very impressed and will definitely recommend to all our friends and family - and hopefully be back soon!
Thanks to all the lovely staff :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Made very welcome by attentive & unobtrusive hosts. Room lovely, very clean & comfortable. Yummy breakfast.
Spa facilities offered at The Swan was the perfect end to a beautiful stay.
Would recommend.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwernantJKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

From the imposing three storey stone frontage facing Windermere to the cosy but spacious Victorian interior. we knew in the first five minutes that we were going to enjoy our wedding anniversary here. We made use of the Lakeside Hotel's partnership deal by spending part of the afternoon in the spa. But the best was yet to come- the food served at the Knoll is worth skipping lunch for (they serve early, 7.00pm), both the beef bourginon and the lamb shank were done to perfection and dining with the three other couples who took dinner that night gave it the atmosphere of an intimate private dinner party rather than a restaurant. The hosts look after your every need and you can spend some time in front of the fire in the elegant lounge both before and after the meal.
Our standard room was a characterful attic space with a modern en suite with a powerful shower. Add to this a comfortable bed and the calls of owls from the woods outside and you have the ingredients for a perfect romantic evening.
Breakfast was the icing on the cake- the quality ingredients (thick bacon, meaty sausage) set us up for a day cruising to Bowness and back on the motor launch (10% discount for Knoll guests).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barto6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

What a really lovely and thoughtful review. It's so motivating for our team here to receive such positive and detailed feedback. You have clearly put a lot of thought into your review and we very much appreciate the time you have taken.

We generally serve dinner at 8.00pm but we'd had a couple of guests who asked if we could move it forward for them and as we weren't hugely busy with dinner we thought other guests would like that too. It's always tricky to balance everyone's needs but I'm really delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope we'll have the pleasure of your company again!!

Warmest wishes

Jen Meads
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed here two nights midweek, as soon as we walked through the door you could smell the inncense that welcomed you into the warm snug. Candles dotted around gave the house a cosy familiarity, like a home from home. Our room was on the first floor to the front of the house and was beautifully decorated. We had a selection of homemade cakes waiting for us with a suggested walk which we did on our last day - beautiful! We only stayed for breakfast, which was tasty and plentiful, but had we not had lunch out we would have stayed for dinner also because the menu was different each night and clearly prepared by someone who took great pride in their cooking.
Use of Wi-Fi was great because neither of us had signal on our phones which was great for no distractions but every so often it was nice to have contact outside our bubble :). Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

What a thoughtful and lovely review. It's always so motivating for all of us to get such warm feedback. We all work really hard to make sure our guests enjoy the peace and tranquillity of this lovely little spot. Your kindness and positive feedback make all the difference.

I do hope we'll have the opportunity to look after you again.

Warmest wishes

Jen Meads
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,356 reviews
4.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
738 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
544 reviews
7.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Moss Grove Organic
Moss Grove Organic
#6 of 20 in Grasmere
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knoll

Address: Lakeside, Lakeside LA12 8AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeside
Price Range: £80 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knoll 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tranquil country retreat stands in beautiful grounds at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, surrounded by spectacular woodland. The unwinding begins the moment you arrive. Following a warm welcome, you'll be shown to one of eight beautifully appointed bedrooms, each with its own luxurious en suite bathroom. We've thought of everything, from little treats like complementary toiletries to more practical concerns like hair dryers, Satellite TV, DVD and iPod dock, internet access and your own hospitality tray. We also offer complimentary use of the local four star hotel's health and fitness spa.After that, it's up to you. Our pleasant gardens suggest drinks on the lawn or a lovely outdoor eating experience. Open log fires and a cosy drawing room invite you to curl up and relax. If it weren't for our superb location, you'd never want to go out - but the Lake District beckons, and it's all just waiting to be explored. Need a last minute gift? We can provide vouchers for future stays at the Knoll. Call to book now!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Knoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knoll Hotel Lakeside
Knoll Newby Bridge
Knoll Hotel Newby Bridge
The Knoll Lakeside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing