We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay!”
Review of The Knoll

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Knoll
Ranked #1 of 2 Lakeside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed over for our wedding anniversary and the stay was just perfect, the staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and the room was fantastic. The bed in the four poster room was amazingly comfortable. We would definitely go back again. Brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    23
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
233
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in The Retreat (a little apartment attached to the main house) 20-22 September. We had previously stayed at The Knoll and only had fantastic memories so we were really looking forward to our return stay. We were not disappointed.

We arrived a little bit early (about 1pm). Unfortunately, due to the previous guests stealing the soft furnishings and leaving without paying, The Retreat wasn't ready. We were asked to come back a few hours later. As we were in such a beautiful place, we took the opportunity to go for a drive and have a wander round. On returning, The Retreat still wasn't ready. Given the circumstances, we really didn't mind. It wasn't their fault that someone had taken it upon themselves to steal their stuff and leave without paying. However, Jen and her team did mind and they went out of the way to put things right. We were shown to the reception room where we had a glass of wine and a beer. We took this opportunity to sit back, relax and enjoy the peace.

When The Retreat was ready, we were greeted by Jen who, once again, apologised for the perceived inconvenience. We were provided with complimentary wine and fruit.

The Retreat was wonderful. Gorgeous surroundings, really nice decor and a hot tub. We couldn't have asked for more.

We had food here both nights. The first night we ate in the dining room. On the second night we had dinner in The Retreat, which was a really nice touch. The food is such good value and is some of the best food I have ever eaten. You can tell it's made with love!

When it came to paying, Jen had discounted the price of our stay due to the late check-in. This was completely unexpected, but is just one example of the fantastic customer service you get at The Knoll. Jen and her team want you to enjoy yourself, they want you to come back and, for the time you are there, you are treated like part of the family.

This is a really special place. I have nothing but good things it say about The Knoll and I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Book The Retreat. It's more expensive, but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for a short break in the knoll and we couldn't have been happier with the place. Fantastic setting, beautifully decorated, friendly staff. Great recommendations for places to eat, walk to and visit. We will definitely be coming back :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worrywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Ideally situated for Lakeside activities, this property is perfect. Food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner. Rooms are well appointed and to finish the day in front of the fire in the relaxed ambience of the sitting room makes for a perfect end to a day in the area, particularly if you have made the sound decision to dine in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I booked this trip for my parents for a birthday surprise for my mum; they have just returned and have had a fabulous time. They haven't stopped talking about how wonderful it was; they said from the moment they arrived it was perfect, very relaxing and a perfect place to unwind. They said all the rooms are spotlessly clean and the food is outstanding. The owners were lovely, friendly and made my parents feel totally at home. My mum and dad have returned home very relaxed and happy, thank you for making their stay a memorable one. They will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We are on our way home from a brilliant weekend in the Lake District, staying at the Knoll.

The location is perfect for the river cruises to Bowness and Ambleside, a 5 minute walk from the front door to the boats.

We arrived quite late on the Friday evening after getting stuck in traffic to be greeted by a friendly welcome. We were shown to our room (no 6) which was cozy and spotlessly clean. It had everything you could need and beautifully decorated. The shower was incredible!! We made use of the lounge downstairs and enjoyed a beer by the fireplace.

The breakfast in the morning was cooked perfectly and all locally sourced obviously very fresh.

We had dinner there too on the Saturday evening and the food really was amazing. Well worth trying.

All in all would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexiconacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We left the Knoll on Friday , spending three nights there. I would not hesitate to recomend it, staff were helpful and friendly, the room was spotless and the bed was really comfortable but the food was out of this world. The location is ideal for Windermere, just a short walk to the boats and obviously no parking charges which we found quite expensive in the Lake District. Many thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanVerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
7.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knoll

Property: The Knoll
Address: Lakeside, Lakeside LA12 8AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knoll 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tranquil country retreat stands in beautiful grounds at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, surrounded by spectacular woodland. The unwinding begins the moment you arrive. Following a warm welcome, you'll be shown to one of eight beautifully appointed bedrooms, each with its own luxurious en suite bathroom. We've thought of everything, from little treats like complementary toiletries to more practical concerns like hair dryers, Satellite TV, DVD and iPod dock, internet access and your own hospitality tray. We also offer complimentary use of the local four star hotel's health and fitness spa.After that, it's up to you. Our pleasant gardens suggest drinks on the lawn or a lovely outdoor eating experience. Open log fires and a cosy drawing room invite you to curl up and relax. If it weren't for our superb location, you'd never want to go out - but the Lake District beckons, and it's all just waiting to be explored. Need a last minute gift? We can provide vouchers for future stays at the Knoll. Call to book now!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Knoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knoll Hotel Lakeside
Knoll Newby Bridge
Knoll Hotel Newby Bridge
The Knoll Lakeside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing